advertisement
Cosmic Rays News
August 9, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Sun’s Bubble of Influence May Be Shaped Like a Deflated Croissant

Scientists have developed a new prediction of the shape of the bubble surrounding our solar system using a model developed with data from NASA ...

Astrophysicist Investigates the Possibility of Life Below the Surface of Mars

Although no life has been detected on the Martian surface, a new study from astrophysicist and research scientist finds that conditions below the ...

Separating Gamma-Ray Bursts: Students Make Critical Breakthrough

By applying a machine-learning algorithm, scientists have developed a method to classify all gamma-ray bursts (GRBs), rapid highly energetic explosions in distant galaxies, without needing to find an ...

In a First, Astronomers Watch a Black Hole's Corona Disappear, Then Reappear

It seems the universe has an odd sense of humor. While a crown-encrusted virus has run roughshod over the world, another entirely different corona ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Scientists Carry out First Space-Based Measurement of Neutron Lifetime

Scientists have found a way of measuring neutron lifetime from space for the first time -- a discovery that could teach us more about the early ...

New Explanation for Neutrino Anomalies in Antarctica

A new article provides a new explanation for two recent strange events that occurred in Antarctica -- high-energy neutrinos appearing to come up out of the Earth on their own accord and head ...

New Test of Dark Energy and Expansion from Cosmic Structures

A new paper has shown how large structures in the distribution of galaxies in the Universe provide the most precise tests of dark energy and cosmic expansion ...

First Optical Measurements of Milky Way's Fermi Bubbles Probe Their Origin

Astronomers have for the first time measured the Fermi Bubbles in the visible light spectrum. The Fermi Bubbles are two enormous outflows of high-energy gas that emanate from the Milky Way and the ...

Ultra-Bright X-Ray Source Awakens Near a Galaxy Not So Far Away

A new ultra-bright source of X-rays has awakened in between our galactic neighbors the Magellanic Clouds, after a 26-year slumber. This is the second-closest such object known to date, with a ...

New Research Deepens Understanding of Earth's Interaction With the Solar Wind

Scientists have reproduced a process that occurs in space to deepen understanding of what happens when the Earth encounters the solar ...

Scientists Detect Crab Nebula Using Innovative Gamma-Ray Telescope

The prototype Schwarzschild-Couder Telescope (SCT) is part of an international effort, known as the Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA), which aims to construct the world's largest and most powerful ...

A New Type of Matter Discovered Inside Neutron Stars

A research group has found strong evidence for the presence of exotic quark matter inside the cores of the largest neutron stars in existence. The conclusion was reached by combining recent results ...

Astronomers Find Cosmic Golden Needle Buried for Two Decades

Astronomers made innovative use of their time while sheltering at home due to the pandemic by combing through W. M. Keck Observatory and NASA archive data. They rediscovered the first Einstein ring ...

Astronomers Discover New Class of Cosmic Explosions

Analysis of two cosmic explosions indicates to astronomers that the pair, along with a puzzling blast from 2018, constitute a new type of event, with similarities to some supernovae and gamma-ray ...

How Cosmic Rays May Have Shaped Life

Physicists propose that the influence of cosmic rays on early life may explain nature's preference for a uniform 'handedness' among biology's critical ...

Galactic Cosmic Rays Now Available for Study on Earth

To better understand and mitigate the health risks faced by astronauts from exposure to space radiation, we ideally need to be able to test the effects of galactic cosmic rays (GCRs) here on Earth ...

Could Dark Matter Be Hiding in Existing Data?

A new study suggests new paths for catching the signals of dark matter particles that have their energy absorbed by atomic ...

New High-Energy-Density Physics Research Provides Insights About the Universe

Researchers have applied physics theory and calculations to predict the presence of two new phenomena -- interspecies radiative transition (IRT) and the breakdown of the dipole selection rule -- in ...

New Clues to Predict the Risks Astronauts Will Face from Space Radiation on Long Missions

Researchers used a novel approach to test assumptions in a model used by NASA to predict health risks for ...

NASA Missions Help Reveal the Power of Shock Waves in a Nova Explosion

Unparalleled observations of a nova outburst in 2018 by a trio of satellites, including two NASA missions, have captured the first direct evidence that shock waves powered most of the ...

Doubts About Basic Assumption for the Universe

No matter where we look, the same rules apply everywhere in space: countless calculations of astrophysics are based on this basic principle. A recent study, however, has thrown this principle into ...

First-Ever Photo Proof of Powerful Jet Emerging from Colliding Galaxies

Researchers have reported the first detection of a relativistic on-axis jet emerging from two colliding galaxies -- the first photographic proof that merging galaxies can produce jets of fast-moving ...

Are Gamma-Ray Bursts Powered by a Star's Collapsing Magnetic Fields?

In its final moments of life, a distant massive star releases an intense burst of high-energy gamma radiation - a Gamma Ray Burst (GRB) - the brightest sources of energy in the universe, detectable ...

Discovery Challenges Nuclear Theory

A discovery by a team of nuclear physicists could change how atoms are understood by scientists and help explain extreme phenomena in outer ...

Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019