advertisement
Educational Policy News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Young Kids Could Spread COVID-19 as Much as Older Children and Adults, Study Suggests

Researchers have discovered that children younger than 5 years with mild to moderate COVID-19 have much higher levels of genetic material for the ...

Classes Set by Ability Are Hitting Children's Self-Confidence

The way a vast amount of schools are setup, with classes grouping children based on their ability, is severely affecting pupil's ...

No Single Solution Helps All Students Complete MOOCs

In one of the largest educational field experiments ever conducted, researchers found that promising interventions to help students complete online courses were not effective on a massive scale -- ...

Time on Screens Has Little Impact on Kids' Social Skills, Study Suggests

Despite the time spent with smartphones and social media, young people today are just as socially skilled as those from the previous generation, a new study ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:38pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Engaging Undergrads Remotely With an Escape Room Game

Researchers describe an alternative way to engage students: a virtual game, modeled on an escape room, in which teams solve chemistry problems to progress and ...

Teens' Social Media Use Does Not Raise Risk for Depression, Study Finds

New findings refute popular wisdom and may provide relief to parents and educators concerned with adolescents' heavy use of social media -- particularly during the COVID-19 ...

Machine Learning Can Predict Market Behavior

Machine learning can assess the effectiveness of mathematical tools used to predict the movements of financial markets, according to new research based on the largest dataset ever used in this ...

Experts Recommend Strict, Costly Approaches for Reopening Schools

The American Academy of Pediatrics recently highlighted the importance of students' returning to the classroom in its COVID-19 return-to-school guidance. Jason Wang, MD, PhD, of Stanford Health ...

New Machine Learning Method Allows Hospitals to Share Patient Data -- Privately

Researchers have shown that an approach called federated learning is successful in the context of brain imaging, by being able to analyze magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans of brain tumor ...

Link Between Education, Income Inequality Has Existed for a Century

Income is inextricably linked to access to education in America and it has been for a century, according to a new ...

Invisible Barriers Cut Down on Cheating

Both see-through and pretend partitions promoted honesty in taking tests, psychology experiments show, suggesting simple environmental cues can nudge children to do the right ...

COVID-19 Increased Anxiety, Depression for Already Stressed College Students

College students were more anxious, depressed and sedentary during the initial outbreak of COVID-19 than they were during similar academic terms in other years, according to a multiyear study using ...

Teen Museum Educators Increase Engagement, Learning, in Tween Visitors

A new study finds that youth docents have an overall positive effect on visitors' experiences, learning and information retention at informal learning sites -- like museums. The positive effects ...

Research Explores the Link Between Wages, School and Cognitive Ability in South Africa

Using data sets that only became available in recent years, researchers at Binghamton University, State University of New York analyzed the wage impact of cognitive skills in South ...

Legal Marijuana May Be Slowing Reductions in Teen Marijuana Use

A longitudinal study of more than 230 teens and young adults in Washington state finds that teens may be more likely to use marijuana following legalization - with the proliferation of stores and ...

Expand School Digital Literacy Lessons to Cover Health Technologies Used by Young People

Young people need more support to navigate the growing number of digital technologies which track and manage their health, say ...

Exercise in a First-Year Writing Course Increases Retention at Broad-Access Universities

New research shows that embedding a reading-and-writing exercise about social belonging into the first-year college curriculum increased the persistence and performance of Black, Latinx, Native ...

Children Rarely Transmit COVID-19, Doctors Write in New Commentary

A commentary published in the journal Pediatrics concludes that children infrequently transmit COVID-19 to each other or to adults and that many schools, provided they follow appropriate social ...

Science Education Community Should Withdraw from International Tests, Experts Urge

The science community should withdraw from involvement in international tests such as PISA because they have forced schools to adopt 'narrow' curricula and pedagogies, a study ...

Study: More Than Half of US Students Experience Summer Learning Losses Five Years in a Row

Following U.S. students across five summers between grades 1 and 6, a little more than half (52 percent) experienced learning losses in all five summers, according to a large national study. Students ...

Kindness Researcher Challenges the Notion of Mean Teens

A researcher is hoping to flip the switch on the preconceived notion that teens are mean. He says teenagers often receive a negative reputation, sometimes showcased in mainstream media reports of ...

Prospective Teachers Misperceive Black Children as Angry

New research finds that prospective teachers appear more likely to misperceive Black children as angry than white children, which may undermine the education of Black ...

School Absenteeism Has Surprising Consequences for Adults

Kids who miss a lot of school from kindergarten to eighth grade may suffer unexpected costs as young adults, a new study finds. Researchers found that those who were more regularly absent in these ...

Cyberbullying Linked to Post Traumatic Stress for Victims and Perpetrators

Cyberbullying -- bullying online rather than face to face -- is linked to various types of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms, both for victims and perpetrators, suggests new ...

Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019