advertisement
Spiders and Ticks News
August 15, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Spider Silk Inspires New Class of Functional Synthetic Polymers

Synthetic polymers have changed the world around us. However, It is hard to finely tune some of their properties, such as the ability to transport ions. To overcome this problem, researchers decided ...

Spider Monkey Groups as Collective Computers

New research shows that spider monkeys use collective computation to figure out the best way to find ...

Exploring How a Scorpion Toxin Might Help Treat Heart Attacks

Scientists are discovering potential life-saving medicines from an unlikely source: the venom of creatures like snakes, spiders and scorpions. Scorpion venom, in particular, contains a peptide that ...

Where Did the Asian Longhorned Ticks in the US Come From?

The invasive population of Asian longhorned ticks in the United States likely began with three or more self-cloning females from northeastern Asia, according to a new study. Asian longhorned ticks ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:05am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Anaplasmosis Bacterium Tinkers With Tick's Gene Expression to Spread to New Hosts

For the first time, scientists have shown that the bacterium that causes the tick-borne disease anaplasmosis interferes with tick gene expression for its survival inside cells and to spread to a new ...

Dangerous Tick-Borne Bacterium Extremely Rare in New Jersey

There's some good news in New Jersey about a potentially deadly tick-borne bacterium. Researchers examined more than 3,000 ticks in the Garden State and found only one carrying Rickettsia ...

To Prevent Tick Encounters, Where You Dump Your Leaves Matters

While many homeowners heed the advice to clear their lawns of fallen leaves in autumn to avoid creating tick-friendly habitat in high-use areas, a new study on tick abundance in leaf litter says ...

Highly Sensitive Sensors Show Promise in Enhancing Human Touch

People rely on a highly tuned sense of touch to manipulate objects, but injuries to the skin and the simple act of wearing gloves can impair this ability. Scientists report the development of a new ...

Orb-Weaver Spiders' Yellow and Black Pattern Helps Them Lure Prey

Being inconspicuous might seem the best strategy for spiders to catch potential prey in their webs, but many orb-web spiders, which hunt in this way, are brightly colored. New research finds their ...

Traditional Chinese Medicinal Plant Yields New Insecticide Compounds

For hundreds of years, practitioners of traditional Chinese medicine have used an herb called Stemona sessilifolia as a remedy for parasitic infections, such as those caused by pinworms and lice. ...

The Secret of Strong Underwater Mussel Adhesion Revealed

Scientists have identified a mechanism of adhesive proteins in a mussel that controls the surface adhesion and cohesion. They substantiated the synergy of molecules in adhesive proteins. Their new ...

Life Aquatic for Many Spider Species

Researchers have found that nearly one fifth of all spider families are associated with saltwater or freshwater aquatic habitats. Their findings address the common misconception that all spiders ...

Cave Fights for Food: Voracious Spiders Vs. Assassin Bugs

Killing and eating of potential competitors has rarely been documented in the zoological literature, even though this type of interaction can affect population dynamics. Scientists now present notes ...

Fossil Is the Oldest-Known Scorpion

Scientists studying fossils collected 35 years ago have identified them as the oldest-known scorpion species, a prehistoric animal from about 437 million years ago. The researchers found that the ...

New Parasitoid Wasp Species Discovered in the Amazon -- Can Manipulate Host's Behavior

A research group studying the diversity of parasitoid insects around the world. Parasitoid wasps (Hymenoptera) are one of the most species rich animal taxa on Earth, but their tropical diversity is ...

Bacteria Spread by Ticks Affected by Humidity and Mutual Competition

No specific environment or temperature favorable to all of the most common pathogens borne by ticks was found in an international study, since different bacterial species thrive in different ...

A 'Jackalope' of an Ancient Spider Fossil Deemed a Hoax, Unmasked as a Crayfish

A team used fluorescence microscopy to analyze the supposed spider and differentiate what parts of the specimen were fossilized organism, and which parts were potentially ...

The Mathematics of Prey Detection in Spider Orb-Webs

Spider webs are one of nature's most fascinating manifestations. Many spiders extrude proteinaceous silk to weave sticky webs that ensnare unsuspecting prey who venture into their threads. ...

Compound Eyes: The Visual Apparatus of Today's Horseshoe Crabs Goes Back 400 Million Years

The extinct sea scorpion species Jaekelopterus rhenaniae had eyes comparable to those of today's horseshoe crabs. The two-and-a-half-meter predator was particularly apt at perceiving contrasts ...

Tiny Woodlands Are More Important Than Previously Thought

Small woodlands in farmland have more benefits for humans per area, compared to large forests according to a new study. The small woodlands, sometimes even smaller than a football field, can easily ...

Unlikely Wasp Enemy of a Serious Alien Pest in North America Named Idris Elba

Idris is a worldwide genus of microscopic, parasitic wasps. A new species of Idris from Mexico (Guanajuato) and the United States (California, New Mexico) proved to be an unlikely enemy of the ...

Dynamics of Silk Proteins Are Key to Outstanding Stability of Spider Silk as Biomaterial

Scientists have discovered that methionine is highly abundant in some spider silk ...

A Filament Fit for Space: Silk Is Proven to Thrive in Outer Space Temperatures

The scientists who discovered that natural silks get stronger the colder they get, have finally solved the puzzle of ...

Spider Silk: A Malleable Protein Provides Reinforcement

Scientists have discovered that spider silk contains an exceptional protein. It generates high bonding strength by making use of an amino acid scientists have hitherto paid little attention to. The ...

Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018