advertisement
Stars News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Leaving So Soon? Unusual Planetary Nebula Fades Mere Decades After It Arrived

The tiny Stingray Nebula unexpectedly appeared in the 1980s is by far the youngest planetary nebula in our sky. But a team of astronomers recently ...

Scientists Peer Into the 3D Structure of the Milky Way

Scientists have helped produce a brand-new, three-dimensional survey of our galaxy, allowing them to peer into the inner structure and observe its star-forming processes in unprecedented ...

Astronomers to Release Most Accurate Data Ever for Nearly Two Billion Stars

On 3 December 2020 an international team of astronomers will announce the most detailed ever catalogue of the stars in a huge swathe of our Milky Way galaxy. The measurements of stellar position and ...

Research Suggests Our Galaxy's Brightest Gamma-Ray Binary System May Be Powered by a Magnetar Star

A research team has shed new night on the massive star and its neutron star companion, which are thought to be at the core of the gamma-ray binary ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:02pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Galaxies in the Infant Universe Were Surprisingly Mature

ALMA telescope conducts largest survey yet of distant galaxies in the early ...

Stars and Planets Grow Up Together as Siblings

ALMA shows rings around the still-growing proto-star IRS ...

Galactic Archaeology

Computational astrophysics study modeled for the first time faint supernovae of metal-free first stars, yielding carbon-enhanced abundance patterns for star formation. Study investigated formation of ...

Three decades after astronomer Carl Sagan suggested that Voyager 1 snap Earth's picture from billions of miles away -- resulting in the iconic Pale Blue Dot photograph - two astronomers now ...

Evidence of Broadside Collision With Dwarf Galaxy Discovered in Milky Way

Astrophysicists have discovered a series of telltale shell-like formations of stars in the vicinity of the Virgo constellation, evidence of a radial merger between a dwarf galaxy and the Milky Way, ...

Two Planets Around a Red Dwarf

Astronomers have detected two exoplanets orbiting the star TOI-1266. The telescope thus demonstrates its high precision and takes an important step in the quest of finding potentially habitable ...

Anemic Star Cluster Breaks Metal-Poor Record

In a surprising discovery, astronomers have found a star cluster in the Andromeda Galaxy that contains a record-breaking low amount of metals, calling into question the so-called ...

Star Clusters Are Only the Tip of the Iceberg

Star clusters have been part of the Imaginarium of human civilization for millennia. The brightest star clusters to Earth, like the Pleiades, are readily visible to the naked eye. A team around ...

Modelling Extreme Magnetic Fields and Temperature Variation on Distant Stars

New research is helping to explain one of the big questions that has perplexed astrophysicists for the past 30 years - what causes the changing brightness of distant stars called magnetars. Magnetars ...

Astronomers have spotted a rare blast of light from a star being ripped apart by a supermassive black hole. The phenomenon, known as a tidal disruption event, is the closest such flare recorded to ...

Astronomers Find X-Rays Lingering Years After Landmark Neutron Star Collision

It's been three years since the landmark detection of a neutron star merger from gravitational waves. Since that day, an international team of astronomers has been continuously monitoring the ...

In the Eye of a Stellar Cyclone

While on COVID lockdown, a college student has written a research paper on a star system dubbed one of the 'exotic peacocks of the stellar ...

A New Look at Sunspots

NASA's extensive fleet of spacecraft allows scientists to study the Sun extremely close-up - one of the agency's spacecraft is even on its way to fly through the Sun's outer ...

Researchers Find 'Missing Link' Between Magnetars and Rotation-Powered Pulsars

Researchers have made observations of a new magnetar, called Swift J1818.0-1607, which challenges current knowledge about two types of extreme stars, known as magnetars and ...

Astronomers Turn Up the Heavy Metal to Shed Light on Star Formation

Astronomers have developed a new way to study star formation in galaxies from the dawn of time to today. Using a new algorithm to model the energy and wavelengths of light coming from almost 7000 ...

Gemini South's High-Def Version of 'A Star Is Born'

NASA's James Webb Space Telescope is still more than a year from launching, but the Gemini South telescope in Chile has provided astronomers a glimpse of what the orbiting observatory should ...

Some Planets May Be Better for Life Than Earth

Researchers have identified two dozen planets outside our solar system that may have conditions more suitable for life than our own. Some of these orbit stars that may be better than even our ...

Hubble Watches Exploding Star Fade Into Oblivion

When a star unleashes as much energy in a matter of days as our Sun does in several billion years, you know it's not going to remain visible for long. Like intergalactic paparazzi, NASA's ...

Stellar Explosion in Earth's Proximity, Eons Ago

When the brightness of the star Betelgeuse dropped dramatically a few months ago, some observers suspected an impending supernova - a stellar explosion that could also cause damage on Earth. While ...

Discovery of Close Binary Trans-Neptunian Object

A new study reveals the binary nature of a trans-Neptunian object ...

Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Sunday, October 11, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020