advertisement
Marine Biology News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Incredible Vision in Ancient Marine Creatures Drove an Evolutionary Arms Race

Ancient deep sea creatures called radiodonts had incredible vision that likely drove an evolutionary arms race according to new ...

Octogenarian Snapper Found Off Australia Becomes Oldest Tropical Reef Fish by Two Decades

An 81-year-old midnight snapper caught off the coast of Western Australia has taken the title of the oldest tropical reef fish recorded anywhere in ...

Even Razor Clams on Sparsely Populated Olympic Coast Can't Escape Plastics

Researchers found microplastics in Pacific razor clams on Washington's sparsely populated Olympic Coast -- proof, they say, that even in more remote regions, coastal organisms can't escape plastic ...

Caribbean Coral Reefs Under Siege from Aggressive Algae

Human activity endangers coral health around the world. A new algal threat is taking advantage of coral's already precarious situation in the Caribbean and making it even harder for reef ecosystems ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:06pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

It's Not Too Late to Save 102 Species at Risk of Extinction

The Fraser River estuary in British Columbia is home to 102 species at risk of extinction. A new study says it's not too late to save these species if action is taken ...

Largest Aggregation of Fishes in Abyssal Deep Sea

The largest aggregation of fishes ever recorded in the abyssal deep sea was discovered by a team of oceanographers during an expedition in the Clarion Clipperton ...

True Origin of Oldest Evidence of Animals

Scientists have resolved a longstanding controversy surrounding the origins of complex life on Earth. The studies found molecular fossils extracted from 635-million-year-old rocks aren't the ...

Scientists Organize to Tackle Crisis of Coral Bleaching

An international consortium of scientists has created the first-ever common framework for increasing comparability of research findings on coral ...

New Report Projects Severe Coral Bleaching Globally in This Century

The United Nations recently released a new report projecting future coral reef bleaching ...

Could Kelp Help Relieve Ocean Acidification?

A new analysis of California's Monterey Bay evaluates kelp's potential to reduce ocean acidification, the harmful fallout from climate change on marine ecosystems and the food they produce ...

New Effective and Safe Antifungal Isolated from Sea Squirt Microbiome

By combing the ocean for antimicrobials, scientists have discovered a new antifungal compound that efficiently targets multi-drug-resistant strains of deadly fungi without toxic side effects in ...

Blue Whales Return to Sub-Antarctic Island of South Georgia After Near Local Extinction

Scientists have revealed the return of critically endangered Antarctic blue whales to the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia, 50 years after whaling all but wiped them out. The new study follows ...

Study Improves Ability to Predict How Whales Travel Through Their Ocean Habitat

Scientists recently published a study that could help researchers learn where protections are needed the most for bowhead ...

Large Predatory Fish Thrive on WWII Shipwrecks Off North Carolina Coast

Results of an expedition to a sunken U-boat and Nicaraguan freighter offer a detailed glimpse into unexpected 'islands of ...

Extremely Rare Parasitic Crustacean Discovered in Museum Shark Collection

Scientists have discovered an extremely rare species of cymothoid from the mouth of a museum specimen of a deep-sea shark caught from the East China Sea, suggesting its wide distribution around the ...

Some Sport Fish Are Caught Repeatedly, Which May Throw Off Population Count

A new study reports that, for several species of oceanic sport fish, individual fish that are caught, released and recaught are more likely to be caught again than scientists anticipated. The ...

Fish Carcasses Deliver Toxic Mercury Pollution to the Deepest Ocean Trenches

The sinking carcasses of fish from near-surface waters deliver toxic mercury pollution to the most remote and inaccessible parts of the world's oceans, including the deepest spot of them all: ...

Paleontologists Uncover Three New Species of Extinct Walruses in Orange County, California

Millions of years ago, in the warm Pacific Ocean off the coast of Southern California, walrus species without tusks lived abundantly. But in a new study, paleontologists have identified three new ...

Applying Environmental Genomics to Coral Conservation

Coral reefs are extremely sensitive to temperature, making them particularly vulnerable to the effects of climate change. But some corals seem able to adapt. Researchers studied a reef in New ...

Late-Season Arctic Research Cruise Reveals Warm Ocean Temperatures, Active Ecosystem

Arctic researchers have been visiting the Bering and Chukchi seas off Alaska for nearly 30 years, collecting information about the biological diversity of the watery world under the sea ice. This ...

New Fossil Seal Species Rewrites History

An international team of biologists has discovered a new species of extinct monk seal from the Southern Hemisphere -- describing it as the biggest breakthrough in seal evolution in 70 ...

Large Volcanic Eruption Caused the Largest Mass Extinction

Researchers say they have found more concrete evidence of the volcanic cause of the largest mass extinction of life. Their research looked at two discrete eruption events: one that was previously ...

New Research Identifies 'Triple Trouble' for Mangrove Coasts

Some of the world's most valuable ecosystems are facing a 'triple threat' to their long-term durability and survival, new research ...

A Better Understanding of Coral Skeleton Growth Suggests Ways to Restore Reefs

Physicists observed reef-forming corals at the nanoscale and identified how they create their skeletons. The results provide an explanation for how corals are resistant to acidifying oceans and ...

Monday, November 30, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Sunday, October 18, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020