advertisement
Black Holes News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

How Galaxies Die: New Insights Into the Quenching of Star Formation

Astronomers studying galaxy evolution have long struggled to understand what causes star formation to shut down in massive galaxies. Although many theories have been proposed to explain this process, ...

Breakthrough in Deciphering Birth of Supermassive Black Holes

Scientists say they are closer to understanding how a supermassive black hole (SMBH) is born thanks to a new technique that has enabled them to zoom in on one of these enigmatic cosmic objects in ...
Scientists have developed a new method to find black holes in the outer solar system, and along with it, determine ...

Beacon from the Early Universe

Often described as cosmic lighthouses, quasars are luminous beacons that can be observed at the outskirts of the Universe, providing a rich topic of study for astronomers and cosmologists. Now ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:20pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Large Simulation Finds New Origin of Supermassive Black Holes

Computer simulations conducted by astrophysicists have revealed a new theory for the origin of supermassive black holes. In this theory, the precursors of supermassive black holes grow by swallowing ...

Under Pressure, Black Holes Feast

A new study shows that some supermassive black holes actually thrive under pressure. It has been known for some time that when distant galaxies -- and the supermassive black holes within their cores ...

ALMA Spots Twinkling Heart of the Milky Way

Astronomers have found quasi-periodic flickers in millimeter-waves from the center of the Milky Way, Sagittarius (Sgr) A*. The team interpreted these blinks to be due to the rotation of radio spots ...

Like Thunder Without Lightning

Mergers between black holes and neutron stars in dense star clusters are quite unlike those that form in isolated regions where stars are few. Their associated features could be crucial to the study ...

ESO Instrument Finds Closest Black Hole to Earth

Astronomers have discovered a black hole lying just 1,000 light-years from Earth. The black hole is closer to our solar system than any other found to date and forms part of a triple system that can ...

Spitzer Telescope Reveals the Precise Timing of a Black Hole Dance

Scientists have finally figured out the precise timing of a complicated dance between two enormous black holes, revealing hidden details about the physical characteristics of these mysterious cosmic ...

ESO Telescope Sees Star Dance Around Supermassive Black Hole, Proves Einstein Right

Observations have revealed for the first time that a star orbiting the supermassive black hole at the center of the Milky Way moves just as predicted by Einstein's general theory of relativity. ...

Cosmic Tempest: Astronomers Detect Most Energetic Outflow from a Distant Quasar

Researchers have detected the most energetic wind from any quasar ever measured. This outflow, traveling at nearly 13 percent of the speed of light, carries enough energy to dramatically impact star ...

First-Ever Photo Proof of Powerful Jet Emerging from Colliding Galaxies

Researchers have reported the first detection of a relativistic on-axis jet emerging from two colliding galaxies -- the first photographic proof that merging galaxies can produce jets of fast-moving ...

Are Gamma-Ray Bursts Powered by a Star's Collapsing Magnetic Fields?

In its final moments of life, a distant massive star releases an intense burst of high-energy gamma radiation - a Gamma Ray Burst (GRB) - the brightest sources of energy in the universe, detectable ...

Hubble Finds Best Evidence for Elusive Mid-Sized Black Hole

Astronomers have found the best evidence for the perpetrator of a cosmic homicide: a black hole of an elusive class known as 'intermediate-mass,' which betrayed its existence by tearing ...

ALMA Resolves Gas Impacted by Young Jets from Supermassive Black Hole

Astronomers obtained the first resolved image of disturbed gaseous clouds in a galaxy 11 billion light-years away by using the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA). The team found that ...

Black Hole Team Discovers Path to Razor-Sharp Black Hole Images

A team of researchers have published new calculations that predict a striking and intricate substructure within black hole images from extreme gravitational light ...

New Telescope Observations Shed New Light on Black Hole Ejections

A black hole, ejecting material at close to the speed of light, has been observed using e-MERLIN, the UK's radio telescope ...

Astronomers Discover Class of Strange Objects Near Our Galaxy's Enormous Black Hole

Astronomers have discovered a new class of bizarre objects at the center of our galaxy, not far from the supermassive black hole called Sagittarius ...

X-Rays and Gravitational Waves Will Combine to Illuminate Massive Black Hole Collisions

A new study has found that collisions of supermassive black holes may be simultaneously observable in both gravitational waves and X-rays at the beginning of the next ...

Stars Need a Partner to Spin Universe's Brightest Explosions

When it comes to the biggest and brightest explosions seen in the universe, astronomers have found that it takes two stars to make a gamma-ray ...

A Stripped Helium Star Solves the Massive Black Hole Mystery

Recently, a Chinese team of astronomers claimed to have discovered a black hole as massive as 70 solar masses, which, if confirmed, would severely challenge the current view of stellar evolution. ...

Astronomers Find Wandering Massive Black Holes in Dwarf Galaxies

Studies with the VLA indicate that roughly half of the massive black holes in dwarf galaxies are not in the centers of those galaxies. This gives astronomers new insights into the conditions in which ...

ESO Observations Reveal Black Holes' Breakfast at the Cosmic Dawn

Astronomers have observed reservoirs of cool gas around some of the earliest galaxies in the universe. These gas halos are the perfect food for supermassive black holes at the center of these ...

Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018