advertisement
Human Quirks: Health & Medicine
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Wearable Exosuit That Lessens Muscle Fatigue Could Redesign the Future of Work

A new clothing-like exoskeleton can reduce back muscle fatigue and providing needed physical relief to material handlers, medical professionals and ...

Discovery Enables Adult Skin to Regenerate Like a Newborn's

A newly identified genetic factor allows adult skin to repair itself like the skin of a newborn. The discovery has implications for wound treatment and preventing some of the aging process in skin. ...

Giant Spider Provides Promise of Pain Relief for Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Molecules from the venom of one of the world's largest spiders could help researchers tailor pain blockers for people with irritable bowel syndrome ...

Next-Gen Organoids Grow and Function Like Real Tissues

Bioengineers have created miniature intestines in a dish that match up anatomically and functionally to the real thing better than any other lab-grown tissue models. The biological complexity and ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:38pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Quantum Thermometer Using Nanodiamonds Senses a 'Fever' in Tiny Worms C. Elegans

Measuring the temperature of objects at a nanometer-scale has been a long challenge, especially in living biological samples, because of the lack of precise and reliable nanothermometers. An ...

Researchers are preparing to launch clinical trials of a drug used to cure a deadly disease caused by a coronavirus in cats that they expect will also be effective as a treatment for humans against ...

Studying Water Polo for Kicks

Scientists measure the propulsive force of water polo players executing highly efficient 'eggbeater' kicks, paving the way to improved sports performance and new undersea transportation ...

Are Antivitamins the New Antibiotics?

Antibiotics are among the most important discoveries of modern medicine and have saved millions of lives since the discovery of penicillin almost 100 years ago. However, bacteria can develop ...

How Dinosaur Research Can Help Medicine

The intervertebral discs connect the vertebrae and give the spine its mobility. The disc consists of a cartilaginous fibrous ring and a gelatinous core as a buffer. It has always been assumed that ...

'Selfies' Could Be Used to Detect Heart Disease

Sending a 'selfie' to the doctor could be a cheap and simple way of detecting heart disease, according to researchers. Their study is the first to show that it's possible to use a deep ...

Exoskeleton Research Marches Forward With Study on Fit

Exoskeletons, many of which are powered by springs or motors, can cause pain or injury if their joints are not aligned with the user's. To help manufacturers and consumers mitigate these risks, ...

Using a Public Restroom? Mask Up!

Researchers report that flushing public restroom toilets can release clouds of virus-laden aerosols for you to potentially inhale. After running additional computer simulations, they've ...

Bio-Based Communication Networks Could Control Cells in the Body to Treat Conditions

Electronic devices and biological cells communicate through very different mechanisms. Now, scientists report progress on tiny communication networks that overcome this language barrier, allowing ...

Swallowing This Colonoscopy-Like Bacteria Grabber Could Reveal Secrets About Your Health

Your gut bacteria could say a lot about you, such as why you're diabetic or how you respond to certain drugs. But scientists can see only so much of the gastrointestinal tract to study the role ...

Evidence in Mice That Electroacupuncture Reduces Inflammation Via Specific Neural Pathways

Stimulating the nervous system using small electric current by acupuncture could tamp down systemic inflammation in the body, suggests new research in ...

Nanotubes in the Eye That Help Us See

A new mechanism of blood redistribution that is essential for the proper functioning of the adult retina has just been discovered in ...

Meditation-Relaxation Therapy May Offer Escape from the Terror of Sleep Paralysis

Sleep paralysis -- a condition thought to explain a number of mysterious experiences including alleged cases of alien abduction and demonic night-time visits -- could be treated using a technique of ...

Using state-of-the-art 3D microscopy and mathematics, researchers have reconstructed the movement of the sperm tail in 3D with ...

Bouncing, Sticking, Exploding Viruses: Understanding the Surface Chemistry of SARS-CoV-2

Researchers highlight the need to understand the different environmental conditions that affect the surface chemistry of viruses like SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes the disease ...

Nanocatalysts That Remotely Control Chemical Reactions Inside Living Cells

The enzymes responsible for catalytic reactions in our body's biological reactions are difficult to use for diagnosis or treatment as they react only to certain molecules or have low stability. ...

Molecular Forces: The Surprising Stretching Behavior of DNA

Experiments with DNA molecules show that their mechanical properties are completely different from what those of macroscopic objects - and this has important consequences for biology and medicine. ...

How Thoughts Could One Day Control Electronic Prostheses, Wirelessly

The current generation of neural implants record enormous amounts of neural activity, then transmit these brain signals through wires to a computer. But, so far, when researchers have tried to create ...

Artificial Organelles Created to Control Cellular Behavior

Biomedical engineers have demonstrated a method for controlling the phase separation of an emerging class of proteins to create artificial membrane-less organelles within human cells. The advance, ...

New Studies Show How to Save Parasites and Why It's Important

An international group of scientists have laid out an ambitious global conservation plan for parasites. Another group of researchers found that the responses of parasites to environmental change are ...

Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020