advertisement
Genetically Modified News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

New Candidate for Raw Material Synthesis Through Gene Transfer

Cyanobacteria hardly need any nutrients and use the energy of sunlight. Bathers are familiar with these microorganisms as they often occur in waters. A group of researchers has discovered that the ...

COVID-19 Mouse Model Will Speed Search for Drugs, Vaccines

Researchers have developed a mouse model of COVID-19 that is expected to speed up the search for drugs and vaccines for the potentially deadly ...
Scientists described how they drew inspiration from cephalopod skin to endow mammalian cells with tunable transparency and ...

Mouse Model Mimics SARS-CoV-2 Infection in Humans

A mouse model of infection with severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) reproduces features observed in human patients, researchers ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:22pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Unraveling the Mystery of Wheat Herbicide Tolerance

In a new study, scientists take advantage of wheat's flexible genetic makeup to identify chromosomal regions that help detoxify synthetic auxin ...

Rapid Screening Method Targets Fatty Acids in Yeast; Key to Sustainable Bioproducts

Scientists engineering valuable microbes for renewable fuels and bioproducts have developed an efficient way to identify the most promising varieties. Researchers have developed a high-throughput ...

A 'Consciousness Conductor' Synchronizes and Connects Mouse Brain Areas

New research shows that slow-wave brain activity, a characteristic of sleep and resting states, is controlled by the claustrum. The synchronization of silent and active states across large parts of ...

Researchers Are Making Recombinant-Protein Drugs Cheaper

The mammalian cell lines that are engineered to produce high-value recombinant-protein drugs also produce unwanted proteins that push up the overall cost to manufacture these drugs. These same ...

Ocean Microbes' Role in Climate Effects

A new study shows that 'hotspots' of nutrients surrounding phytoplankton -- which are tiny marine algae producing approximately half of the oxygen we breathe every day -- play an outsized ...

Specialized Nerve Cells Increase the Appetite for High-Fat Foods

Fat activates nociceptin neurons in the hypothalamus of ...

Genetic Variation Not an Obstacle to Gene Drive Strategy to Control Mosquitoes

New research from entomologists clears a potential obstacle to using CRISPR-Cas9 'gene drive' technology to control mosquito-borne diseases such as malaria, dengue fever, yellow fever and ...

New Universal Ebola Vaccine May Fight All Four Virus Species That Infect Humans

Infectious disease scientists report early development of a potential universal vaccine for Ebola viruses that preclinical tests show might neutralize all four species of these deadly viruses ...

Moving Closer to Producing Heparin in the Lab

Researchers moved one step closer to the ability to make heparin in cultured cells. Heparin is a potent anti-coagulant and the most prescribed drug in hospitals, yet cell-culture-based production of ...

A Model for Better Predicting the Unpredictable Byproducts of Genetic Modification

Researchers are interested in genetically modifying trees for a variety of applications, from biofuels to paper production. They also want to steer clear of modifications with unintended ...

Identical Mice, Different Gut Bacteria, Different Levels of Cancer

Some types of gut bacteria are better than others at stimulating certain immune cells, specifically CD8+ T cells. And while these CD8+ T cells normally help protect the body against cancer, ...

It's Now or Never: Visual Events Have 100 Milliseconds to Hit Brain Target or Go Unnoticed

Researchers have defined a crucial window of time that mice need to key in on visual ...

Engineered Virus Might Be Able to Block Coronavirus Infections, Mouse Study Shows

No vaccines exist that protect people against infections by coronaviruses, including SARS-CoV-2, which causes COVID-19, or the ones that cause SARS and MERS. As COVID-19 continues to wreak havoc, ...

'Living Drug Factories' Might Treat Diabetes and Other Diseases

Chemical engineers have developed a way to protect transplanted drug-producing cells from immune system ...

Scientists Program Cells to Carry out Gene-Guided Construction Projects

Researchers developed a technique called genetically targeted chemical assembly, or GTCA, which they used to assemble electronically active biopolymer meshes on mammalian brain cells and on neurons ...

Loss of Protein Disturbs Intestinal Homeostasis and Can Drive Cancer

An international team of researchers has identified a novel function for the cell death regulating protein MCL1: It is essential in protecting the intestine against cancer development -- independent ...

Long-Term Analysis Shows GM Cotton No Match for Insects in India

In India, Bt cotton is the most widely planted cotton crop by acreage, and it is hugely controversial. Supporters long touted increased yields and reduced pesticides to justify its pickup. But that ...

Statins Starve Cancer Cells to Death

More than 35 million Americans take statin drugs daily to lower their blood cholesterol levels. Now, in experiments with human cells in the laboratory, researchers have added to growing evidence that ...

City Fox and Country Fox

Researchers analyzed genetic material of red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) inhabiting Berlin and its surroundings. They identified two genetically distinct, adjacent 'urban' and 'rural' ...

Genome Editing Strategy Could Improve Rice, Other Crops

Scientists have used CRISPR technology to genetically engineer rice with high levels of beta-carotene, the precursor of vitamin A. The technique they used provides a promising strategy for ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 30, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019