advertisement
Schizophrenia News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Auditory Hallucinations Rooted in Aberrant Brain Connectivity

A study reports that auditory hallucinations, a phenomenon in which people hear voices or other sounds, may arise through altered brain connectivity between sensory and cognitive processing ...

Whole Genome Sequencing Reveals Genetic Structural Secrets of Schizophrenia

Scientists have conducted the largest-ever whole genome sequencing study of schizophrenia to provide a more complete picture of the role the human genome plays in this ...

Molecular Switch for Repairing Central Nervous System Disorders

A molecular switch has the ability to turn on a substance in animals that repairs neurological damage in disorders such as multiple sclerosis (MS), researchers have discovered. The early research in ...

Broccoli Sprout Compound May Restore Brain Chemistry Imbalance Linked to Schizophrenia

In a series of recently published studies using animals and people, researchers say they have further characterized a set of chemical imbalances in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:18pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Key Role of Immune Cells in Brain Development

Researchers have identified how specific brain cells interacting during development could be related to neurological and neuropsychiatric diseases, including some that occur later in ...

Engaging With Schizophrenia: Experts Argue for New Approaches to Treatment

A better understanding of the lived experience of people with schizophrenia would enable clinicians to help patients live with their condition, alongside treating symptoms with medication and ...

New Insight Into How Cannabidiol Takes Effect in the Brains of People With Psychosis

Researchers have shown that cannabidiol (CBD) alters the brain activity in people with psychosis during memory tasks, making it more similar to the activation seen in people without psychosis during ...

Research Offers Promise for Treating Schizophrenia

Psychologists show that targeting one particular symptom of schizophrenia has a positive effect on other ...

Hyperactive Immune System Gene Causes Schizophrenia-Like Changes in Mice

Excessive activity of an immune system gene previously linked to schizophrenia reproduces neural and behavioral aspects of the disease in mice, according to a new study. The finding provides ...

Long-Term Medication for Schizophrenia Is Safe, Study Suggests

Researchers have studied the safety of very long-term antipsychotic therapy for schizophrenia. According to the study mortality was higher during periods when patients were not on medication than ...

Air Pollution in Childhood Linked to Schizophrenia

Children who grow up in areas with heavy air pollution have a higher risk of developing ...

Impact of Methamphetamine Use Depends on Your Genes

Researchers found that variations in the gene known as BDNF strongly determine the effects of methamphetamine in the brain. This could potentially explain why some users develop ...

Having a Psychotic Disorder May Increase Decline of Some Areas of Cognition Over Adulthood

A new study has shown that relative to participants without a psychotic disorder, those diagnosed with a disorder were consistently impaired across all areas of cognitive (memory and thinking) ...

New Protein Function Could Be Key to Treatment of Drug Addiction and Behavioral Disorders

The reward pathway of the brain causes feelings of happiness but is also involved in behavioral disorders like schizophrenia and addiction. A breakthrough study has now identified the role of a ...

Chronic Adversity Dampens Dopamine Production

People exposed to a lifetime of psychosocial adversity may have an impaired ability to produce the dopamine levels needed for coping with acutely stressful ...

Lower IQ, Family History Tied to Treatment-Resistant Schizophrenia

Those with a family history of schizophrenia and men with lower IQ are more likely to struggle with treatment resistant schizophrenia than others with the mental disorder, according to a new study. ...

Biomarker for Schizophrenia Can Be Detected in Human Hair

Working with model mice, post-mortem human brains, and people with schizophrenia, researchers have discovered that a subtype of schizophrenia is related to abnormally high levels hydrogen sulfide in ...

Schizophrenia Risk Gene Linked to Cognitive Deficits in Mice

Researchers have discovered in mice how one of the few genes definitively linked to schizophrenia, called SETD1A, likely confers risk for the illness. Mice genetically engineered to lack a ...

New Insights Into Biological Underpinnings of Schizophrenia

Researchers have implicated 10 new genes in the development of schizophrenia using a method called whole exome sequencing, the analysis of the portion of DNA that codes for proteins. A global ...

Potential Therapy to Treat Detrimental Effects of Marijuana

A new study using a preclinical animal model suggests that prenatal exposure to THC, the psychoactive component of cannabis, makes the brain's dopamine neurons (an integral component of the ...

Core Symptom of Schizophrenia Reversed in Adult Mice

Researchers have restored normal working memory to a mouse model of schizophrenia, eliminating a core symptom of the disorder that, in people, has proven virtually impossible to ...

The Propensity to Hear 'Voices' in Schizophrenia May Be Established by Infancy

Findings reveal how auditory hallucinations may arise in patients with schizophrenia and provide potential new targets for early detection and ...

Scientists Identify Gene as Master Regulator in Schizophrenia

Using computational tools to investigate gene transcription networks in large collections of brain tissues, a scientific team has identified a gene that acts as a master regulator of schizophrenia ...

Dietary Supplement May Help With Schizophrenia

A dietary supplement, sarcosine, may help with schizophrenia as part of a holistic approach complementing antipsychotic medication, according to a ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018