advertisement
Mice News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Drug Reverses Age-Related Mental Decline Within Days, Mouse Study Shows

Just a few doses of an experimental drug can reverse age-related declines in memory and mental flexibility in mice, according to a new study. The drug, called ISRIB, has already been shown in ...

'Anti-Antibiotic' Allows for Use of Antibiotics Without Driving Resistance

An inexpensive, FDA-approved drug -- cholestyramine -- taken in conjunction with an antibiotic prevents the antibiotic from driving antimicrobial resistance, according to new ...

Gut Microbes: A Key to Normal Sleep

Researchers used a cocktail of antibiotics to deplete gut microbes in mice. They found that metabolites in the gut differed in these mice compared with controls. In particular, metabolic pathways ...

Commonly Used Antibiotic Shows Promise for Combating Zika Infections

Researchers used a variety of advanced drug screening techniques to test out more than 10,000 compounds in search of a cure. To their surprise, they found that the widely used antibiotic methacycline ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:35pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Medicine-Carriers Made from Human Cells Can Cure Lung Infections

Scientists used human white blood cell membranes to carry two drugs, an antibiotic and an anti-inflammatory, directly to infected lungs in mice. The nano-sized drug delivery method successfully ...

Researchers Find How Stress and the Circadian Clock Affect Sleep

Researchers have found a new neural pathway that links the circadian clock, stress, and wakefulness in mammals. They identified a neuron that becomes excessively active when the mammal is under ...

Altered 'Coat' Disguises Fatal Brain Virus from Neutralizing Antibodies

A genetic modification in the 'coat' of a brain infection-causing virus may allow it to escape antibodies, according to researchers. They say testing people for this and other viral ...

Brain Protein Could Be Starting Point for New Treatments for Pancreatic Cancer

Researchers have discovered that a protein thought to only be involved in the development of neurons in the brain also plays a major role in the development and growth of pancreatic cancer. Their ...

The Single X Chromosome of Male Fruit Flies Can Be Just as Active as the Two X Chromosomes of Females Thanks to Two Sticky Molecules

Researchers have discovered how the MSL complex responsible for dosage compensation can distinguish the X chromosome from autosomes in flies. A lab used a unique research approach to determine the ...

The Bull Y Chromosome Has Evolved to Bully Its Way Into Gametes

Scientists present the first ever full, high-resolution sequence of the Y chromosome of a Hereford bull. The research, more than a decade in the making, suggests that bulls' Y chromosomes have ...

A Hox Paradigm for Studying Protein Evolution

In a new study, researchers have identified a handful of variations in an amino acid sequence critical for retaining the ancestral function of a gene over the course of 600 million years of ...

Study Highlights Sex-Specific Variability in Mouse Features

Scientists have shown that sex-specific differences in variability depend on individual physical and physiological features in mice, debunking competing theories that either males or females are more ...

Parasitic Worms Offer 'the Missing Link' on the Dual Nature of a Key Immune Regulator

By studying two models of parasite infection, researchers filled in crucial gaps about the activity of the signaling molecule IL-33 that is critical to asthma, allergies, and other ...

Novel Insights on Cellular Suicide Could Provide New Avenues for Cancer Therapies

When it comes to complex life -- that of the multicellular variety -- cell death can be just as important as survival. It allows organisms to clean house and prevent the proliferation of damaged ...

Rats Are Capable of Transmitting Hantavirus

Researchers have confirmed Germany's first-ever case of animal-to-human transmission involving a specific species of virus known as the 'Seoul virus'. Researchers were able to confirm ...

Holistic Way to Look at Neurons in the Brain

A new lens on visual neurons is laying the groundwork for a more complete 'family tree' of the mammalian ...

Internal Clocks Drive Beta Cell Regeneration

Our body can repair itself after a damage. This phenomenon describes how cells that are still functional start to proliferate to compensate for the loss. By studying diabetic mice, scientists ...

Scientists Identify Protein That Protects Against Lyme

Researchers have discovered a protein that helps protect hosts from infection with the tick-borne spirochete that causes Lyme Disease, a finding that may help diagnose and treat this ...

Researchers Light-Up Mouse Brain, Revealing Previously Hidden Areas Susceptible to Opioids

New work shows that kappa opioid receptors actually are distributed widely throughout the brain. The researchers made this discovery after lighting up the brains of mice using a technique called ...

Organoids Produce Embryonic Heart

Bioengineers have used organoids - tiny lab-grown organs - to mimic the early development of the heart in the mouse embryo. The work is another step towards future bioartificial organs for research ...

Gene in Mice Controls Food Cravings, Desire to Exercise

National Institutes of Health researchers have discovered a gene in mice that controls the craving for fatty and sugary foods and the desire to exercise. The gene, Prkar2a, is highly expressed in the ...

Resensitizing 'Last-Resort' Antibiotics for Treatment of Infections

A research team discovers that by repurposing an antirheumatic gold drug, auranofin (AUR), 'last-resort' antibiotics can be resensitized for treatment of infections caused by ...

Western Diet Impairs Odor-Related Learning and Olfactory Memory in Mice

Problems with the sense of smell appear to be an early indicator of cognitive decline in people with type 2 diabetes. However, it's unknown whether factors such as diet and obesity play a role ...

New Synthetic DNA Vaccine Against Powassan Virus

Scientists have designed and tested the first-of-its-kind synthetic DNA vaccine against Powassan virus (POWV), targeting portions of the virus envelope ...

Thursday, December 3, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Sunday, October 11, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020