advertisement
Genetically Modified News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Engineering Speciation Events in Insects May Be Used to Control Harmful Pests

This research provides the foundations for scientists to be able to prevent genetically modified organisms from reproducing with wild organisms. ...

Experimental COVID-19 Vaccine Prevents Severe Disease in Mice

Researchers have created a COVID-19 vaccine candidate from a replicating virus. This experimental vaccine has proven effective at preventing pneumonia in ...

Two Paths of Aging: New Insights on Promoting Healthspan

Scientists have unraveled key mechanisms behind the mysteries of aging. They isolated two distinct paths that cells travel during aging and engineered a new way to genetically program these processes ...

New Candidate for Raw Material Synthesis Through Gene Transfer

Cyanobacteria hardly need any nutrients and use the energy of sunlight. Bathers are familiar with these microorganisms as they often occur in waters. A group of researchers has discovered that the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:05pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Mouse Model of Tau Propagation

Accumulation of assembled tau protein in the central nervous system is characteristic of Alzheimer's disease and several other neurodegenerative diseases, called tauopathies. Researchers have ...

Effective Cancer Immunotherapy Further Linked to Regulating a Cell 'Suicide' Gene

Researchers have added to evidence that a gene responsible for turning off a cell's natural 'suicide' signals may also be the culprit in making breast cancer and melanoma cells ...

Unraveling the Mystery of Wheat Herbicide Tolerance

In a new study, scientists take advantage of wheat's flexible genetic makeup to identify chromosomal regions that help detoxify synthetic auxin ...

COVID-19 Mouse Model Will Speed Search for Drugs, Vaccines

Researchers have developed a mouse model of COVID-19 that is expected to speed up the search for drugs and vaccines for the potentially deadly ...

Scientists Engineer Human Cells With Squid-Like Transparency

Scientists described how they drew inspiration from cephalopod skin to endow mammalian cells with tunable transparency and light-scattering ...

Mouse Model Mimics SARS-CoV-2 Infection in Humans

A mouse model of infection with severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) reproduces features observed in human patients, researchers ...

Exchange of Arms Between Chromosomes Using Molecular Scissors

The CRISPR/Cas molecular scissors work like a fine surgical instrument and can be used to modify genetic information in plants. Research teams have now not only exchanged single genes, but recombined ...

The Ins and Outs of Sex Change in Medaka Fish

Scientists could gain insight into atypical sex development in vertebrates, including humans, by studying how nutrition affects sex changes in fish ...

Rapid Screening Method Targets Fatty Acids in Yeast; Key to Sustainable Bioproducts

Scientists engineering valuable microbes for renewable fuels and bioproducts have developed an efficient way to identify the most promising varieties. Researchers have developed a high-throughput ...

A 'Consciousness Conductor' Synchronizes and Connects Mouse Brain Areas

New research shows that slow-wave brain activity, a characteristic of sleep and resting states, is controlled by the claustrum. The synchronization of silent and active states across large parts of ...

The EU Not Ready for the Release of Gene Drive Organisms Into the Environment

Gene drive organisms (GDOs) have been suggested as an approach to solve some of the most pressing environmental and public health issues. Currently, it remains unclear what kind of regulations are to ...

SMART Researchers Uncover New Anti-Phage Defence Mechanisms in Bacteria

Researchers have discovered a previously unknown anti-phage defense mechanism in some bacteria that uses unique new ways to protect itself against phages. The discovery explains why some bacteria are ...

Plants Pass on 'Memory' of Stress to Some Progeny, Making Them More Resilient

By manipulating the expression of one gene, geneticists can induce a form of 'stress memory' in plants that is inherited by some progeny, giving them the potential for more vigorous, hardy ...

Rapid Evolution in Fish: Genomic Changes Within a Generation

Researchers have identified the genetic basis of rapid adaptation using a native fish species. They compared threespine stickleback fish from different habitats in the Lake Constance region. Their ...

Researchers Are Making Recombinant-Protein Drugs Cheaper

The mammalian cell lines that are engineered to produce high-value recombinant-protein drugs also produce unwanted proteins that push up the overall cost to manufacture these drugs. These same ...

Gene-Editing Protocol for Whitefly Pest Opens Door to Control

Whiteflies are among the most important agricultural pests in the world, yet they have been difficult to genetically manipulate and control, in part, because of their small size. An international ...

Ocean Microbes' Role in Climate Effects

A new study shows that 'hotspots' of nutrients surrounding phytoplankton -- which are tiny marine algae producing approximately half of the oxygen we breathe every day -- play an outsized ...

Specialized Nerve Cells Increase the Appetite for High-Fat Foods

Fat activates nociceptin neurons in the hypothalamus of ...

Genetic Variation Not an Obstacle to Gene Drive Strategy to Control Mosquitoes

New research from entomologists clears a potential obstacle to using CRISPR-Cas9 'gene drive' technology to control mosquito-borne diseases such as malaria, dengue fever, yellow fever and ...

New Universal Ebola Vaccine May Fight All Four Virus Species That Infect Humans

Infectious disease scientists report early development of a potential universal vaccine for Ebola viruses that preclinical tests show might neutralize all four species of these deadly viruses ...

Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 30, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019