advertisement
Relationships News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

The Key to Happiness: Friends or Family?

Think spending time with your kids and spouse is the key to your happiness? You may actually be happier getting together with your friends, a new study ...

New Study Explores If Flirting Is Real and Shows It Can Work

Misunderstandings about flirting can potentially result in awkwardness or even accusations of sexual harassment. How can we figure out what other people mean when they smile at us? Is there a unique, ...

People Who Were Children When Their Parents Divorced Have Less 'Love Hormone'

People who were children when their parents were divorced showed lower levels of oxytocin -- the so-called 'love hormone' -- when they were adults ...

Romantic Partners Influence Each Other's Goals

Over the long-term, what one partner in a two-person relationship wishes to avoid, so too does the other partner -- and what one wants to achieve, so does the other. These effects can be observed ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:01pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Certain Coping Strategies Can Help Offset Pandemic's Mental Health Hits

The early days of the COVID-19 pandemic contributed to negative mental health effects for many in the U.S., according to new Penn State research. But the researchers also found that some coping ...

Exposure to Workplace Sexual Harassment Linked to an Increased Risk of Suicidal Behavior

Workers who have been exposed to sexual harassment in their workplace are at greater risk of suicide and attempting suicide, a new study ...

Teens Who Think Their Parents Are Loving Are Less Likely to Be Cyberbullies

Adolescents who perceive their parents to be loving and supportive are less likely to engage in cyberbullying, according to a new ...

Your in-Laws' History of Drinking Problems Could Lead to Alcohol Issues of Your Own

A study of more than 300,000 couples in Sweden finds marriage to a spouse who grew up exposed to parental alcohol misuse increases a person's likelihood of developing a drinking ...

Measuring Social Networks of Young Adults With Autism

While social isolation is a core challenge associated with autism, researchers have laid the groundwork to show how interpersonal relationships, and the resources they provide, could impact autistic ...

Teens' Social Media Use Does Not Raise Risk for Depression, Study Finds

New findings refute popular wisdom and may provide relief to parents and educators concerned with adolescents' heavy use of social media -- particularly during the COVID-19 ...

Jealous Feelings Can Act as a Tool to Strengthen Friendships

Jealousy can be important for maintaining friendships, which are crucial to physical and emotional health. A study found feelings of jealousy were sensitive to the value of the friendship and ...

Brain Cell Types Identified That May Push Males to Fight and Have Sex

Two groups of nerve cells may serve as ''on-off switches'' for male mating and aggression, suggests a new study in rodents. These neurons appear to send signals between two parts ...

Older Adults Feel Stressed, Yet Resilient in the Time of COVID-19

America's oldest citizens say they've been through worse, but many older adults are feeling the stress of COVID-19 and prolonged social distancing measures, according to a new ...

Contracting COVID-19: Lifestyle and Social Connections May Play a Role

Current research indicates that unhealthy lifestyle choices, including smoking and lack of exercise, along with emotional stressors like social isolation and interpersonal conflicts are important ...

Wearable-Tech Glove Translates Sign Language Into Speech in Real Time

Bioengineers have designed a glove-like device that can translate American Sign Language into English speech in real time though a smartphone app. The system includes a pair of gloves with thin, ...

A Furry Social Robot Can Reduce Pain and Increase Happiness

Researchers have discovered that a single, 60-minute interaction with PARO actually improved mood as well as reduced mild or severe pain. When participants touched PARO, they experienced greater pain ...

Profiling of Lone Terrorists Is Flawed

Terrorism has typically been considered an organised activity undertaken by networks of individuals who share a collective identity and purpose. However, in recent years, media, law enforcement and ...

COVID-19 Affects Adolescent and Young Adults Sexual and Reproductive Health

Social distancing and limited access to contraceptive and abortion care during the COVID-19 pandemic is affecting the sexual and reproductive health of adolescents and young adults according to a new ...

Loneliness Alters Your Brain's Social Network

Social media sites aren't the only things that keep track of your social network -- your brain does, too. But loneliness alters how the brain represents ...

Will Lockdown Loneliness Make Us Loners?

Loneliness affects both mental and physical health, but counterintuitively it can also result in a decreased desire for social interaction. To understand the mechanics of this paradox, researchers ...

Women's Communication Shapes Division of Labor in Household

Partner communication is the most important factor linking the division of household labor to satisfaction in the relationship, according to researchers. But the way that the partners' ...

The Neurobiology of Social Distance

A new paper explores the wide-ranging, negative consequences that social isolation has on our psychological well-being and physical health, including decreased life ...

'Playing Hard to Get' Really Works; Here's Why

Researchers examined the effects of playing hard to get, a mating strategy that is likely to instill a certain degree of uncertainty. In a new study they show that making the chase harder increases a ...

Behaviors and Traits That Influence Social Status, According to Evolutionary Psychologists

Beyond fame and fortune, certain traits and behaviors may have pervasive influence in climbing the social ladder, according to a study by evolutionary ...

Monday, September 14, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019