advertisement
Odd Creatures: Earth & Climate
August 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Digital Content on Track to Equal Half 'Earth's Mass' by 2245

As we use resources to power massive computer farms and process digital information, our technological progress is redistributing Earth's matter from physical atoms to digital information. ...

Storing Energy in Red Bricks

Red bricks -- some of the world's cheapest and most familiar building materials -- can be converted into energy storage units that can be charged to hold electricity, like a battery, according to new ...

Mathematical Patterns Developed by Alan Turing Help Researchers Understand Bird Behavior

Scientists have used mathematical modelling to understand why flocks of long-tailed tits segregate themselves into different parts of the ...

New Study Confirms the Power of Deinosuchus and Its 'Teeth the Size of Bananas'

A new study, revisiting fossil specimens from the enormous crocodylian, Deinosuchus, has confirmed that the beast had teeth 'the size of bananas', ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:08pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Studies Show How to Save Parasites and Why It's Important

An international group of scientists have laid out an ambitious global conservation plan for parasites. Another group of researchers found that the responses of parasites to environmental change are ...

The lack of human activity during lockdown caused human-linked vibrations in the Earth to drop by an average of 50 percent between March and May ...

Lightning Strikes More Than 100 Million Times Per Year in the Tropics

Tropical storms often begin with an impressive display of pyrotechnics, but researchers have largely overlooked the role of lightning strikes in tropical ...

Spider Monkey Groups as Collective Computers

New research shows that spider monkeys use collective computation to figure out the best way to find ...

The ancient philosopher Plato posited the shapes of the building blocks of the universe. According to him, the earth was formed of cubes. Researchers now find a fundamental truth in that premise. ...

Arizona Rock Core Sheds Light on Triassic Dark Ages

A rock core from Petrified Forest National Park, Arizona, has given scientists a powerful new tool to understand how catastrophic events shaped Earth's ecosystems before the rise of the ...

Reduction in Commercial Flights Due to COVID-19 Leading to Less Accurate Weather Forecasts

Weather forecasts have become less accurate during the COVID-19 pandemic due to the reduction in commercial flights, according to new research. A new study finds the world lost 50 to 75 percent of ...

Ultra-Black Skin Allows Some Fish to Lurk Unseen

Scientists report that at least 16 species of deep-sea fish have evolved ultra-black skin that absorbs more than 99.5% of the light that hits them, making them nearly impossible to pick out from the ...

Sea Turtles' Impressive Navigation Feats Rely on Surprisingly Crude 'Map'

Since the time of Charles Darwin, scientists have marvelled at sea turtles' impressive ability to make their way -- often over thousands of kilometers -- through the open ocean and back to the ...

'Blinking' Crystals May Convert CO2 Into Fuels

Imagine tiny crystals that ''blink'' like fireflies and can convert carbon dioxide, a key cause of climate change, into fuels. A team has created ultra-small titanium dioxide ...

Oil Spill Clean-Up Gets Doggone Hairy

Researchers have found that dog fur and human hair products -- recycled from salon wastes and dog groomers -- can be just as good as synthetic fabrics at cleaning up crude oil spills on hard land ...

Wireless Aquatic Robot Could Clean Water and Transport Cells

Researchers have developed a tiny plastic robot, made of responsive polymers, which moves under the influence of light and magnetism. In the future this 'wireless aquatic polyp' should be ...

Spider Silk Made by Photosynthetic Bacteria

A research team in Japan reported that they succeeded in producing the spider silk -- ultra-lightweight, though, biodegradable and biocompatible material -- using photosynthetic bacteria. This study ...

New Study Detects Ringing of the Global Atmosphere

A ringing bell vibrates simultaneously at a low-pitched fundamental tone and at many higher-pitched overtones, producing a pleasant musical sound. A recent study shows that the Earth's entire ...

What Makes Ships Mysteriously Slow Down or Stop, Even Though Engines Are Running?

What makes ships mysteriously slow down or even stop as they travel, even though their engines are working properly? This was first observed in 1893 and was described experimentally in 1904 without ...

'Pregnancy Test for Water' Delivers Fast, Easy Results on Water Quality

A new platform technology can assess water safety and quality with just a single drop and a few minutes. Powered by synthetic biology, when the test detects a contaminant exceeding the EPA's ...

Earth's Magnetic Field Can Change 10 Times Faster Than Previously Thought

A new study reveals that changes in the direction of the Earth's magnetic field may take place 10 times faster than previously ...

Flashes Bright When Squeezed Tight: How Single-Celled Organisms Light Up the Oceans

Research explains how a unicellular marine organism generates light as a response to mechanical stimulation, lighting up breaking waves at ...

The Sixth Sense of Animals: An Early Warning System for Earthquakes?

Continuously observing animals with motion sensors could improve earthquake ...

First Evidence of Snake-Like Venom Glands Found in Amphibians

Caecilians are limbless amphibians that can be easily mistaken for snakes. Though caecilians are only distantly related to their reptilian cousins, researchers describe specialized glands found along ...

Saturday, August 1, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020