advertisement
Stress News
August 10, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Strong Relationships in Adulthood Won't 'Fix' Effects of Early Childhood Adversity

Harsh conditions in early life are a fundamental cause of adult stress, and according to new research on wild baboons, this effect is not explained ...

Laughter Acts as a Stress Buffer -- And Even Smiling Helps

People who laugh frequently in their everyday lives may be better equipped to deal with stressful events - although this does not seem to apply to the intensity of ...

Study Shows How Traumatic Experiences Can Leave Their Mark on a Person's Eyes

New research shows that a patient's pupils can reveal if they have suffered a traumatic experience in the past. The study examined how an ...

Researchers Find Rise in Broken Heart Syndrome During COVID-19 Pandemic

Researchers have found a significant increase in patients experiencing stress cardiomyopathy, also known as broken heart syndrome, during the COVID-19 ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Older Adults Coped With Pandemic Best, Study Reveals

Adults aged 60 and up have fared better emotionally compared to younger adults (18-39) and middle-aged adults (40-59) amid the COVID-19 pandemic, according to new ...

Traditional PTSD Therapy Doesn't Trigger Drug Relapse

Researchers have now demonstrated that behavior therapy that exposes people to memories of their trauma doesn't cause relapses of opioid or other drug use, and that PTSD severity and emotional ...

Control Over Work-Life Boundaries Creates Crucial Buffer to Manage After-Hours Work Stress

Workers with greater boundary control over their work and personal lives were better at creating a stress buffer to prevent them from falling into a negative rumination trap, says a new study by ...

How Americans Are Coping With COVID-19 Stress

Almost overnight, the rapid emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States and subsequent state and federal prevention measures dramatically altered daily behavior. A new study provides the ...

Where Stress Lives

Researchers have found a neural home of the feeling of stress people experience, an insight that may help people deal with the debilitating sense of fear and anxiety that stress can ...

High Stress Related to Coronavirus Is the New Normal for Many Parents, Says New APA Survey

Nearly half of parents of children under age 18 say their stress levels related to the coronavirus pandemic are high, with managing their kids' online learning a significant source of stress for ...

How Experiencing Traumatic Stress Leads to Aggression

Traumatic stress can cause aggression by strengthening two brain pathways involved in emotion, according to new research. Targeting those pathways via deep brain stimulation may stymie aggression ...

Acute Stress May Slow Down the Spread of Fears

Psychologists find that we are less likely to amplify fears in social exchange if we are ...

Middle Age May Be Much More Stressful Now Than in the '90s

A new study found that life may be more stressful now than it was in the 1990s, especially for people between the ages of 45 and ...

Neural Circuit That Drives Physical Responses to Emotional Stress Found

Researchers have discovered a neural circuit that drives physical responses to emotional stress. Emotional stress signals are processed in the ''emotion'' circuits and integrated ...

Work-Related Stress Linked to Increased Risk for Peripheral Artery Disease

People who reported work-related stress were more likely to be hospitalized for treatment of peripheral artery disease compared to those who did not report work-related stress. Work-related stress, ...

Stress in Parents of Children With Autism: Pets May Help

While current events have increased stress for all families, parents of children with autism report higher levels of stress on average than parents of typically developing kids. Feeling overwhelmed ...

Everything Is Not Fine: Kids Can Tell When Parents Suppress Their Stress

New research finds that parents suppressing feelings of stress around their kids can actually transmit those feelings to the children. The study found that children had a physical response when ...

What Helps Couples Weather Financial Storms

In financially challenging times, it's especially important to show your partner love and support, says researchers, who studied what contributes to couples' success in financially ...

How Stress Remodels the Brain

Research has shown how stress changes the structure of the brain and reveals a potential therapeutic target to the prevent or reverse ...

Stress Thwarts Our Ability to Plan Ahead by Disrupting How We Use Memory

Pairing brain scans with virtual-navigation tasks, researchers found that people make less efficient and effective plans when ...

How Stress Remodels the Brain

Stress restructures the brain by halting the production of crucial ion channel proteins, according to research in ...

To Stay Positive, Live in the Moment -- But Plan Ahead

A recent study finds that people who balance living in the moment with planning for the future are best able to weather daily stress without succumbing to negative ...

Anxious About COVID-19? Stress Can Have Lasting Impacts on Sperm and Future Offspring

Prolonged fear and anxiety brought on by major stressors, like the coronavirus pandemic, can not only take a toll on a person's mental health, but may also have a lasting impact on a man's ...

How Associative Fear Memory Is Formed in the Brain

Using a mouse model, researchers demonstrated the formation of fear memory involves the strengthening of neural pathways between two brain areas: the hippocampus, which responds to a particular ...

Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Sunday, April 28, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019