advertisement
Mice News
August 10, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Scientists Use CRISPR to Knock Down Gene Messages Early in Development

Researchers have harnessed the technology to target gene messages (messenger RNA) involved in early vertebrate ...

Autism: How a Gene Alteration Modifies Social Behavior

A team of researchers has discovered a new connection between a genetic alteration and social difficulties related to autism: A mutation in the neuroligin-3 gene reduces the effect of the hormone ...

A New Tool for Modeling the Human Gut Microbiome

Engineers have designed a device that replicates the lining of the colon. With the device, they can grow human colon cells along with oxygen-intolerant bacteria that normally live in the human ...

Peptide Makes Drug-Resistant Bacteria Sensitive to Antibiotics Again

Scientists have developed a synthetic peptide that can make multidrug-resistant bacteria sensitive to antibiotics again when used together with traditional antibiotics, offering hope for the prospect ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:35pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Tool Could Improve Success in Translating Drugs from Animal Studies to Humans

A new computational tool could help better determine which drugs should move from animal testing to humans. It could also sooner detect a reason why a drug might fail, guiding how a clinical trial ...

The Wrong Track: How Papillomaviruses Trick the Immune System

Specific antibodies protect us against viral infections - or do they not? Researchers studied the immune response to papillomaviruses in mice and discovered a hitherto unknown mechanism by which the ...

Humans and Flies Employ Very Similar Mechanisms for Brain Development and Function

A new study has shown that humans, mice and flies share the same fundamental genetic mechanisms that regulate the formation and function of brain areas involved in attention and movement ...

Multiomics Investigation Revealing the Characteristics of HIV-1-Infected Cells in Vivo

A research group using HIV-1-infected cells performed 'multiomics' analyses, which are technologies recently developed to comprehensively investigate the features of biological samples.In ...

The Big Gulp: Inside-out Protection of Parasitic Worms Against Host Defenses

A team of developmental biologists at the Morgridge Institute for Research has discovered a means by which schistosomes, parasitic worms that infect more than 200 million people in tropical climates, ...

Brain Cell Types Identified That May Push Males to Fight and Have Sex

Two groups of nerve cells may serve as ''on-off switches'' for male mating and aggression, suggests a new study in rodents. These neurons appear to send signals between two parts ...

Skin Stem Cells Shuffle Sugars as They Age

Researchers have shown by in vitro experimentation that changes of glycans in mouse epidermal stem cells may serve as a biomarker of aging. Further, by overexpression of specific glycogenes in mouse ...

CBD May Help Avert Lung Destruction in COVID-19, Research Suggests

Cannabidiol, or CBD, may help reduce the cytokine storm and excessive lung inflammation that is killing many patients with COVID-19, researchers ...

Neonatal Exposure to Antigens of Commensal Bacteria Promotes Broader Immune Repertoire

Researchers have added fresh evidence that early exposure to vaccine-, bacterial- or microbiota-derived antigens has a dramatic effect on the diversity of antibodies an adult mammal will have to ...

Salmonella Biofilm Protein Causes Autoimmune Responses -- Possible Link With Alzheimer's

Scientists have demonstrated that a Salmonella biofilm protein can cause autoimmune responses and arthritis in ...

Antioxidants in Corn Line Could Aid Human IBD Protection, Therapy

Flavonoids from a specific line of corn act as anti-inflammatory agents in the guts of mice with an inflammatory-bowel-disease-like condition, according to a team of researchers who said ...

Researchers demonstrate in an animal model that age-related frailty and immune decline can be halted and even partially reversed using a novel cell-based therapeutic ...

Neuroscientists describe for the first time how relationships between different odors are encoded in the brain. The findings suggest a mechanism that may explain why individuals have common but ...

Tiny Mineral Particles Are Better Vehicles for Promising Gene Therapy

Researchers have developed a safer and more efficient way to deliver a promising new method for treating cancer and liver disorders and for ...

In Mouse Study, Black Raspberries Show Promise for Reducing Skin Inflammation

In a study done with mice, researchers found that a diet high in black raspberries reduced inflammation from contact hypersensitivity -- a condition that causes redness and inflammation in the ...

A Novel Sperm Selection Technology to Increase Success Rates of in Vitro Fertilization

Motile sperm are difficult to collect with a conventional cell sorter because they are vulnerable to physical damage. A research collaboration has developed a technique using a cell sorter with ...

Smart Structures: Structural Cells of the Body Control Immune Function

Researchers analyzed the epigenetic and transcriptional regulation in structural cells. They found widespread activity of immune genes, suggesting that structural cells are deeply involved in the ...

Why Do Arteries Age? Study Explores Link to Gut Bacteria, Diet

Eat a slab of steak and your resident gut bacteria get to work immediately to break it down. But new research shows that a metabolic byproduct, called TMAO, produced in the process can be harmful to ...

Hints at Jaw Evolution Found in Marsupials and Monotremes

Infant marsupials and monotremes use a connection between their ear and jaw bones shortly after birth to enable them to drink their mothers' milk, new findings ...

The Gut Shields the Liver from Fructose-Induced Damage

After one consumes food or a beverage containing fructose, the gastrointestinal system, or gut, helps to shield the liver from damage by breaking down the sugar before it reaches the liver, according ...

Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020