advertisement
Biotechnology and Bioengineering News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Engineering Speciation Events in Insects May Be Used to Control Harmful Pests

This research provides the foundations for scientists to be able to prevent genetically modified organisms from reproducing with wild organisms. ...

Inheritance in Plants Can Now Be Controlled Specifically

A new application of the CRISPR/Cas molecular scissors promises progress in crop cultivation. Researchers have succeeded in modifying the sequence of genes on a chromosome using CRISPR/Cas. For the ...

Antagonistic Genes Modify Rice Plant Growth

Rice stems lengthen when a newly identified gene activates during flooding. Another gene suppresses lengthening in shorter varieties. The insight could help plant ...

Experimental COVID-19 Vaccine Prevents Severe Disease in Mice

Researchers have created a COVID-19 vaccine candidate from a replicating virus. This experimental vaccine has proven effective at preventing pneumonia in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:05pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Scientists Aim Gene-Targeting Breakthrough Against COVID-19

Scientists at Berkeley Lab's Molecular Foundry have joined forces with a research team at Stanford to aim a gene-targeting, antiviral agent called PAC-MAN against ...

Exchange of Arms Between Chromosomes Using Molecular Scissors

The CRISPR/Cas molecular scissors work like a fine surgical instrument and can be used to modify genetic information in plants. Research teams have now not only exchanged single genes, but recombined ...

The EU Not Ready for the Release of Gene Drive Organisms Into the Environment

Gene drive organisms (GDOs) have been suggested as an approach to solve some of the most pressing environmental and public health issues. Currently, it remains unclear what kind of regulations are to ...

Engineers Develop Precision Injection System for Plants

A new method developed by engineers may offer a starting point for delivering life-saving treatments to plants ravaged by ...

Gene-Editing Protocol for Whitefly Pest Opens Door to Control

Whiteflies are among the most important agricultural pests in the world, yet they have been difficult to genetically manipulate and control, in part, because of their small size. An international ...

Diabetes Reversed in Mice With Genetically Edited Stem Cells Derived from Patients

Researchers have used induced pluripotent stem cells produced from the skin of a patient with a rare, genetic form of insulin-dependent diabetes, transformed the stem cells into insulin-producing ...

Scientists Provide New Insight on How Bacteria Share Drug Resistance Genes

Researchers have been able to identify and track the exchange of genes among bacteria that allow them to become resistant to drugs, according to a new ...

Super-Charging Drug Development for COVID-19

Researchers are using cell-free manufacturing to ramp up production of valinomycin, a promising drug that has proven effective in obliterating SARS-CoV in cellular ...

Moving Closer to Producing Heparin in the Lab

Researchers moved one step closer to the ability to make heparin in cultured cells. Heparin is a potent anti-coagulant and the most prescribed drug in hospitals, yet cell-culture-based production of ...

Insect Wings Hold Antimicrobial Clues for Improved Medical Implants

Some insect wings such as cicada and dragonfly possess nanopillar structures that kill bacteria upon contact. However, to date, the precise mechanisms that cause bacterial death have been unknown. ...

Turning Cells Into Computers With Protein Logic Gates

New artificial proteins have been created to function as molecular logic gates. Like their electronic counterparts in computers, these biochemical tools can be used to program the behavior of complex ...

A Genetic Nano-Toolkit for the Generation of New Biomaterials

Magnetic bacteria might soon be used for the production of novel biomaterials. A team of microbiologists developed a modular system for the genetic reprogramming of bacteria, thereby turning the ...

New Viable CRISPR-Cas12b System for Plant Genome Engineering

A new CRISPR genome engineering system is viable in plants: CRISPR-Cas12b. The system is versatile, customizable, and ultimately provides effective gene editing, activation, and repression all in one ...

Genome Editing Strategy Could Improve Rice, Other Crops

Scientists have used CRISPR technology to genetically engineer rice with high levels of beta-carotene, the precursor of vitamin A. The technique they used provides a promising strategy for ...

Synthetic Biologists Redesign the Way Bacteria 'Talk' to Each Other

Bioengineers have redesigned how harmless E. coli bacteria ''talk'' to each other. The new genetic circuit could become a useful new tool for synthetic biologists who, as a field, ...

Improved CRISPR Gene Drive Solves Problems of Old Tech

Gene drives use genetic engineering to create a desired mutation in a few individuals that then spreads via mating throughout a population in fewer than 10 ...

CRISPR-HOT: A New Tool to 'Color' Specific Genes and Cells

Researchers have developed a new genetic tool to label specific genes in human organoids, or mini organs. They used this new method, called CRISPR-HOT, to investigate how hepatocytes divide and how ...

Computer-Generated Genomes

Chemists have described how computational algorithms paired with chemical DNA synthesis enable digital manufacturing of biological systems up to the size of entire microbial genomes. They have made ...

Computer Simulations Visualize How DNA Converts Cells Into Stem Cells

Researchers have revealed how an essential protein helps to activate genomic DNA during the conversion of regular adult human cells into stem ...

Efficient Cryopreservation of Genetically Modified Rat Spermatozoa

Researchers have developed a new technique to improve the efficiency of rat sperm cryopreservation, a process that is usually extremely difficult. Their technique makes it possible to produce more ...

Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018