advertisement
Marine Biology News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

'Critical' Questions Over Disease Risks from Ocean Plastics

Key knowledge gaps exist in our understanding of how ocean microplastics transport bacteria and viruses -- and whether this affects the health of humans and animals, researchers ...

Strianassa Lerayi Anker, New Shrimp Species from Panama's Coiba National Park

Last year's expedition, part of the project to compare microbiomes of animals in the Pacific and Atlantic oceans, resulted in the discovery of ...

Seafood Study Finds Plastic in All Samples

A study of five different seafoods has found traces of plastic in every sample ...

Long-Term Human Impacts on Reef Fish

In a new study investigating human impacts on resource fish biomass on the Island of Hawai'i, researchers observed an alarming 45% decrease in fish biomass over a decade of surveys. The scientists ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:35pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

How Fish Stocks Will Change in Warming Seas

New research out today highlights the future effects of climate change on important fish stocks for south-west UK ...

First Record of Invasive Shell-Boring Worm in the Wadden Sea Means Trouble for Oyster

n October 2014, the suspicion arose that the parasite worm Polydora websteri had found its way to the Wadden Sea. Researchers now confirm that they have found the shell-borer in oysters near Sylt and ...

Ocean Heatwaves Dramatically Shift Habitats

Marine heatwaves across the world's oceans can displace habitat for sea turtles, whales, and other marine life by 10s to thousands of kilometers. They dramatically shift these animals' ...

Algal Symbiosis Could Shed Light on Dark Ocean

New research has revealed a surprise twist in the symbiotic relationship between a type of salamander and the alga that lives inside its eggs. A new paper reports that the eggs compete with the algae ...

Scientists Discover New Penguin Colonies from Space

A new study using satellite mapping technology reveals there are nearly 20% more emperor penguin colonies in Antarctica than was previously thought. The results provide an important benchmark for ...

Angels in Disguise: Angelfishes Hybridize More Than Any Other Coral Reef Species

A new study highlights the remarkably high incidence of and tendency toward hybridization in the angelfish family (even between divergent species), more so than in any other group of coral reef ...

Dolphin Calf Entangled in Fishing Line Only Lived Two Years Following Rescue

Researchers examined the outcome of an entangled bottlenose dolphin calf with monofilament fishing line wrapped tightly around its upper jaw. It was successfully disentangled and immediately released ...

Strategy for Sustainable Aquaculture, the World's Fastest Growing Food Sector

As the population grows, and the global standard of living improves, humanity's appetite for seafood is increasing. In 2020 seafood consumption reached an all-time high, with an average of 20kg ...

New Studies Show How to Save Parasites and Why It's Important

An international group of scientists have laid out an ambitious global conservation plan for parasites. Another group of researchers found that the responses of parasites to environmental change are ...

Plastics, Pathogens and Baby Formula: What's in Your Shellfish?

The first landmark study using next-generation technology to comprehensively examine contaminants in oysters in Myanmar reveals alarming findings: the widespread presence of human bacterial pathogens ...

Analyzing Marine Ecosystems from 6,000 to 5,000 Years Ago to Anticipate Changes Caused by Global Warming

New research analyzes the potential implications in the distribution of the Argentinian hake caused by the warming of marine waters. The study is based on the analysis of the structure of the marine ...

Coastal Cities Leave Up to 75% of Seafloor Exposed to Harmful Light Pollution

New research is the first in the world to quantify the extent to which biologically important artificial light is prevalent on the seafloor and could, in turn, be having a detrimental effect on ...

Whale Airway Mucus Reveals Likely Poor Health During Migration

Researchers have linked the burden of humpback whales' annual migration to depleted microbial diversity in their airways - an indicator of overall ...

Underwater Robots Reveal Daily Habits of Endangered Whales

Research has revealed the daily habits of the endangered Mediterranean sperm whale. The recordings confirmed the whales' widespread presence in the north-western Mediterranean Sea and identified ...

Eavesdropping on Trout Building Their Nests

Steelhead trout stirring up the sediment of the river bed were detected by seismic sensors. Researchers have used geophones to analyze the trout's nest-building process in ...

Deep Sea Microbes Dormant for 100 Million Years Are Hungry and Ready to Multiply

Researchers reveal that given the right food in the right laboratory conditions, microbes collected from subseafloor sediment as old as 100 million years can revive and multiply, even after laying ...

Massive Seagrass Die-Off Leads to Widespread Erosion in a California Estuary

The large-scale loss of eelgrass in a major California estuary -- Morro Bay -- may be causing widespread erosion. Over the last century, Morro Bay has been building up sediment quickly. After the ...

Young Dolphins Pick Their Friends Wisely

Strategic networking is key to career success, and not just for humans. A study of bottlenose dolphins reveals that in early life, dolphins devote more time to building connections that could give ...

Boats and Ships Leave Baby Reef Fish Vulnerable to Predators

Scientists say the noise from boats and ships slows down the activity of baby fish on coral reefs, which leaves them more vulnerable to their ...

Battling Harmful Algae Blooms

In two recent studies, marine biologists looked at why one species of algae has some strains that can cause fish kills and others that are non-toxic, while examining an algicidal bacterium found in ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Sunday, June 28, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020