advertisement
Stars News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

How Colliding Neutron Stars Could Shed Light on Universal Mysteries

Researchers have discovered an unusual pulsar - one of deep space's magnetized spinning neutron-star 'lighthouses' that emits highly focused radio waves from its magnetic poles. It is unusual because ...

The Cosmic Commute Towards Star and Planet Formation

Interconnected gas flows reveal how star-forming gas is assembled in ...
A new analysis of white dwarf stars supports their role as a key source of carbon in galaxies. Every carbon atom in the universe was created by stars, but astrophysicists ...

Stellar Fireworks Celebrate Birth of Giant Cluster

Astronomers created a stunning new image showing celestial fireworks in star cluster ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:20am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Hubble Provides Holistic View of Stars Gone Haywire

As nuclear fusion engines, most stars live placid lives for hundreds of millions to billions of years. But near the end of their lives they can turn into crazy whirligigs, puffing off shells and jets ...

This Supernova in a Lab Mimics the Cosmic Blast's Splendid Aftermath

Mystery enshrouds the birth of swirls typical for supernova remnants like the Crab Nebula. A new 'supernova machine' may help solve ...

There may be as many as one Earth-like planet for every five Sun-like stars in the Milky Way Galaxy, according to new ...

Astronomers have discovered that emissions from an object known as a repeating Fast Radio Burst follow a cyclic pattern repeating every 157 ...

Chance of Finding Young Earth-Like Planets Higher Than Previously Thought

Researchers have found that the chance of finding Earth-like planets in their early stages of formation is much higher than previously ...

Using AI to Unlock Clues to the Origins of the Stars and Planets

An artificial intelligence (AI) system analysing data from the Gaia space telescope has identified more than 2,000 large protostars, young stars that are still forming and could hold clues to the ...

Ultra-Bright X-Ray Source Awakens Near a Galaxy Not So Far Away

A new ultra-bright source of X-rays has awakened in between our galactic neighbors the Magellanic Clouds, after a 26-year slumber. This is the second-closest such object known to date, with a ...

Astronomers Capture a Pulsar 'Powering Up'

Astronomers have, for the first time, observed the full, 12-day process of material spiraling into a distant neutron star, triggering an X-ray outburst thousands of times brighter than our ...

Citizen Scientists Spot Closest Young Brown Dwarf Disk Yet

Scientists spot a brown dwarf disk that is the closest young system yet ...

Large Simulation Finds New Origin of Supermassive Black Holes

Computer simulations conducted by astrophysicists have revealed a new theory for the origin of supermassive black holes. In this theory, the precursors of supermassive black holes grow by swallowing ...

Class of Stellar Explosions Found to Be Galactic Producers of Lithium

Astrophysicists have combined theory with both observations and laboratory studies and determined that a class of stellar explosions, called classical novae, are responsible for most of the lithium ...

A New Type of Matter Discovered Inside Neutron Stars

A research group has found strong evidence for the presence of exotic quark matter inside the cores of the largest neutron stars in existence. The conclusion was reached by combining recent results ...

Hot Stars Are Plagued by Giant Magnetic Spots, ESO Data Shows

Astronomers have discovered giant spots on the surface of extremely hot stars hidden in stellar clusters. Not only are these stars plagued by magnetic spots, some also experience superflare events, ...

In Planet Formation, It's Location, Location, Location

Astronomers are finding that planets have a tough time forming in the rough-and-tumble central region of the massive, crowded star cluster Westerlund 2. Located 20,000 light-years away, Westerlund 2 ...

ESPRESSO Confirms the Presence of an Earth Around the Nearest Star

The existence of a planet the size of Earth around the closest star in the solar system, Proxima Centauri, has been confirmed by a team of scientists. The planet, Proxima b, has a mass of 1.17 earth ...

Under Pressure, Black Holes Feast

A new study shows that some supermassive black holes actually thrive under pressure. It has been known for some time that when distant galaxies -- and the supermassive black holes within their cores ...

Analysis of two cosmic explosions indicates to astronomers that the pair, along with a puzzling blast from 2018, constitute a new type of event, with similarities to some supernovae and gamma-ray ...

New Gravitational-Wave Model Can Bring Neutron Stars Into Even Sharper Focus

Gravitational-wave researchers have developed a new model that promises to yield fresh insights into the structure and composition of neutron ...

ALMA Discovers Massive Rotating Disk in Early Universe

In our 13.8 billion-year-old universe, most galaxies like our Milky Way form gradually, reaching their large mass relatively late. But a new discovery made with the Atacama Large ...

ESO Telescope Sees Signs of Planet Birth

Observations made with the European Southern Observatory's Very Large Telescope (ESO's VLT) have revealed the telltale signs of a star system being born. Around the young star AB Aurigae ...

Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Sunday, April 19, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019