advertisement
Endangered Animals News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Whale Airway Mucus Reveals Likely Poor Health During Migration

Researchers have linked the burden of humpback whales' annual migration to depleted microbial diversity in their airways - an indicator of overall ...

Underwater Robots Reveal Daily Habits of Endangered Whales

Research has revealed the daily habits of the endangered Mediterranean sperm whale. The recordings confirmed the whales' widespread presence in the north-western Mediterranean Sea and identified a ...

Big Brains and Dexterous Hands

Primates with large brains can master more complex hand movements than those with smaller brains. However, fine motor skills such as using tools can take time to learn, and humans take the longest of ...

New Native Hawaiian Land Snail Species Discovered, First in 60 Years

Auriculella gagneorum, a small candy-striped snail from Oahu's Waianae Mountains, represents the first new species of a living Hawaiian land snail described in 60 ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:05pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Glacial Stream Insect May Tolerate Warmer Waters

An endangered aquatic insect that lives in icy streams fed by glaciers might not mind if the water grows warmer due to climate. A new study found that mountain stoneflies can tolerate warmer water ...

African Vulture Poisoning Has Global Disease and Biodiversity Implications

Researchers have produced recommendations for vulture poisoning control in Southern Africa. Vultures act as nature's most critical scavengers, working as ecosystem garbage disposals and ...

Study Reveals Scale of Habitat Loss for Endangered Birds

A new study warns that the last remaining habitat for several endangered bird species in Europe could reduce by up to 50 per cent in the next century as farmers convert land to more profitable crops ...

15-Foot-Long Skeleton of Extinct Dolphin Suggests Parallel Evolution Among Whales

A report offers a detailed description of the first nearly complete skeleton of an extinct large dolphin, discovered in what is now South Carolina. The 15-foot-long dolphin (Ankylorhiza tiedemani ...

Daytime Aardvark Sightings Are a Sign of Troubled Times

New research reveals what a shift from night-time to daytime activity means for the well-being of aardvarks in a warming and drying ...

Making a List of All Creatures, Great and Small

A new article outlines a roadmap for creating, for the first time, an agreed list of all the world's species, from mammals and birds to plants, fungi and ...

Why It's No Last Orders for the Tequila Bat

Scientists studying the 'near threatened' tequila bat, best known for its role in pollinating the Blue Agave plant from which the drink of the same name is made from, have analyzed its DNA ...

Native Bees' Exotic Origins Reveal Cross-Pollination

Ancestors of a distinctive pollinating bee found across Australia probably originated in tropical Asian countries, islands in the south-west Pacific or greater Oceania region, ecology researchers ...

Researchers Look for Answers as to Why Western Bumblebees Are Declining

The decline of the Western bumblebee is likely not limited to one culprit but, instead, due to several factors that interact such as pesticides, pathogens, climate change and habitat ...

International Team of Scientists Warns of Increasing Threats Posed by Invasive Species

A new study describes the proliferation of alien invasive species and the dangers they ...

Jellyfish Contain No Calories, So Why Do They Still Attract Predators?

New study shows that jellyfish are an important food source for many animals. As jellyfish blooms become more frequent and more massive, this could affect marine ...

Agricultural Conservation Schemes Not Enough to Protect Britain's Rarest Butterflies

Conservation management around the margins of agriculture fail to protect butterfly species at greatest risk from the intensification of farming, a new study ...

Airborne Mapping Sheds Light on Climate Sensitivity of California Redwoods

To better understand redwood habitat suitability, a team of researchers combined high-resolution redwood distribution maps with data on moisture availability to identify the environmental factors ...

COVID-19 Lockdown Reveals Human Impact on Wildlife

An international team of scientists is investigating how animals are responding to reduced levels of human activity during the Covid-19 ...

Protecting Natural Forest in Oil Palm Plantations Crucial for Conservation

A study has found that patches of protected forest on oil palm plantations play an important role in helping to conserve endangered species including hornbill birds and dipterocarp ...

Forest Loss Escalates Biodiversity Change

New international research reveals the far-reaching impacts of forest cover loss on global ...

New Argentine Fossils Uncover History of Celebrated Conifer Group

Newly unearthed, surprisingly well-preserved conifer fossils from Patagonia, Argentina, show that an endangered and celebrated group of tropical West Pacific trees has roots in the ancient ...

Goodbye 'Extinction,' Hello 'Evanescence'? Validating a New Paradigm

Naturalist and zoologist Georges Cuvier established extinction as a distinct field of science in a series of publications beginning in 1799. He confirmed that fossil species were formerly living ...

Catastrophic Disease Events in Marine Mammals Mostly Caused by Viruses

Viruses were responsible for 72 percent of these events and caused 20 times the number of deaths than bacterial ...

Antarctic Sea Ice Loss Explained in New Study

Scientists have discovered that the summer sea ice in the Weddell Sea sector of Antarctica has decreased by one million square kilometers -- an area twice the size of Spain -- in the last five years, ...

Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020