advertisement
Mammals News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Jaguars Robust to Climate Extremes but Lack of Food Threatens Species

Researchers lead a world-first investigation into the chances of wild jaguars surviving climate extremes with six scenarios modelling the behavior, mating, births of cubs, competition, illegal ...

How Dolphins Avoid 'the Bends'

New evidence indicates that dolphins are able to consciously slow down their heart rates when preparing to dive, and can even adjust their heart rates according to the length of their intended dive. ...

Effect of Odor on Helpfulness in Rats

Despite their reputation, rats are surprisingly sociable and regularly help each other out. Researchers have shown that a rat just has to smell another rat that is engaged in helpful behavior to ...

Secrets of the 'Lost Crops' Revealed Where Bison Roam

Blame it on the bison. If not for the wooly, boulder-sized beasts that once roamed North America in vast herds, ancient people might have looked past the little barley that grew under those ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:05pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Pets, Touch and COVID-19: Why Our Furry Friends Are Lifesavers

A new study points to the lifesaving role that pets have played in 2020 and why governments need to sit up and take ...

It's Not Too Late to Save 102 Species at Risk of Extinction

The Fraser River estuary in British Columbia is home to 102 species at risk of extinction. A new study says it's not too late to save these species if action is taken ...

Rats Are Capable of Transmitting Hantavirus

Researchers have confirmed Germany's first-ever case of animal-to-human transmission involving a specific species of virus known as the 'Seoul virus'. Researchers were able to confirm ...

New Maps Document Big-Game Migrations Across the Western United States

For the first time, state and federal wildlife biologists have come together to map the migrations of ungulates across America's West. The maps will help land managers and conservationists ...

Wrinkle-Faced Male Bats Lower Face Masks to Copulate

The first behavioral observations of wrinkle-faced bats in their natural habitat reveal that this elusive species uses the rarest form of bat courtship behavior, according to a new ...

How Organ Functions Were Shaped Over the Course of Evolution

A large-scale study conducted by molecular biologists has yielded groundbreaking new insights into the evolution and regulation of gene expression in mammalian organs. The scientists investigated RNA ...

Puzzled Otters Learn from Each Other

Asian short-clawed otters learn from each other when solving puzzles to get food, a new study ...

Swedish, Finnish and Russian Wolves Closely Related

The Scandinavian wolf originally came from Finland and Russia, and unlike many other European wolf populations its genetic constitution is virtually free from dog admixture. In addition, individuals ...

Researchers Develop DNA Approach to Forecast Ecosystem Changes

The rapid, low-cost technique is the first to analyze DNA left behind in animals' feces to map out complex networks of species interactions in a terrestrial system. It could help redefine ...

Female Mongooses Start Battles for Chance to Mate

Female banded mongooses lead their groups into fights then try to mate with enemy males in the chaos of battle, new research ...

Indian Fossils Support New Hypothesis for Origin of Hoofed Mammals

New research describes a fossil family that illuminates the origin of perissodactyls - the group of mammals that includes horses, rhinos, and tapirs. It provides insights on the controversial ...

After Election: Making the Endangered Species Act More Effective

Following the presidential election, a leading group of scientists are making the case that a 'rule reversal' will not be sufficient to allow the Endangered Species Act to do its job. ...

Global-Scale Animal Ecology Reveals Behavioral Changes in Response to Climate Change

Biologists developed a data archive of animal movement studies from across the global Arctic and sub-Arctic and conducted three case studies that revealed surprising patterns and associations between ...

Gene in Mice Controls Food Cravings, Desire to Exercise

National Institutes of Health researchers have discovered a gene in mice that controls the craving for fatty and sugary foods and the desire to exercise. The gene, Prkar2a, is highly expressed in the ...

The First Duckbill Dinosaur Fossil from Africa Hints at How Dinosaurs Once Crossed Oceans

The first fossils of a duckbilled dinosaur have been discovered in Africa, suggesting dinosaurs crossed hundreds of kilometres of open water to get ...

Scientists Find Ebola Virus Antibodies in People Before 2018 DRC Outbreak

Scientists found antibodies to Ebola virus in people up to a year before the 2018 Ebola virus disease outbreak began in the Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo, or DRC. This suggests that either ...

New Species of Ancient Cynodont, 220 Million Years Old, Discovered

Fossilized jaw bone fragments of a rat-like creature found at the Petrified Forest National Park in Arizona last year by a Ph.D. candidate are in fact a newly discovered 220-million-year-old species ...

Lion Genetics Study Uncovers Major Consequences of Habitat Fragmentation

Over the course of only a century, humanity has made an observable impact on the genetic diversity of the lion ...

Bats Can Predict the Future, Researchers Discover

They can't tell fortunes and they're useless with the stock market but bats are quite skilled at predicting one thing: where to find dinner. Bats calculate where their prey is headed by ...

New Study Finds Earliest Evidence for Mammal Social Behavior

A new study by paleontologists indicates that the earliest evidence of mammal social behavior goes back to the Age of Dinosaurs. The multituberculate Filikomys primaevus engaged in ...

Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Saturday, November 7, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020