advertisement
Human Quirks: Mind & Brain
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Brain Cell-Like Nanodevices Work Together to Identify Mutations in Viruses

Scientists have described a new nanodevice that acts almost identically to a brain cell. Furthermore, they have shown that these synthetic brain ...

Brain Circuitry Underlying Dissociative Experiences

Scientists identified key brain circuitry that plays a role in the mysterious experience called dissociation, in which people can feel disconnected from their own body and from ...

Future Autonomous Machines May Build Trust Through Emotion

Research has extended the state-of-the-art in autonomy by providing a more complete picture of how actions and nonverbal signals contribute to promoting cooperation. Researchers suggested guidelines ...

New Electronic Skin Can React to Pain Like Human Skin

New pain-sensing prototype mimics the body's near-instant feedback response and reacts to painful sensations with the same lighting speed that nerve signals travel to the brain. It's a significant ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:09pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Atheists Are More Likely to Sleep Better Than Catholics and Baptists, Study Finds

A new study of sleep, religious affiliation, and perceptions of heaven found that atheists and agnostics are significantly more likely to be better sleepers than Catholics and ...

Meditation-Relaxation Therapy May Offer Escape from the Terror of Sleep Paralysis

Sleep paralysis -- a condition thought to explain a number of mysterious experiences including alleged cases of alien abduction and demonic night-time visits -- could be treated using a technique of ...

Evolutionary Theory of Economic Decisions

When survival over generations is the end game, researchers say it makes sense to undervalue long shots that could be profitable and overestimate the likelihood of rare bad ...

Move Over, Siri! Researchers Develop Improv-Based Chatbot

Computer scientists have incorporated improv dialogues into chatbots to produce more grounded and engaging ...

Artificial 'Neurotransistor' Created

While the optimization of conventional microelectronics is slowly reaching its physical limits, nature offers us a blueprint how information can be processed and stored efficiently: our own brain. ...

Distorted Passage of Time During the COVID-19 Lockdown

A survey conducted in the U.K. suggests that social and physical distancing measures put in place during the Covid-19 pandemic significantly impacted people's perception of how quickly time ...

Animals Who Try to Sound 'Bigger' Are Good at Learning Sounds

Some animals fake their body size by sounding 'bigger' than they actually are. Researchers studied 164 different mammals and found that animals who lower their voice to sound bigger are ...

Our Animal Inheritance: Humans Perk Up Their Ears, Too, When They Hear Interesting Sounds

Many animals move their ears to better focus their attention on a novel sound. That humans also have this capability was not known until now. A research team now has demonstrated that we make minute, ...

Researchers Foresee Linguistic Issues During Space Travel

Interstellar space travelers arriving on another planet could face problems communicating with previous and subsequent arrivals, their spoken language having changed in isolation along the ...

Quantum Physics Provides a Way to Hide Ignorance

Students can hide their ignorance and answer questions correctly in an exam without their lack of knowledge being detected by teachers -- but only in the quantum ...

Wearable-Tech Glove Translates Sign Language Into Speech in Real Time

Bioengineers have designed a glove-like device that can translate American Sign Language into English speech in real time though a smartphone app. The system includes a pair of gloves with thin, ...

Humans and Monkeys Show Similar Thinking Patterns

Humans and monkeys may not speak the same lingo, but our ways of thinking are a lot more similar than previously thought, according to new ...

These Muscle Cells Are Guideposts to Help Regenerative Flatworms Grow Back Their Eyes

If anything happens to the eyes of the tiny, freshwater-dwelling planarian Schmidtea mediterranea, they can grow them back within just a few days. New research provides insight about how the worms ...

Human Brain Size Gene Triggers Bigger Brain in Monkey Fetus

A human-specific gene causes a larger neocortex in the common marmoset, a non-human ...

Hookworm Trial Offers New Hope to MS Patients

Parasitic worms could offer a new treatment hope for patients suffering from the autoimmune disease multiple sclerosis, according to ...

Brainsourcing Automatically Identifies Human Preferences

Researchers have developed a technique, using artificial intelligence, to analyze opinions and draw conclusions using the brain activity of groups of people. This technique, which the researchers ...

Gut Bacteria May Modify Behavior in Worms, Influencing Eating Habits

Gut bacteria are tiny but may play an outsized role not only in the host animal's digestive health, but in their overall well-being. According to a new study, specific gut bacteria in the worm ...

What Do 'Bohemian Rhapsody,' 'Macbeth,' and a List of Facebook Friends All Have in Common?

A new study shows how vastly complex communication networks can efficiently convey large amounts of information to the human brain. Researcher found that works of literature, musical pieces, and ...

Simulated Sea Slug Gets Addicted to Drug

Scientists built a computer model of a simple brain network based on that of a sea slug, taught it how to get food, gave it an appetite and the ability to experience reward, added a dash of something ...

Artificial Synapse That Works With Living Cells Created

Researchers have created a device that can integrate and interact with neuron-like cells. This could be an early step toward an artificial synapse for use in brain-computer ...

Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019