advertisement
Human Quirks News
August 7, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Molecular Forces: The Surprising Stretching Behavior of DNA

Experiments with DNA molecules show that their mechanical properties are completely different from what those of macroscopic objects - and this has important consequences for biology and medicine. ...

How Thoughts Could One Day Control Electronic Prostheses, Wirelessly

The current generation of neural implants record enormous amounts of neural activity, then transmit these brain signals through wires to a computer. But, so far, when researchers have tried to create ...

Artificial Organelles Created to Control Cellular Behavior

Biomedical engineers have demonstrated a method for controlling the phase separation of an emerging class of proteins to create artificial membrane-less organelles within human cells. The advance, ...

Sweat Science: Engineers Detect Health Markers in Thread-Based, Wearable Sweat Sensors

Engineers have created a first-of-its-kind, flexible electronic sensing patch that can be sewn into clothing to analyze sweat for multiple markers. ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:08am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Studies Show How to Save Parasites and Why It's Important

An international group of scientists have laid out an ambitious global conservation plan for parasites. Another group of researchers found that the responses of parasites to environmental change are ...

Researchers 3D Print a Working Heart Pump With Real Human Cells

In a groundbreaking new study, researchers have 3D printed a functioning centimeter-scale human heart pump in the lab. The discovery could have major implications for studying heart disease, the ...

Move Over, Siri! Researchers Develop Improv-Based Chatbot

Computer scientists have incorporated improv dialogues into chatbots to produce more grounded and engaging ...

Researchers have proven that a single gene can convert female Aedes aegypti mosquitoes into fertile male mosquitoes and identified a gene needed for male mosquito ...

Artificial 'Neurotransistor' Created

While the optimization of conventional microelectronics is slowly reaching its physical limits, nature offers us a blueprint how information can be processed and stored efficiently: our own brain. ...

Robot Jaws Shows Medicated Chewing Gum Could Be the Future

Medicated chewing gum has been recognized as a new advanced drug delivery method but currently there is no gold standard for testing drug release from chewing gum in vitro. New research has shown a ...

The New Tattoo: Drawing Electronics on Skin

One day, people could monitor their own health conditions by simply picking up a pencil and drawing a bioelectronic device on their skin. In a new study, engineers demonstrated that the simple ...

Engineered Llama Antibodies Neutralize COVID-19 Virus

Antibodies derived from llamas have been shown to neutralise the SARS-CoV-2 virus in lab tests, researchers have found. They hope the antibodies -- known as nanobodies due to their small size -- ...

Extraordinary Regeneration of Neurons in Zebrafish

Biologists have discovered a uniquely rapid form of regeneration in injured neurons and their function in the central nervous system of zebrafish. They studies the Mauthner cells, which are solely ...

Bats Offer Clues to Treating COVID-19

Bats carry many viruses, including COVID-19, without becoming ill. Biologists are studying the immune system of bats to find potential ways to 'mimic' that system in ...

Distorted Passage of Time During the COVID-19 Lockdown

A survey conducted in the U.K. suggests that social and physical distancing measures put in place during the Covid-19 pandemic significantly impacted people's perception of how quickly time ...

Animals Who Try to Sound 'Bigger' Are Good at Learning Sounds

Some animals fake their body size by sounding 'bigger' than they actually are. Researchers studied 164 different mammals and found that animals who lower their voice to sound bigger are ...

Glowing Worms Provide Live-Action Movies of the Body's Internal Scaffolding

Researchers have made the first time-lapse movies of the sheet-like mesh that surrounds and supports most animal tissues. While the thin layer of extracellular matrix known as the basement membrane ...

Our Animal Inheritance: Humans Perk Up Their Ears, Too, When They Hear Interesting Sounds

Many animals move their ears to better focus their attention on a novel sound. That humans also have this capability was not known until now. A research team now has demonstrated that we make minute, ...

Nutrients in Microalgae: An Environmentally Friendly Alternative to Fish

Microalgae could provide an alternative source of healthy omega-3 fatty acids for humans while also being more environmentally friendly to produce than popular fish species. The study offers an ...

Researchers Foresee Linguistic Issues During Space Travel

Interstellar space travelers arriving on another planet could face problems communicating with previous and subsequent arrivals, their spoken language having changed in isolation along the ...

Cell 'Membrane on a Chip' Could Speed Up Screening of Drug Candidates for COVID-19

Researchers have developed a human cell 'membrane on a chip' that allows continuous monitoring of how drugs and infectious agents interact with our cells, and may soon be used to test ...

Buzzing to Rebuild Broken Bone

Healing broken bones could get easier with a device that provides both a scaffold for the bone to grow on and electrical stimulation to urge it forward, engineers report. Although minor bone breaks ...

Sneaky Salmonella Finds a Backdoor Into Plants

Researchers have discovered that bacteria such as salmonella, E. coli and listeria have a backdoor to take advantage of humans' reliance on leafy greens for a healthy diet. They found that wild ...

Quantum Physics Provides a Way to Hide Ignorance

Students can hide their ignorance and answer questions correctly in an exam without their lack of knowledge being detected by teachers -- but only in the quantum ...

Saturday, August 1, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020