advertisement
Galaxies News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists Peer Into the 3D Structure of the Milky Way

Scientists have helped produce a brand-new, three-dimensional survey of our galaxy, allowing them to peer into the inner structure and observe its star-forming processes in unprecedented ...

Astronomers to Release Most Accurate Data Ever for Nearly Two Billion Stars

On 3 December 2020 an international team of astronomers will announce the most detailed ever catalogue of the stars in a huge swathe of our Milky Way galaxy. The measurements of stellar position and ...

Puzzling 'Cold Quasar' Forming New Stars in Spite of Active Galactic Nucleus

Using NASA's SOFIA telescope, researchers have found CQ 4479, a galaxy which never had been closely studied before, to be generating new stars in ...
The missing dark matter in certain galaxies can be explained by the effects of tidal disruption: the gravity forces of a neighboring massive galaxy, literally tearing the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:02pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Galaxies in the Infant Universe Were Surprisingly Mature

ALMA telescope conducts largest survey yet of distant galaxies in the early ...

Evidence of Broadside Collision With Dwarf Galaxy Discovered in Milky Way

Astrophysicists have discovered a series of telltale shell-like formations of stars in the vicinity of the Virgo constellation, evidence of a radial merger between a dwarf galaxy and the Milky Way, ...

The Milky Way Galaxy Has a Clumpy Halo

Astronomers at the University of Iowa have determined our galaxy is surrounded by a clumpy halo of hot gases that is continually being supplied with material ejected by birthing or dying stars. The ...

Anemic Star Cluster Breaks Metal-Poor Record

In a surprising discovery, astronomers have found a star cluster in the Andromeda Galaxy that contains a record-breaking low amount of metals, calling into question the so-called ...

NASA's James Webb Telescopes Will Reveal Hidden Galaxies

Simulations show it's possible to distinguish host galaxy from quasars, although still challenging due to the galaxy's small size on the ...

Astronomers Solve Dark Matter Puzzle of Strange Galaxy

Astronomers have found that the total number of globular clusters around Dragonfly 44 and, therefore, the dark matter content, is much less than earlier findings had suggested, which shows that this ...

Astronomers Turn Up the Heavy Metal to Shed Light on Star Formation

Astronomers have developed a new way to study star formation in galaxies from the dawn of time to today. Using a new algorithm to model the energy and wavelengths of light coming from almost 7000 ...

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded to Roger Penrose 'for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity' and ...

Hubble Watches Exploding Star Fade Into Oblivion

When a star unleashes as much energy in a matter of days as our Sun does in several billion years, you know it's not going to remain visible for long. Like intergalactic paparazzi, NASA's ...

Scientists Precisely Measure Total Amount of Matter in the Universe

A top goal in cosmology is to precisely measure the total amount of matter in the universe, a daunting exercise for even the most mathematically proficient. Scientists have now done just ...

Astronomers Model, Determine How Disk Galaxies Evolve So Smoothly

By developing better computer simulations, researchers have determined that the scattering of stars from their orbits by the gravity of massive clumps within galaxies leads to a common look in galaxy ...

New Hubble Data Suggests There Is an Ingredient Missing from Current Dark Matter Theories

Recent observations have found that something may be missing from the theories of how dark matter behaves. This missing ingredient may explain why researchers have uncovered an unexpected discrepancy ...

Massive Halo Finally Explains Stream of Gas Swirling Around the Milky Way

Astronomers have discovered that a halo of warm gas surrounding the Magellanic Clouds likely acts as a protective cocoon, shielding the dwarf galaxies from the Milky Way's own halo and ...

An Unexpected Origin Story for a Lopsided Black Hole Merger

A lopsided merger of two black holes may have an oddball origin story, according to a new ...

Can a Black Hole Fire Up the Cold Heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster?

Radio astronomers have detected jets of hot gas blasted out by a black hole in the galaxy at the heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster, located 5.9 billion light-years away in the constellation ...

Hubble Maps Giant Halo Around Andromeda Galaxy

In a landmark study, scientists using NASA's Hubble Space Telescope have mapped the immense halo of gas enveloping the Andromeda galaxy, our nearest large galactic ...

Rare Encounters Between Cosmic Heavyweights

Astronomers have discovered three pairs of merging galaxies. Each of the galaxies contain a supermassive black hole that's feasting on material surrounding it, creating a phenomenon called a ...

Study Rules out Dark Matter Destruction as Origin of Extra Radiation in Galaxy Center

Through an analysis of the Fermi data and an exhaustive series of modeling exercises, researchers were able to determine that an observed excess of gamma rays could not have been produced by what are ...

Galactic Bar Paradox Resolved in Cosmic Dance

New light has been shed on a mysterious and long-standing conundrum at the very heart of our galaxy. The new work offers a potential solution to the so-called 'Galactic bar paradox', ...

A Galaxy's Stop-and-Start Young Radio Jets

A new VLBA image shows details of a young jet emitted from the core of an active galaxy, revealing that the jet activity stopped, then restarted only a decade ...

Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Sunday, April 19, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019