advertisement
Cats News
September 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Feeding Indoor Cats Just Once a Day Could Improve Health

New research has found that feeding cats one large meal a day may help control hunger better than feeding them several times a ...

Wild Birds as Offerings to the Egyptian Gods

Millions of mummified ibis and birds of prey, sacrificed to the Egyptian gods Horus, Ra or Thoth, have been discovered in the necropolises of the Nile Valley. Such a quantity of mummified birds ...

New Theory Predicts Movement of Different Animals Using Sensing to Search

A research team has developed a new theory that can predict the movement of an animal's sensory organs -- such as eyes, ears and nose -- while searching for something vital to its ...

DNA Unlocks a New Understanding of Coral

A new study challenges more than 200 years of coral classification. Researchers say the 'traditional' method does not accurately capture the differences between species or their evolutionary ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:05pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Bizarre Saber-Tooth Predator from South America Was No Saber-Tooth Cat

A new study has shown that not all saber-tooths were fearsome ...

African Lion Counts Miss the Mark, but New Method Shows Promise

The current technique used for counting lion populations for research and conservation efforts doesn't add up, according to a researcher. He has been investigating new methods of photographing ...

How Toxoplasma Parasites Glide So Swiftly

If you're a cat owner, you might have heard of Toxoplasma gondii, a protozoan that sometimes infects humans through contact with contaminated feces in litter boxes. Although harmless to most ...

On the Hunt for Megafauna in North America

Research has found that pre-historic climate change does not explain the extinction of megafauna in North America at the end of the last Ice ...

Why Cats Have More Lives Than Dogs When It Comes to Snakebite

Cats are twice as likely to survive a venomous snakebite than dogs, and the reasons behind this strange phenomenon have just been revealed. The research team compared the effects of snake venoms on ...

Pine Martens Like to Have Neighbors -- But Not Too Near

Pine martens need neighbors but like to keep their distance, according to new ...

Study Confirms Cats Can Become Infected With and May Transmit COVID-19 to Other Cats

Scientists report that in the laboratory, cats can readily become infected with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, and may be able to pass the virus to other ...

How a Mint Became Catnip

Catmint -- or catnip -- is well-known for its intoxicating effect on cats. The odor responsible for the cats' strange behavior is nepetalactone, a volatile iridoid. Researchers have now found ...

Coronavirus Structure Clue to High Infection Rate

Researchers studying the structure of the virus that causes COVID-19 have found a unique feature that could explain why it is so transmissible between ...

Thousands of Miles of Planned Asian Roads Threaten the Heart of Tiger Habitat

Nearly 15,000 miles of new Asian roads will be built in tiger habitat by mid-century, deepening the big cat's extinction risk and highlighting the need for bold new conservation measures now, ...

Stress in Parents of Children With Autism: Pets May Help

While current events have increased stress for all families, parents of children with autism report higher levels of stress on average than parents of typically developing kids. Feeling overwhelmed ...

Conservation Research on Lynx

Scientists have discovered that selected anti-oxidative enzymes, especially the enzyme superoxide dismutase (SOD2), may play an important role to maintain the unusual longevity of the corpus luteum ...

Questionnaire Survey Identifies Potential Separation-Related Problems in Cats

The first questionnaire survey to identify possible separation-related problems in cats found 13.5 percent of all sampled cats displayed potential issues during their owner's absence, according ...

Canada Lynx Disappearing from Washington State

Canada lynx are losing ground in Washington state, even as federal officials are taking steps to remove the species' threatened status under the Endangered Species Act. A massive monitoring ...

Scientists Show How Parasitic Infection Causes Seizures, Psychiatric Illness for Some

Neuroscientists describe how the common Toxoplasma gondii parasite prompts the loss of inhibitory signaling in the brain by altering the behavior of nearby cells called ...

Preservation of Testicular Cells to Save Endangered Feline Species

A research team has developed a method to isolate and cryopreserve testicular cells. This will allow the safekeeping and biobanking of gametes and other cells of the male reproductive tract of ...

Where Lions Roam: West African Big Cats Show No Preference Between National Parks, Hunting Zones

West African lions are a critically endangered subpopulation, with an estimated 400 remaining and strong evidence of ongoing ...

Sea Otters, Opossums and the Surprising Ways Pathogens Move from Land to Sea

A parasite known only to be hosted in North America by the Virginia opossum is infecting sea otters along the West Coast. A new study elucidates the sometimes surprising and complex pathways ...

'Fatal Attraction': Small Carnivores Drawn to Kill Sites, Then Ambushed by Larger Kin

Researchers have discovered that large predators play a key yet unexpected role in keeping smaller predators and deer in check. Their 'fatal attraction' theory finds that smaller predators ...

Unraveling the Puzzle of Madagascar's Forest Cats

Biologists have long wondered where Madagascar's mysterious wild cats came from. Now, new genetic evidence delivers an ...

Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018