advertisement
Odd Creatures News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

'Insect Armageddon': Low Doses of the Insecticide, Imidacloprid, Cause Blindness in Insects

New research provides important evidence on the role of insecticides on the longevity of insect ...

Naked Prehistoric Monsters! Evidence That Prehistoric Flying Reptiles Probably Had Feathers Refuted

Pterosaur experts have examined the evidence that these creatures had feathers and believe they were in fact ...

Ancient Adélie Penguin Colony Revealed by Snowmelt at Cape Irizar, Ross Sea, Antarctica

Researchers encountered a puzzle at Cape Irizar, a rocky cape located just south of the Drygalski Ice Tongue on the Scott Coast, Ross Sea. He found ...

The Arctic Is Burning in a Whole New Way

'Zombie fires' and burning of fire-resistant vegetation are new features driving Arctic fires -- with strong consequences for the global climate -- warn international fire ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:09pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Born to Be Wild: Fungal Highways Let Bacteria Travel in Exchange for Thiamine

Researchers find a mutualistic growth mechanism between a filamentous fungus and a bacterium that allows the bacterium to travel in exchange for ...

Jaws of Death: Paleontologist Renames Giant, Prehistoric Marine Lizard

Paleontologists describe a new genus of mosasaur, Gnathomortis stadtmani, a marine lizard that roamed the oceans of North America toward the end of the Age of ...

Inside the Secret Lives of Synchronous Fireflies

Ever wonder why some fireflies flash in harmony? New research sheds light on this beautiful phenomenon and strives to understand how relatively simple insects manage to coordinate such feats of ...

Scientists Identify New Species of Crystal-Encrusted Truffle, Thanks to Bonobos

Mushroom-munching bonobos in the Democratic Republic of the Congo have introduced scientists to a new species of ...

Wild Birds as Offerings to the Egyptian Gods

Millions of mummified ibis and birds of prey, sacrificed to the Egyptian gods Horus, Ra or Thoth, have been discovered in the necropolises of the Nile Valley. Such a quantity of mummified birds ...

Ecologists Confirm Alan Turing's Theory for Australian Fairy Circles

Fairy circles are one of nature's greatest enigmas and most visually stunning phenomena. Researchers have now collected detailed data to show that Alan Turing's model explains the striking ...

Marine Sponges Inspire the Next Generation of Skyscrapers and Bridges

Researchers are using the glassy skeletons of marine sponges as inspiration for the next generation of stronger and taller buildings, longer bridges, and lighter spacecraft. The researchers showed ...

Toxic Masculinity: Why Male Funnel Web Spiders Are So Dangerous

A team of researchers has revealed why male funnel web spiders develop much deadlier venom than their female counterparts. The team has spent 20 years investigating delta-hexatoxins, the venom ...

Ribeye-Eating Pigs Demonstrate Protein Quality for Humans

Nearly a decade ago, the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) developed a new index to assess protein quality in foods. The goal, writ large, was to address food security for the ...

Do Rats Like to Be Tickled?

Not all rats like to be tickled but by listening to their vocalizations it is possible to understand in real-time their individual emotional response. The study suggests that if this same ...

Giant Spider Provides Promise of Pain Relief for Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Molecules from the venom of one of the world's largest spiders could help researchers tailor pain blockers for people with irritable bowel syndrome ...

Researchers Develop Simple Method to 3D Print Milk Products

Additive free, multimaterial 3D printing is achieved for milk-based products without temperature ...

Scientists 'Scent Train' Honeybees to Boost Sunflowers' Seed Production

If you want a dog to hunt something down, it helps to let them sniff an item to pick up the scent. Now, researchers have found that scent training honeybees might work in a similar way -- and that ...

Supercooled Water Is a Stable Liquid, Scientists Show for the First Time

First-ever measurements provide evidence that extremely cold supercooled water exists in two distinct structures that co-exist and vary in proportion dependent on ...

World's Largest DNA Sequencing of Viking Skeletons Reveals They Weren't All Scandinavian

Invaders, pirates, warriors - the history books taught us that Vikings were brutal predators who travelled by sea from Scandinavia to pillage and raid their way across Europe and beyond. Now ...

Did Our Early Ancestors Boil Their Food in Hot Springs?

Scientists have found evidence of hot springs near sites where ancient hominids settled, long before the control of ...

Gene-Edited Livestock 'Surrogate Sires' Successfully Made Fertile

For the first time, scientists have created pigs, goats and cattle that can serve as viable 'surrogate sires,' male animals that produce sperm carrying only the genetic traits of donor ...

Animals' Magnetic 'Sixth' Sense May Come from Bacteria

A researcher may help answer why some animals have a magnetic 'sixth' sense, such as sea turtles' ability to return to the beach where they were born. The researchers proposes that the ...

Astronomers have discovered a rare molecule -- phosphine -- in the clouds of Venus. On Earth, this gas is only made industrially or by microbes that thrive in oxygen-free environments. Astronomers ...

Quantum Thermometer Using Nanodiamonds Senses a 'Fever' in Tiny Worms C. Elegans

Measuring the temperature of objects at a nanometer-scale has been a long challenge, especially in living biological samples, because of the lack of precise and reliable nanothermometers. An ...

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020