advertisement
Social Issues News
September 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Nineteen global health experts from around the world have proposed a new, three-phase plan for vaccine distribution -- called the Fair Priority Model -- which aims to reduce ...

What Ethical Models for Autonomous Vehicles Don't Address, and How They Could Be Better

There's a fairly large flaw in the way that programmers are currently addressing ethical concerns related to artificial intelligence and autonomous ...

Volunteerism: Doing Good Does You Good

A new study takes a closer look at the benefits of volunteering to the health and well-being of volunteers, both validating and refuting findings from previous research. The results verify that ...

Singapore Modelling Study Estimates Impact of Physical Distancing on Reducing Spread of COVID-19

A new modelling study conducted in a simulated Singapore setting has estimated that a combined approach of physical distancing interventions, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:10pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Historical Racial and Ethnic Health Inequities Account for Disproportionate COVID-19 Impact

A new article examines the ways in which COVID-19 disproportionately impacts historically disadvantaged communities of color in the United States, and how baseline inequalities in our health system ...

During Pandemic, Racism Puts Additional Stress on Asian Americans

People of Asian ancestry face yet another set of challenges posed by racism and xenophobia which has soared during the COVID-19 ...

Do-It-Yourself COVID-19 Vaccines Fraught With Public Health Problems

'Citizen scientists' developing homemade COVID-19 vaccines may believe they're inoculating themselves against the ongoing pandemic, but the practice of self-experimentation with ...

Hoarding and Herding During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Understanding the psychology behind economic decision-making, and how and why a pandemic might trigger responses such as hoarding, is the focus of a new ...

COVID-19 Deaths Among Black Essential Workers Linked to Racial Disparities

Racial disparities among essential workers could be a key reason that Black Americans are more likely than whites to contract and die of COVID-19, according to researchers. They found that Blacks ...

An Embedded Ethics Approach for AI Development

The increasing use of AI (artificial intelligence) in the development of new medical technologies demands greater attention to ethical aspects. An interdisciplinary team advocates the integration of ...

Having a Doctor Who Shares the Same Race May Ease Patient's Angst

When doctors are the same race as their patients, it can sometimes forge a sense of comfort that helps to reduce anxiety and pain, particularly for Black patients, new research ...

Contact Tracing Apps Unlikely to Contain COVID-19 Spread: UK Researchers

Contract tracing apps used to reduce the spread of COVID-19 are unlikely to be effective without proper uptake and support from concurrent control measures, finds a new study by researchers in the ...

Food Safety Model May Help Pandemic Management

No precedent exists for managing the COVID-19 pandemic, although a plan for working through major public food scares may point to the best ways of alerting and communicating with the ...

Most Americans Don't Have Enough Assets to Withstand 3 Months Without Income

A new study found that 77% of low- to moderate-income American households fall below the asset poverty threshold, meaning that if their income were cut off they would not have the financial assets to ...

Racial Disparities in COVID-19–related Deaths Exist Beyond Income Differences in Large U.S. Cities

New analyses examine the interplay between race/ethnicity and income on COVID-19 cases and related deaths in 10 major U.S. ...

US Military Improved Mortality Since World War II, but There Have Been Alarming Exceptions

Although wound survivability has increased over the last 80 years, the U.S. military's medical corps suffered some periods of backsliding during conflicts, recent analysis ...

Free Trade Can Prevent Hunger Caused by Climate Change

Researchers investigated the effects of trade on hunger in the world as a result of climate change. The conclusion is clear: international trade can compensate for regional food shortages and reduce ...

Is COVID-19 Widening the Gender Gap in Academic Medicine?

A new study finds that fewer women were first authors on COVID-19-related research papers published in the first half of this year. The findings suggest a worsening gender gap in academic medicine as ...

COVID-Related Discrimination Disproportionately Impacts Racial Minorities, Study Shows

A new study reveals that discrimination against people thought to have COVID-19, even if they weren't infected, peaked in April and has since declined. Particularly against Asian Americans, ...

Ethnolinguistic Diversity Slows Down Urban Growth

Where various ethnic groups live together, cities grow at a slower rate. That is the conclusion based on worldwide data that shows how the diversity of language groups in 1975 has influenced urban ...

Social Distancing and Dying Alone

The COVID-19 pandemic has led to drastic changes in how hospitals provide end-of-life care to patients and their families. With strict no-visiting limitations in place in an effort to stem contagion, ...

Age Discrimination Laws Don't Protect Older Women as They Do Older Men

Older women in the workforce should be considered collectively as a unique demographic group that includes both gender and age if they're to receive adequate protection against workplace ...

A Coordinated COVID-19 Response Helped Western Washington State 'Flatten the Curve'

A regional coalition-guided multifaceted approach engaged health systems, long-term care facilities, state and local governments, and organizations to rapidly respond to the ...

Calling for Nursing Support Amid COVID-19 Pandemic

In a new editorial, researchers call for rapid policy reform and investment in nurses and nursing in order to leverage the skills of this global ...

Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019