advertisement
World Development News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Human Activity on Rivers Outpaces, Compounds Effects of Climate Change

The livelihoods of millions of people living along the world's biggest river systems are under threat by a range of stressors caused by the daily economic, societal and political activity of humans ...

Study Settles the Score on Whether the Modern World Is Less Violent

A study by mathematicians has used new techniques to address the long-running debate over whether battle deaths have been declining globally since the end of the Second World ...

Relying on 'Local Food' Is a Distant Dream for Most of the World

A recent study shows that less than one-third of the world's population could currently meet their demand for food produced in their local ...

Even a Limited India-Pakistan Nuclear War Would Bring Global Famine, Says Study

A new multinational study incorporating the latest models of global climate, crop production and trade examines the possible effects of a nuclear ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Global Economic Stability Could Be Difficult to Recover in the Wake of COVID-19 Pandemic, Finds Study

New analysis suggests that the economies of countries such as America, the United Kingdom and Germany should prepare for a long slow recovery with prolonged periods of ...

COVID-19 Will Affect the Food and Financial Security of Many for Years to Come

The complex food shopping patterns that financially insecure families employ have been upended by COVID-19. To facilitate advocacy and policy change around this food insecurity crisis, researchers ...

Protecting Scientific Diversity

The COVID-19 pandemic means that scientists face great challenges because they have to reorient, interrupt or even cancel research and teaching. A team of international scientists are highlighting ...

Impact of COVID-19 on Air Transport Sector

Research has assessed the initial impact of COVID-19 on air transport and found that it is likely to lead to a smaller, consolidated sector in the ...

Two Billion People Without Proper Sanitation at High Risk for Coronavirus

Without access to soap and clean water, more than 2 billion people in low- and middle-income nations -- a quarter of the world's population -- have a greater likelihood of acquiring and ...

Scarcity Reduces Consumers' Concerns About Prices, Even During a Pandemic, Research Shows

New research finds that scarcity actually decreases consumers' tendency to use price to judge a product's ...

Navigating the Clean Energy Transition During the COVID-19 Crisis

In a Commentary published April 29 in the journal Joule, energy and climate policy researchers in Switzerland and Germany provide a framework for responsibly and meaningfully integrating policies ...

COVID-19: The Downside of Social Distancing

When faced with danger, humans draw closer together. Social distancing thwarts this impulse. Researchers argue that this dilemma poses a greater threat to society than overtly antisocial ...

No Time to Waste to Avoid Future Food Shortages

Plant scientists are working on improving photosynthesis on different fronts, from finding crop varieties that need less water, to tweaking parts of the process in order to capture more carbon ...

Carbon Emission Scheme 'Succeeding Despite Low Prices'

A European Union (EU) program aimed at reducing carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions has made significant progress despite low prices in carbon markets, according to a new ...

COVID-19: The Time Is Now to Prepare for People Affected by Humanitarian Crises

A new commentary highlights how people affected by humanitarian crises are especially vulnerable to ...

Rural Water Wells in High Plains Aquifer Show Large Increase in Nitrate Levels

Private well owners should test water quality annually, according to a recent study that revealed nitrate levels in shallow wells above US Environment Protection Act ...

In Ancient Scottish Tree Rings, a Cautionary Tale on Climate, Politics and Survival

Using old tree rings and archival documents, historians and climate scientists have detailed an extreme cold period in Scotland in the 1690s that caused immense suffering. It may have lessons for ...

Limiting the Loss of Nature

With only about half of Earth's terrestrial surface remaining as natural vegetation, a team has proposed an international goal to halt its continued loss. The team examined how a global goal of ...

More Than 1 in 3 Low And Middle-Income Countries Face Both Extremes of Malnutrition

Being undernourished or overweight are no longer separate public health issues. A new article details how more than one in three low- and middle-income countries face both extremes of malnutrition -- ...

Focus on Food Security and Sustainability

The number of malnourished people is increasing worldwide. More than two billion people suffer from a lack of micronutrients. Infant mortality rates are unacceptably high. Against this background, ...

Compliance With Paris Agreement Would Limit Loss of Productivity in Fishing, Agriculture

Scientists show that 90% of the global population may face decreases in productivity for both agriculture and fishing if greenhouse emissions are not reduced. On the other hand, most countries are in ...

Study Examines Women's Ability to Adapt Effectively to Climate Change

New research suggests that male migration and poor working conditions for women combine with institutional failure or poverty to hamper women's ability to adapt to climate variability and change ...

Samoa Climate Change Resilience Challenges Western Perceptions

The resilience of Samoan communities in the face of climate change is providing a blueprint for other nations to follow, according to ...

Saving 'Half Earth' for Nature Would Affect Over a Billion People

Plans to save biodiversity must take into account the social impacts of conservation if they are to succeed, say ...

Friday, June 26, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018