advertisement
Botany News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Plant-Based 'Meats' Improve Some Cardiovascular Risk Factors Compared With Red Meat

Swapping out red meat for certain plant-based meat alternatives can improve some cardiovascular risk factors, according to a new ...

Gluten in Wheat: What Has Changed During 120 Years of Breeding?

In recent years, the number of people affected by celiac disease, wheat allergy or gluten or wheat sensitivity has risen sharply. But why is this the case? Could it be that modern wheat varieties ...
Plants are factories that manufacture yield from light and carbon dioxide -- but parts of this complex process, called photosynthesis, are hindered by a lack of raw materials ...

Small Trees Offer Hope for Rainforests

Small trees that grow up in drought conditions could form the basis of more drought-resistant rainforests, new research ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:36pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Agtech to the Rescue in a Pandemic: Adapting Plant Labs for Human Testing

Sophisticated agtech labs and equipment used for crop and animal breeding, seed testing, and monitoring of plant and animal diseases could easily be adapted for diagnostic testing and tracing in a ...

An Ancient Association? Crickets Disperse Seeds of Early-Diverging Orchid Apostasia Nipponica

A professor presents evidence of the apparently unusual seed dispersal system by crickets and camel crickets in Apostasia nipponica (Apostasioideae), acknowledged as an early-diverging lineage of ...

Fragmented Forests: Tree Cover, Urban Sprawl Both Increased in Southeast Michigan Over the Past 30 Years

The extent of Southeast Michigan's tree canopy and its urban sprawl both increased between 1985 and 2015, according to a new study that used aerial photos and satellite images to map individual ...

How Maths Modelling Helps Efforts to Eradicate Banana Bunchy Top Virus

Modelling the predicted movements of pervasive sap-sucking tiny insects before they infest banana crops has the potential to become a key tactic in the fight against a devastating virus, according to ...

Decline in Plant Breeding Programs Could Impact Food Security

A team of scientists led by a horticulture professor who leads a pome fruit (apples and pears) breeding program, found that public plant breeding programs are seeing decreases in funding and ...

New Guinea Has the World's Richest Island Flora

New Guinea is the most floristically diverse island in the world, an international collaboration has shown. The study presents a list of almost 14,000 plant species, compiled from online catalogues ...

Algal Symbiosis Could Shed Light on Dark Ocean

New research has revealed a surprise twist in the symbiotic relationship between a type of salamander and the alga that lives inside its eggs. A new paper reports that the eggs compete with the algae ...

Study Clarifies Kinship of Important Plant Group

Asterids comprise around 100,000 flowering plants, from heather to tomatoes. Up to now, their family relationships had not yet been fully clarified. A new study has now somewhat closed this knowledge ...

Scientists Find How Clock Gene Wakes Up Green Algae

Researchers have found the mechanism of the night-to-day transition of the circadian rhythm in green algae. The findings could be applied to green algae to produce larger amounts of lipids, which are ...

Studies Shed New Light on How Biodiversity Influences Plant Decay

Scientists have provided new insights on the relationship between plant diversity in forests and the diversity of organisms involved in their decay, such as bacteria and ...

Ancient Mountain Formation and Monsoons Helped Create a Modern Biodiversity Hotspot

Researchers examined the plant life in the China's Hengduan Mountains, the Himalaya Mountains, and the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau. Using DNA to build family trees of species, they learned that the ...

New and Unique Class of Carbohydrate Receptors

Researchers have determineD the crystal structure of an exopolysaccharide receptor. The results give insight into how plants and microbes communicate, and this knowledge can hopefully be used for ...

Report Provides New Framework for Understanding Climate Risks, Impacts to US Agriculture

A new report focuses on how agricultural systems are impacted by climate change and offers a list of 20 indicators that provide a broad look at what's happening across the ...

Bees' Buzz Is More Powerful for Pollination, Than for Defense or Flight

Buzzing by bees during flower pollination is significantly more powerful than that used for defense or flight, according to a new ...

Scientists Unlock Genetic Secrets of Wine Growers' Worst Enemy

Following a decade-long effort, scientists have mapped out the genome of an aphid-like pest capable of decimating vineyards. In so doing, they have discovered how it spreads -- and potentially how to ...

The Amazing Travels of Small RNAs

Biologists have known for some time that RNA interference can silence genes in far-off cells. They suspected that a messenger substance 'transmits' RNA interference. Now, researchers have ...

Rising Temps Put Desert Shrubs in High-Efficiency Mode

Research shows that one shrub, the brittlebush, is adapting, and showing a remarkable ability to respond to increased temperature and ...

Despite Debate, Even the World's Oldest Trees Are Not Immortal

The oldest trees on Earth have stood for nearly five millennia, and researchers have long wondered to what extent these ancient organisms undergo senescence, physically deteriorating as they age. ...

Plant-Based Diets Shown to Lower Blood Pressure Even With Limited Meat and Dairy

Consuming a plant-based diet can lower blood pressure even if small amounts of meat and dairy are consumed too, according to new ...

Bee Disease Spreading Via Flowers

One in 11 flowers carries disease-causing parasites known to contribute to bee declines, according to a new study that identifies how flowers act as hubs for transmitting diseases to bees and other ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020