advertisement
Human Quirks: Living Well
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Researchers Develop Simple Method to 3D Print Milk Products

Additive free, multimaterial 3D printing is achieved for milk-based products without temperature ...

Brain Circuitry Underlying Dissociative Experiences

Scientists identified key brain circuitry that plays a role in the mysterious experience called dissociation, in which people can feel disconnected from their own body and from ...

Tool Transforms World Landmark Photos Into 4D Experiences

Using publicly available tourist photos of world landmarks such as the Trevi Fountain in Rome or Top of the Rock in New York City, researchers have developed a method to create maneuverable 3D images ...

How 'Swapping Bodies' With a Friend Changes Our Sense of Self

A new study shows that, when pairs of friends swapped bodies in a perceptual illusion, their beliefs about their own personalities became more similar to their beliefs about their friends' ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:09pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Evolutionary Theory of Economic Decisions

When survival over generations is the end game, researchers say it makes sense to undervalue long shots that could be profitable and overestimate the likelihood of rare bad ...

Distorted Passage of Time During the COVID-19 Lockdown

A survey conducted in the U.K. suggests that social and physical distancing measures put in place during the Covid-19 pandemic significantly impacted people's perception of how quickly time ...

Turning Faces Into Thermostats: Autonomous HVAC System Could Provide More Comfort With Less Energy

As lockdown requirements ease, COVID-19 is changing the way we use indoor spaces. That presents challenges for those who manage those spaces, from homes to offices and ...

Personality Traits Linked to Toilet Paper Stockpiling

People who feel more threatened by COVID-19 and rank highly on scales of emotionality and conscientiousness were most likely to stockpile toilet paper in March 2020, according to a new ...

Will Lockdown Loneliness Make Us Loners?

Loneliness affects both mental and physical health, but counterintuitively it can also result in a decreased desire for social interaction. To understand the mechanics of this paradox, researchers ...

For University Classrooms, Are Telepresence Robots the Next Best Thing to Being There?

Telepresence robots help university students learning remotely to feel more a part of the class, new research ...

Designing Technologies That Interpret Your Mood from Your Skin

An international team of researchers have developed an innovative way of interpreting biological signals produced by the conductance of our skin. The system displays information in the form of ...

Hearts That Drum Together Beat Together

Researchers have found that in a structured group drumming task aspects of participants' heart function synchronized. In a subsequent improvisational drumming task, groups with high ...

What We Can't See Can Help Us Find Things

Anyone who's ever tried to find something in a hurry knows how helpful it is to think about the lost item's color, size and shape. But surprisingly, traits of an object that you can't ...

Our Ability to Focus May Falter After Eating One Meal High in Saturated Fat

Fatty food may feel like a friend during these troubled times, but new research suggests that eating just one meal high in saturated fat can hinder our ability to concentrate -- not great news for ...

Reduced Obesity for Weighted-Vest Wearers

Scientists have found a new method of reducing human body weight and fat mass using weighted vests. The new study indicates that there is something comparable to built-in bathroom scales that ...

Scientists Explore Links Between Genetics, Gut Microbiome and Memory

Scientists have traced the molecular connections between genetics, the gut microbiome and memory in a mouse model bred to resemble the diversity of the human population. Researchers identified ...

Anxious About Public Speaking? Your Smart Speaker Could Help

Researchers have developed a public-speaking tutor on the Amazon Alexa platform. The tutor enables users to engage in cognitive restructuring exercise -- a psychological technique that helps anxious ...

Link Between Obesity and Sleep Loss

Can staying up late make you fat? Researchers found the opposite to be true when they studied sleep in worms: It's not the sleep loss that leads to obesity, but rather that excess weight can ...

New Textile Could Keep You Cool in the Heat, Warm in the Cold

Imagine a single garment that could adapt to changing weather conditions, keeping its wearer cool in the heat of midday but warm when an evening storm blows in. In addition to wearing it outdoors, ...

Cocky Kids: The Four-Year-Olds With the Same Overconfidence as Risk-Taking Bankers

Overconfidence in one's own abilities despite clear evidence to the contrary is present and persistent in children as young as four, a new study has ...

The Placebo Effect and Psychedelic Drugs: Tripping on Nothing?

A new study suggests that, in the right context, some people may experience psychedelic-like effects from placebos alone. The researchers reported some of the strongest placebo effects on ...

Engineers Find Ankle Exoskeleton Aids Running

Researchers find that a motorized device that attaches around the ankle and foot can drastically reduce the energy cost of ...

Cannabis Compound Helps Fight Resistant Bacteria

Bacteria are increasingly becoming resistant to antibiotics. By combining antibiotics with the cannabis compound, cannabidiol, researchers have found a way to enhance the antibiotic ...

Wearing Clothes Could Release More Microfibers to the Environment Than Washing Them

In a first-of-its-kind study, scientists compared four different items of polyester clothing and how many fibers were released when they were being worn and ...

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018