advertisement
Conflict News
September 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

How Civil Wars Affect Wildlife Populations

A new study comprehensively reveals how civil wars impact wildlife in countries affected by conflict. Researchers found that the main impacts of civil wars on native mammals are often indirect, ...

Soil Studies Can Be Helpful for Border Control

Underground tunnels have been used by warriors and smugglers for thousands of years to infiltrate battlegrounds and cross borders. A new analysis presents a series of medieval and modern case studies ...

Marine Training May Take More Mental Than Physical Grit

A new study identifies psychological measures that may predict who is more likely to complete - or quit - a demanding marine training ...

Study Settles the Score on Whether the Modern World Is Less Violent

A study by mathematicians has used new techniques to address the long-running debate over whether battle deaths have been declining globally since the end of the Second World ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:38pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

As Domestic Violence Spikes, Many Victims and Their Children Have Nowhere to Live

COVID-19 has left many victims of domestic violence facing difficulties feeding their children and accessing services for safe housing, transportation and childcare once they leave shelters, ...

U.S. Political Parties Become Extremist to Get More Votes

New mathematical modeling shows that U.S. political parties are becoming increasingly polarized due to their quest for voters -- not because voters themselves are becoming more ...

Link Between Education, Income Inequality Has Existed for a Century

Income is inextricably linked to access to education in America and it has been for a century, according to a new ...

US Military Improved Mortality Since World War II, but There Have Been Alarming Exceptions

Although wound survivability has increased over the last 80 years, the U.S. military's medical corps suffered some periods of backsliding during conflicts, recent analysis ...

Twitter Posts Reveal Polarization in Congress on COVID-19

The rapid politicization of the COVID-19 pandemic can be seen in messages members of the US Congress sent about the issue on the social media site Twitter, a new analysis found. Using artificial ...

Cyberbullying Linked to Post Traumatic Stress for Victims and Perpetrators

Cyberbullying -- bullying online rather than face to face -- is linked to various types of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms, both for victims and perpetrators, suggests new ...

Profiling of Lone Terrorists Is Flawed

Terrorism has typically been considered an organised activity undertaken by networks of individuals who share a collective identity and purpose. However, in recent years, media, law enforcement and ...

Aboriginal Scars from Frontier Wars

Hundreds of Aboriginal men who became native mounted police in colonial Australia carried a significant burden of responsibility for law and order for white settlers in Queensland and other ...

Newspaper 'Hierarchy' of Injury Glamorizes War

British newspapers are routinely glamorizing combat by creating a moral separation between combat and non-combat injuries, according to new ...

Americans Perceive Likelihood of Nuclear Weapons Risk as 50/50 Toss-Up

It has been 30 years since the end of the Cold War, yet on average, Americans still perceive that the odds of a nuclear weapon detonating on U.S. soil is as likely as a coin toss, according to new ...

Health Ranks as Top Concern for Veterans Immediately After Military Service

In a survey of nearly 10,000 veterans newly separated from military service, most were satisfied with their work and social well-being, but more than half reported chronic physical health problems, ...

Justified and Unjustified Movie Violence Evokes Different Brain Responses

In a study, researchers find that scenes of justified and unjustified violence in movies activate different parts of the adolescent brain. The research is the first to show that when movie characters ...

System Locates Shooters Using Smartphone Video

Researchers have developed a system that can accurately locate a shooter based on video recordings from as few as three ...

Study Questions Video Games' Effects on Violent Behavior

A new study finds that there is not enough information to support the claim that violent video games lead to acts of ...

Schools Have Critical Role to Play in Supporting Adolescents Fleeing Armed Conflict

Education is known to be highly important for migrant children, yet relatively little is known about the diversity of associated school-based programs and their likely value in supporting the mental ...

Do We Trust Artificial Intelligence Agents to Mediate Conflict? Not Entirely

We may listen to facts from Siri or Alexa, or directions from Google Maps or Waze, but would we let a virtual agent enabled by artificial intelligence help mediate conflict among team members? A new ...

Reading the Past Like an Open Book: Researchers Use Text to Measure 200 Years of Happiness

Using innovative new methods researchers have built a new index that uses data from books and newspaper to track levels of national happiness from 1820. Their research could help governments to make ...

Five Patterns of Gun Ownership by Motivation, Practices, Other Features

Can firearm owners be grouped into distinct groups based on the number and types of firearms owned, primary reason for having firearms and other patterns of ownership? A new study says, ...

Study Finds Public Support for Health Care Providers Talking About Gun Safety

Most Californians, including most gun owners, agree that gun safety conversations between health care providers and patients are appropriate when there is a gun in the home and risk of injury is ...

An India-Pakistan Nuclear War Could Kill Millions, Threaten Global Starvation

A nuclear war between India and Pakistan could, over the span of less than a week, kill 50-125 million people -- more than the death toll during all six years of World War II, according to new ...

Monday, September 14, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Sunday, October 14, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Sunday, June 24, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018