advertisement
Solar System News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

The Collective Power of the Solar System's Dark, Icy Bodies

Two new studies by researchers at the University of Colorado Boulder may help to solve one of the biggest mysteries about the dark, icy bodies of the outer solar system: why so many of them don't ...
There has been considerable debate over how the Moon was formed. The popular hypothesis contends that the Moon was formed by ...

Scientists Provide New Explanation for the Far Side of the Moon's Strange Asymmetry

The Earth-Moon system's history remains mysterious. Scientists believe the two formed when a Mars-sized body collided with the proto-Earth. Earth ...

First Exposed Planetary Core Discovered Allows Glimpse Inside Other Worlds

The surviving core of a gas giant has been discovered orbiting a distant star, offering an unprecedented glimpse into the interior of a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:49am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Are Planets With Oceans Common in the Galaxy? It's Likely, Scientists Find

Several years ago, planetary scientists began to wonder whether any of the more than 4,000 known exoplanets, or planets beyond our solar system, might resemble some of the watery moons around Jupiter ...

Electrically Charged Dust Storms Drive Martian Chlorine Cycle

The group that previously studied Martian dust storms now shifts focus to the electrochemical processes resulting from dust storms that may power the movement of chlorine, which is ongoing on Mars ...

Scientists Carry out First Space-Based Measurement of Neutron Lifetime

Scientists have found a way of measuring neutron lifetime from space for the first time -- a discovery that could teach us more about the early ...

First Global Map of Rockfalls on the Moon

A research team counted over 136,000 rockfalls on the moon caused by asteroid impacts. Even billions of years old landscapes are still ...

Ancient Asteroid Impacts Created the Ingredients of Life on Earth and Mars

A new study reveals that asteroid impact sites in the ocean may possess a crucial link in explaining the formation of the essential molecules for life. The study discovered the emergence of amino ...

Eclipse Data Illuminate Mysteries of Sun's Corona

Observations from total solar eclipses are used to measure the shape of the Sun's magnetic ...

Origin of Martian Moon Phobos

New images of the Martian moon Phobos give scientists insight into the physical properties of the moon and its ...

New Study Provides Maps, Ice Favorability Index to Companies Looking to Mine the Moon

A research team has created an Ice Favorability Index. The geological model explains the process for ice formation at the poles of the moon, and mapped the terrain, which includes craters that may ...

Astronomers Create Cloud Atlas for Hot, Jupiter-Like Exoplanets

As astronomers ramp up study of the atmospheres of hot, Jupiter-like planets around other stars, they encounter clouds that obscure study of atmospheric gases. A new computer model looks at the ...

ATLAS Telescope Discovers First-of-Its-Kind Asteroid

An extraordinary asteroid with comet-like features has researchers ...

NASA's Curiosity Rover Finds Clues to Chilly Ancient Mars Buried in Rocks

By studying the chemical elements on Mars today -- including carbon and oxygen -- scientists can work backwards to piece together the history of a planet that once had the conditions necessary to ...

Mystery of Lava-Like Flows on Mars Solved

The mystery of some lava-like flows on Mars has been solved by scientists who say they are caused not by lava but by mud. There are tens of thousands of these landforms on the Martian surface, often ...

TRAPPIST-1 Planetary Orbits Not Misaligned

Astronomers have determined that the Earth-like planets of the TRAPPIST-1 system are not significantly misaligned with the rotation of the star. This is an important result for understanding the ...

What's Mars Made Of?

Earth-based experiments on iron-sulfur alloys thought to comprise the core of Mars reveal details about the planet's seismic properties for the first time. This information will be compared to ...

Scientists Reveal Solar System's Oldest Molecular Fluids Could Hold the Key to Early Life

Scientists have analyzed a meteorite atom by atom to reveal the chemistry and acidity of the earliest fluids in the solar system. By finding evidence of sodium-rich alkaline water in the Tagish Lake ...

Scientists Have Modeled Mars Climate to Understand Habitability

Scientists have modeled the atmosphere of Mars to help determine that salty pockets of water present on the Red Planet are likely not habitable by life as we know it on Earth. The team helped allay ...

Hayabusa2 Reveals More Secrets from Ryugu

In February and July of 2019, the Hayabusa2 spacecraft briefly touched down on the surface of near-Earth asteroid Ryugu. The readings it took with various instruments at those times have given ...

Giant Meteorite Impacts Formed Parts of the Moon's Crust, New Evidence Shows

New research on a rock collected by the Apollo 17 astronauts has revealed evidence for a mineral phase that can only form above 2300 °C. Such temperatures are uniquely achieved in melt sheets ...

Telescopes and Spacecraft Join Forces to Probe Deep Into Jupiter's Atmosphere

NASA's Hubble Space Telescope and the ground-based Gemini Observatory in Hawaii have teamed up with the Juno spacecraft to probe the mightiest storms in the solar system, taking place more than ...

New Timeline for Ancient Magnetic Field on Mars

Mars had a global magnetic field much earlier -- and much later -- than previously known. Analysis of new satellite data found clear evidence of a magnetic field coming from a lava flow that formed ...

Friday, June 19, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019