advertisement
Odd Creatures: Earth & Climate
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Secret Surfing Life of Remoras Hitchhiking on Blue Whales

A new study of blue whales off the coast of California has given researchers the first ocean recordings of their famous hitchhiking partner -- the remora -- revealing the suckerfish's secret ...

Multi-Drone System Autonomously Surveys Penguin Colonies

A new multi-drone imaging system was put to the test in Antarctica. The task? Documenting a colony of roughly 1 million Adélie ...

Mountain Gorillas Are Good Neighbors Up to a Point

Mountain gorilla groups are friendly to familiar neighbors - provided they stay out of 'core' parts of their territory - new research ...

Australian Scientists Discover 500-Meter-Tall Coral Reef in the Great Barrier Reef

Scientists have discovered a massive detached coral reef in the Great Barrier Reef, measuring more than 500 meters high -- taller than the Empire ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:09pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Zoologists Uncover New Example of Rapid Evolution -- Meet the Sulawesi Babblers

Zoologists have discovered that male and female Sulawesi Babblers (Pellorneum celebense, a species of bird) have evolved to attain different sizes on small islands, and in quick-fire time. They ...

Paleontologists Identify New Species of Mosasaur

A new species of an ancient marine reptile evolved to strike terror into the hearts of the normally safe, fast-swimming fish has been identified, shedding light on what it took to survive in highly ...

This 'Squidbot' Jets Around and Takes Pics of Coral and Fish

Engineers have built a squid-like robot that can swim untethered, propelling itself by generating jets of water. The robot carries its own power source inside its body. It can also carry a sensor, ...

Earth Grows Fine Gems in Minutes

Some of Earth's finest gemstones grew in a matter of minutes. Geologists made that discovery while investigating mineral formations that are rich in lithium and rare ...

CRISPRing Trees for a Climate-Friendly Economy

Researchers have discovered a way to stably fine-tune the amount of lignin in poplar by applying CRISPR/Cas9 technology. Lignin is one of the main structural substances in plants and it makes ...

Earthquake Forecasting Clues Unearthed in Strange Precariously Balanced Rocks

Naturally formed balancing boulders could be used to help scientists to forecast large earthquakes more ...

Stellar Explosion in Earth's Proximity, Eons Ago

When the brightness of the star Betelgeuse dropped dramatically a few months ago, some observers suspected an impending supernova - a stellar explosion that could also cause damage on Earth. While ...

Wildcats Threatened by Their Domestic Cousins

European wildcats, thought to be extinct 50 years ago in the Jura mountains, have since recolonized part of their former territory. This resurgence in an area occupied by domestic cats has gone ...

Ancient Adélie Penguin Colony Revealed by Snowmelt at Cape Irizar, Ross Sea, Antarctica

Researchers encountered a puzzle at Cape Irizar, a rocky cape located just south of the Drygalski Ice Tongue on the Scott Coast, Ross Sea. He found both ancient and what appeared to be fresh remains ...

The Arctic Is Burning in a Whole New Way

'Zombie fires' and burning of fire-resistant vegetation are new features driving Arctic fires -- with strong consequences for the global climate -- warn international fire ...

'Insect Armageddon': Low Doses of the Insecticide, Imidacloprid, Cause Blindness in Insects

New research provides important evidence on the role of insecticides on the longevity of insect ...

Experts have examined the evidence that prehistoric flying reptiles called pterosaurs had feathers and believe they were, in fact, ...

Coldest Northern Hemisphere Temps of Minus 69.6 Degress Celsius: Greenland, 1991

Nearly 30 years after recording a temperature of minus 93.2 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 69.6 Celsius) in Greenland, the measurement has been verified by the World Meteorological Organization as the ...

Unusual Climate Conditions Influenced WWI Mortality and Subsequent Influenza Pandemic

Scientists have spotted a once-in-a-century climate anomaly during World War I that likely increased mortality during the war and the influenza pandemic in the years that ...

Scientists Discover Why Tarantulas Come in Vivid Blues and Greens

Researchers find support for new hypotheses: that tarantulas' vibrant blue colors may be used to communicate between potential mates, while green coloration confers the ability to conceal among ...

5G Wireless May Lead to Inaccurate Weather Forecasts

Upcoming 5G wireless networks that will provide faster cell phone service may lead to inaccurate weather forecasts, according to a new study on a controversial issue that has created anxiety among ...

Jaws of Death: Paleontologist Renames Giant, Prehistoric Marine Lizard

Paleontologists describe a new genus of mosasaur, Gnathomortis stadtmani, a marine lizard that roamed the oceans of North America toward the end of the Age of ...

Scientists Predict Potential Spread, Habitat of Invasive Asian Giant Hornet

Researchers have predicted how and where the Asian giant hornet, an invasive newcomer to the Pacific Northwest, popularly dubbed the 'murder hornet,' could spread and find ideal habitat, ...

Scientists Identify New Species of Crystal-Encrusted Truffle, Thanks to Bonobos

Mushroom-munching bonobos in the Democratic Republic of the Congo have introduced scientists to a new species of ...

Do Rats Like to Be Tickled?

Not all rats like to be tickled but by listening to their vocalizations it is possible to understand in real-time their individual emotional response. The study suggests that if this same ...

Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020