advertisement
Evolutionary Biology News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Incredible Vision in Ancient Marine Creatures Drove an Evolutionary Arms Race

Ancient deep sea creatures called radiodonts had incredible vision that likely drove an evolutionary arms race according to new ...

Tweaking Carotenoid Genes Helps Tomatoes Bring Their A-Game

Researchers led by the University of Tsukuba demonstrated that Target-AID gene editing technology can be used to simultaneously introduce single-base changes into multiple genes in tomatoes. Using ...

New Method Identifies Adaptive Mutations in Complex Evolving Populations

A scientist has developed a method to study how HIV mutates to escape the immune system in multiple individuals, which could inform HIV vaccine ...

Genes Unlock Clues to the Evolution and Survival of the Great Barrier Reef

Innovative molecular techniques explain how corals on the east coast of Australia survived previous tough conditions--enabling the Great Barrier Reef to become the vast reef it is today. Scientists ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:36pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Identical Evolution of Isolated Organisms

Palaeontologists have provided new proof of parallel evolution: conodonts, early vertebrates from the Permian period, adapted to new habitats in almost identical ways despite living in different ...

Plant Evolves to Stay Hidden from Harvesting Humans

A plant used in traditional Chinese medicine has evolved to become less visible to humans, new research ...

Solving a Mystery: How the TB Bacterium Develops Rapid Resistance to Antibiotics

These slow growing bacteria have long puzzled TB researchers with their fairly rapid resistance to antibiotics. Researchers may have been barking up the wrong tree in exploring genetics, because the ...

Cichlid Fishes from African Lake Tanganyika Shed Light on How Organismal Diversity Arises

Lake Tanganyika in Africa is a true hotspot of organismal diversity. Approximately 240 species of cichlid fishes have evolved in this lake in less than 10 million years. A research team has ...

Lurking in Genomic Shadows: How Giant Viruses Fuel the Evolution of Algae

Biologists have recently discovered that endogenous viral elements that originate from giant viruses are much more common in chlorophyte green algae than previously ...

Gut Microbiome Manipulation Could Result from Virus Discovery

Scientists have discovered how a common virus in the human gut infects and takes over bacterial cells -- a finding that could be used to control the composition of the gut microbiome, which is ...

The Bull Y Chromosome Has Evolved to Bully Its Way Into Gametes

Scientists present the first ever full, high-resolution sequence of the Y chromosome of a Hereford bull. The research, more than a decade in the making, suggests that bulls' Y chromosomes have ...

New Analysis Refutes Claim That Dinosaurs Were in Decline Before Asteroid Hit

New research suggests that dinosaurs were not in decline before the asteroid hit. The study contradicts previous theories and concludes that had the impact not occurred dinosaurs might have continued ...

In the Amazon's 'Sand Forests,' Birds Play by Different Evolutionary Rules

The Amazon isn't just rainforest -- patches of habitat grow on white sands. Scientists are starting to turn their attention to these 'sand forests' and the animals that live there. In ...

A Hox Paradigm for Studying Protein Evolution

In a new study, researchers have identified a handful of variations in an amino acid sequence critical for retaining the ancestral function of a gene over the course of 600 million years of ...

Study Highlights Sex-Specific Variability in Mouse Features

Scientists have shown that sex-specific differences in variability depend on individual physical and physiological features in mice, debunking competing theories that either males or females are more ...

Paleontologists Uncover Three New Species of Extinct Walruses in Orange County, California

Millions of years ago, in the warm Pacific Ocean off the coast of Southern California, walrus species without tusks lived abundantly. But in a new study, paleontologists have identified three new ...

Genetic Code Evolution and Darwin's Evolution Theory Should Consider DNA an 'Energy Code'

Darwin's theory of evolution should be expanded to include consideration of a DNA stability 'energy code' -- so-called 'molecular Darwinism' -- to further account for the ...

The Popovich of Floral Nectar Spurs

Scientists identify the gene critical to controlling the development of these spurs in the common columbine, or Aquilegia. They found it acts as a master regulator that appears to control the ...

Cysteine Synthesis Was a Key Step in the Origin of Life

All proteins are built from the same 20 amino acids. One of these, cysteine, was assumed not to have been present at the origin of life. In a new study, scientists have recreated how cysteine was ...

How Organ Functions Were Shaped Over the Course of Evolution

A large-scale study conducted by molecular biologists has yielded groundbreaking new insights into the evolution and regulation of gene expression in mammalian organs. The scientists investigated RNA ...

Climate-Adapted Plant Breeding

Securing plant production is a global task. Using a combination of new molecular and statistical methods, a research team was able to show that material from gene banks can be used to improve traits ...

Scientists Release Genomes of Birds Representing Nearly All Avian Families

Scientists report on the genomes of 363 species of birds, including 267 that have been sequenced for the first time. The studied species represent more than 92 percent of the world's avian ...

New Genome Alignment Tool Empowers Large-Scale Studies of Vertebrate Evolution

Three new articles present major advances in understanding the evolution of birds and mammals, made possible by new methods for comparing the genomes of hundreds of species. Researchers developed a ...

Largest Set of Mammalian Genomes Reveals Species at Risk of Extinction

Researchers have released the whole genomes of more than 80 percent of all mammalian families, spanning almost 110 million years of evolution. The dataset includes genomes from more than 120 species ...

Monday, November 23, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Saturday, November 7, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020