advertisement
Environmental Policies News
August 10, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Landmarks Facing Climate Threats Could 'Transform'

Researchers asked whether heritage sites threatened by climate change should be allowed to adapt and ...

New Global Study Shows 'Best of the Last' Tropical Forests Urgently Need Protection

The world's 'best of the last' tropical forests are at significant risk of being lost, according to a new article. Of these pristine forests that ...

'Worst-Case' CO2 Emissions Scenario Is Best for Assessing Climate Risk and Impacts to 2050

The RCP 8.5 carbon emissions pathway is the most appropriate for conducting assessments of climate change impacts by 2050, according to a new ...

Implementation of Social Distancing Policies Correlates With Significant Reduction in SARS-CoV-2 Transmission

Researchers have found that the implementation of social distancing policies corresponded with significant reductions in transmission of the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:38pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Confused by Whole Grain Labels on Food Packaging? Study Finds You're Not Alone

Whole grain labels are confusing to consumers, according to a new study that found many made the wrong choice when asked to pick the healthier option based on product labels. The researchers say the ...

COVID Recovery Choices Shape Future Climate

A new study warns that even with some lockdown measures staying in place to the end of 2021, without more structural interventions global temperatures will only be roughly 0.01°C lower than expected ...

Most Americans Don't Have Enough Assets to Withstand 3 Months Without Income

A new study found that 77% of low- to moderate-income American households fall below the asset poverty threshold, meaning that if their income were cut off they would not have the financial assets to ...

'Price of Life' Lowest in UK During COVID-19 Pandemic, Study Finds

The price the UK government was prepared to pay to save lives during the COVID-19 pandemic was far lower than in many other developed nations, a study has ...

Strategy for Sustainable Aquaculture, the World's Fastest Growing Food Sector

As the population grows, and the global standard of living improves, humanity's appetite for seafood is increasing. In 2020 seafood consumption reached an all-time high, with an average of 20kg ...

Evaluating the Effectiveness of Travel Bans

A new study sheds light on how COVID-19 spreads regionally and between countries, as well as on how effective governmental measures to curb the spread of the pandemic have been to ...

COVID-19 Risk Model Uses Hospital Data to Guide Decisions on Social Distancing

With communities throughout the United States combating surges in COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations, researchers have created a framework that helps policymakers determine which data to track and ...

COVID-19 Provides Rare Opportunities for Studying Natural and Human Systems

Researchers hypothesize outcomes of the pandemic's unprecedented socioeconomic disruption and outline research priorities for advancing our understanding of humans' impact on the ...

Combating a Pandemic Is 500 Times More Expensive Than Preventing One, Research Suggests

The failure to protect tropical rain forests has cost trillions of dollars stemming from the coronavirus pandemic, which has wreaked economic havoc and caused historic levels of unemployment in the ...

Preventing the Next Pandemic

A new article shows that an annual investment of $30 billion should be enough to offset the costs of preventing another global pandemic such as ...

Free Trade Can Prevent Hunger Caused by Climate Change

Researchers investigated the effects of trade on hunger in the world as a result of climate change. The conclusion is clear: international trade can compensate for regional food shortages and reduce ...

Socio-Economic, Environmental Impacts of COVID-19 Quantified

How is COVID-19 impacting people and the planet and what are the implications for a post-pandemic world? A new study quantifies the socio-economic losses and environmental ...

Aquaculture's Role in Nutrition in the COVID-19 Era

A new paper examines the economics of an aquaculture industry of the future that is simultaneously environmentally sustainable and nutritious for the nearly 1 billion people worldwide who depend on ...

Scientists Offer Roadmap for Studying Link Between Climate and Armed Conflict

Climate change -- from rising temperatures and more severe heavy rain, to drought -- is increasing risks for economies, human security, and conflict globally. Scientists are leading an effort to ...

Nitrogen Pollution Policies Around the World Lag Behind Scientific Knowledge

National and regional policies aimed at addressing pollution fueled by nitrogen lag behind scientific knowledge of the ...

Lack of Lockdown Increased COVID-19 Deaths in Sweden, Analysis Finds

A new analysis finds that Sweden's controversial decision not to lock down during COVID-19 produced more deaths and greater healthcare demand than seen in countries with earlier, more stringent ...

Report Points to Intergroup Tensions Arising from Different Interpretations of Social Distancing

Ambiguity over social distancing as lockdown eases in the United Kingdom over the coming months could lead to tensions between groups, researchers ...

Barriers to Addiction Care Fell Because of COVID-19; Now the Challenge Is Keeping Them Down

Telehealth interactions with substance use disorder specialists and support groups could open treatment and recovery to many, but key changes will be needed, experts ...

Size Matters for Bioenergy With Carbon Capture and Storage

New research has shown that Drax power station in North Yorkshire is the optimal site for the carbon capture and storage facilities that will be needed reduce carbon emissions and achieve the targets ...

Ecosystem Degradation Could Raise Risk of Pandemics

Environmental destruction may make pandemics more likely and less manageable, new research ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020