advertisement
Agriculture and Food News
August 7, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Herbicide Harming Marsupial Health and Development, Research Finds

Researchers exposed the adult female tammar wallabies to atrazine contaminated water throughout pregnancy, birth and lactation to help establish the extent of harm being caused by the chemical. They ...

Land Use Changes May Increase Disease Outbreak Risks

Global changes in land use are disrupting the balance of wild animal communities in our environment, and species that carry diseases known to infect humans appear to be benefiting, finds a new ...

An Easier Way to Go Veggie: Vitamin B12 Can Be Produced During Dough Fermentation

Grain-based materials fermented with Propionibacterium freudenreichii have enough vitamin B12 to be nutritionally significant. With the help of ...

Decline of Bees, Other Pollinators Threatens US Crop Yields

Crop yields for apples, cherries and blueberries across the United States are being reduced by a lack of pollinators, according to new research, the most comprehensive study of its kind to date. Most ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:34am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

First Record of Invasive Shell-Boring Worm in the Wadden Sea Means Trouble for Oyster

n October 2014, the suspicion arose that the parasite worm Polydora websteri had found its way to the Wadden Sea. Researchers now confirm that they have found the shell-borer in oysters near Sylt and ...

Strategy for Sustainable Aquaculture, the World's Fastest Growing Food Sector

As the population grows, and the global standard of living improves, humanity's appetite for seafood is increasing. In 2020 seafood consumption reached an all-time high, with an average of 20kg ...

Research Could Save Years of Breeding for New Miscanthus Hybrids

As climate change becomes increasingly difficult to ignore, scientists are working to diversify and improve alternatives to fossil-fuel-based energy. Renewable bioenergy crops, such as the perennial ...

Combating a Pandemic Is 500 Times More Expensive Than Preventing One, Research Suggests

The failure to protect tropical rain forests has cost trillions of dollars stemming from the coronavirus pandemic, which has wreaked economic havoc and caused historic levels of unemployment in the ...

Pesticides Can Protect Crops from Hydrophobic Pollutants

Researchers have revealed that commercial pesticides can be applied to crops in the Cucurbitaceae family to decrease their accumulation of hydrophobic pollutants, thereby improving crop safety. The ...

Plant-Based Diets Shown to Lower Blood Pressure Even With Limited Meat and Dairy

Consuming a plant-based diet can lower blood pressure even if small amounts of meat and dairy are consumed too, according to new ...

Livestock Expansion Is a Factor in Global Pandemics

A new study looks at the growth of global livestock farming and the threat to biodiversity, and the health risks to both humans and domesticated ...

Bee Disease Spreading Via Flowers

One in 11 flowers carries disease-causing parasites known to contribute to bee declines, according to a new study that identifies how flowers act as hubs for transmitting diseases to bees and other ...

Meet Cosmo, a Bull Calf Designed to Produce More Male Offspring

Scientists have successfully produced a bull calf, named Cosmo, who was genome-edited as an embryo so that he'll produce more male ...

Diets High in Protein, Particularly Plant Protein, Linked to Lower Risk of Death

Diets high in protein, particularly plant protein, are associated with a lower risk of death from any cause, finds an analysis of the latest ...

Mitigation of Greenhouse Gases in Dairy Cattle Through Genetic Selection

Researchers propose mitigating methane production by dairy cattle through breeding. Scientists are targeting reduction of enteric methane in the breeding objectives for dairy cattle to select for ...

Science Sweetens Stingless Bee Species Honey Health Claims

Examination of honey from five different stingless bee species across Neotropical and Indo-Australian regions has enabled for the first time the identification of the unusual disaccharide trehalulose ...

Site-Directed Mutagenesis in Wheat Via Haploid Induction by Maize

Site-directed mutagenesis facilitates the experimental validation of gene function and can speed up plant breeding by producing new biodiversity or by reproducing previously known gene variants in ...

Recycling Japanese Liquor Leftovers as Animal Feed Produces Happier Pigs and Tastier Pork

Tastier pork comes from pigs that eat the barley left over after making the Japanese liquor shochu. A team of professional brewers and academic farmers state that nutrients in the leftover fermented ...

Returning to Farming's Roots in the Battle Against the 'Billion-Dollar Beetle'

Entomologists reaffirm the importance of crop rotation and diversification in combating the western corn rootworm's resistance to biotech ...

Changes in Farming Urgent to Rescue Biodiversity

Humans depend on farming for their survival but this activity takes up more than one-third of the world's landmass and endangers 62% of all threatened species. However, agricultural landscapes ...

Plant Roots Increase Carbon Emission from Permafrost Soils

A key uncertainty in climate projections is the amount of carbon emitted by thawing permafrost in the Arctic. Plant roots in soil stimulate microbial decomposition, a mechanism called the priming ...

New Research Reveals Antifungal Symbiotic Peptide in Legume

Scientists have identified a sub class of peptides in the nodules of the legume, Medicago truncatula that proved effective in inhibiting growth of the fungus causing gray ...

Scientists Supercharge Shellfish to Tackle Vitamin Deficiency in Humans

Cambridge scientists have developed a new way to fortify shellfish to tackle human nutrient deficiencies which cause severe health problems across the world. The team is now working with major ...

Timing Key in Understanding Plant Microbiomes

Researchers have made a key advance in understanding how timing impacts the way microorganisms colonize plants, a step that could provide farmers an important tool to boost agricultural ...

Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020