advertisement
Space Telescopes News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Leaving So Soon? Unusual Planetary Nebula Fades Mere Decades After It Arrived

The tiny Stingray Nebula unexpectedly appeared in the 1980s is by far the youngest planetary nebula in our sky. But a team of astronomers recently ...

Astronomers to Release Most Accurate Data Ever for Nearly Two Billion Stars

On 3 December 2020 an international team of astronomers will announce the most detailed ever catalogue of the stars in a huge swathe of our Milky Way galaxy. The measurements of stellar position and ...

Puzzling 'Cold Quasar' Forming New Stars in Spite of Active Galactic Nucleus

Using NASA's SOFIA telescope, researchers have found CQ 4479, a galaxy which never had been closely studied before, to be generating new stars in ...
The missing dark matter in certain galaxies can be explained by the effects of tidal disruption: the gravity forces of a neighboring massive galaxy, literally tearing the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:03pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Gaia Space Telescope Measured the Acceleration of the Solar System

The Gaia space telescope has measured the acceleration of the Solar System when it orbits the center of our Milky Way galaxy. The Solar System motion relative to the stars agrees with the results by ...

First Brown Dwarf Discovered by Radio Observations Confirmed

New research has led to the first direct discovery of a cold brown dwarf from its radio wavelength emission. Along with paving the way for future brown dwarf discoveries, this result is an important ...

Has the Hidden Matter of the Universe Been Discovered?

Astrophysicists consider that around 40% of the ordinary matter that makes up stars, planets and galaxies remains undetected, concealed in the form of a hot gas in the complexe cosmic web. Today, ...

Seeing Dark Matter in a New Light

A small team of astronomers have found a new way to 'see' the elusive dark matter haloes that surround galaxies, with a new technique 10 times more precise than the previous-best ...

According to new research using data from NASA's retired planet-hunting mission, the Kepler space telescope, about half the stars similar in temperature to our Sun could have a rocky planet ...

Astronomers Discover Clues That Unveil the Mystery of Fast Radio Bursts

Astrophysicists recently observed fast radio bursts, powerful radio waves coming from deep space that have been among the most mysterious astronomical phenomena ever ...

Supersonic Winds, Rocky Rains Forecasted on Lava Planet

Among the most extreme planets discovered beyond the edges of our solar system are lava planets: fiery hot worlds that circle so close to their host star that some regions are likely oceans of molten ...

First Light on a Next-Gen Astronomical Survey Toward a New Understanding of the Cosmos

The Sloan Digital Sky Survey's fifth generation collected its very first observations of the cosmos at 1:47 a.m. on October 24, 2020. As the world's first all-sky time-domain spectroscopic ...

Measuring the Expansion of the Universe: Researchers Focus on Velocity

There seems to be a discrepancy between measurement of the expansion of the Universe using radiation in the early Universe and using nearby objects. Researchers have now contributed to this debate by ...

Astronomers Discover Activity on Distant Planetary Object

A team of astronomers, earlier this year announced their discovery of activity emanating from Centaur 2014 OG392, a planetary object first found in 2014. As a result of the team's discovery, the ...

Astronomers Are Bulging With Data

For the first time, over 250 million stars in our galaxy's bulge have been surveyed in near-ultraviolet, optical, and near-infrared light, opening the door for astronomers to reexamine key ...

Gran Telescopio Canarias Finds the Farthest Black Hole That Belongs to a Rare Family of Galaxies

Astronomers have identified one of the rarest known classes of gamma-ray emitting galaxies, called BL Lacertae, within the first 2 billion years of the age of the ...

Galaxies in the Infant Universe Were Surprisingly Mature

ALMA telescope conducts largest survey yet of distant galaxies in the early ...

NASA's Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) has confirmed, for the first time, water on the sunlit surface of the Moon. This discovery indicates that water may be distributed ...

Data Reveals Evidence of Molecular Absorption in the Atmosphere of a Hot Neptune

An international team of scientists recently measured the spectrum of the atmosphere of a rare hot Neptune exoplanet, whose discovery by NASA's Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) was ...

New Study Details Atmosphere on 'Hot Neptune' 260 Light Years Away That 'Shouldn't Exist'

Astronomers have crunched data from NASA's TESS and Spitzer space telescopes to portray for the first time the atmosphere of a highly unusual kind of exoplanet dubbed a 'hot ...

Three decades after astronomer Carl Sagan suggested that Voyager 1 snap Earth's picture from billions of miles away -- resulting in the iconic Pale Blue Dot photograph - two astronomers now ...

AI and Photonics Join Forces to Make It Easier to Find 'New Earths'

By combining photonics with artificial intelligence, scientists have developed a sensor that will help decipher the 'twinkle' of stars and allow for Earth-based exploration of planets ...

Evidence of Broadside Collision With Dwarf Galaxy Discovered in Milky Way

Astrophysicists have discovered a series of telltale shell-like formations of stars in the vicinity of the Virgo constellation, evidence of a radial merger between a dwarf galaxy and the Milky Way, ...

Astrophysics Team Lights the Way for More Accurate Model of the Universe

Scientists demonstrated the first use of a method called self-calibration to remove contamination from gravitational lensing signals. The results should lead to more accurate cosmological models of ...

Thursday, December 3, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Sunday, October 11, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020