advertisement
PTSD News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Brain Circuitry Underlying Dissociative Experiences

Scientists identified key brain circuitry that plays a role in the mysterious experience called dissociation, in which people can feel disconnected from their own body and from ...

Gulf War Illness, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Distinct Illnesses, Study Suggests

A brain imaging study of veterans with Gulf War illness (GWI) and patients with chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) (sometimes called myalgic ...

Study Shows How Traumatic Experiences Can Leave Their Mark on a Person's Eyes

New research shows that a patient's pupils can reveal if they have suffered a traumatic experience in the past. The study examined how an ...

Why Are Memories Attached to Emotions So Strong?

Multiple neurons in the brain must fire in synchrony to create persistent memories tied to intense emotions, new research has ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:01pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

People With Less Body Response to Stress Task Had More PTSD Signs After COVID-19 Began

People who did not have a large heart rate response to a stress task surprised researchers later -- after the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic -- when they showed more symptoms of post-traumatic stress ...

Brainstem Protein Mediates Exercise-Based Stress Relief

Exercise fights off stress by increasing levels of the brain protein ...

Study Pinpoints Five Most Likely Causes of Post-Traumatic Stress in Police Officers

A combination of genetic and emotional differences may lead to post-traumatic stress (PTS) in police officers, a new study finds. Based on biological studies of officers in major cities, the study ...

COVID-19: The Long Road to Recovery

Researchers have identified a pattern of longer-term symptoms likely to be experienced by people who were hospitalized with the COVID-19 infection. They include fatigue, breathlessness, psychological ...

Further Evidence World Trade Center Responders Are at Risk for Dementia

New studies indicate that World Trade Center (WTC) first responders are at risk for developing ...

Traditional PTSD Therapy Doesn't Trigger Drug Relapse

Researchers have now demonstrated that behavior therapy that exposes people to memories of their trauma doesn't cause relapses of opioid or other drug use, and that PTSD severity and emotional ...

Cyberbullying Linked to Post Traumatic Stress for Victims and Perpetrators

Cyberbullying -- bullying online rather than face to face -- is linked to various types of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms, both for victims and perpetrators, suggests new ...

Research Delves Into Causes of Nightmares That Shadow Female Survivors of Sexual Trauma

A new study attempts to shed light on triggers of post-trauma nightmare occurrences -- a topic that has received scant ...

How Experiencing Traumatic Stress Leads to Aggression

Traumatic stress can cause aggression by strengthening two brain pathways involved in emotion, according to new research. Targeting those pathways via deep brain stimulation may stymie aggression ...

Neural Circuit That Drives Physical Responses to Emotional Stress Found

Researchers have discovered a neural circuit that drives physical responses to emotional stress. Emotional stress signals are processed in the ''emotion'' circuits and integrated ...

How Stress Remodels the Brain

Research has shown how stress changes the structure of the brain and reveals a potential therapeutic target to the prevent or reverse ...

How Associative Fear Memory Is Formed in the Brain

Using a mouse model, researchers demonstrated the formation of fear memory involves the strengthening of neural pathways between two brain areas: the hippocampus, which responds to a particular ...

New Sleep Method Strengthens Brain's Ability to Retain Memories

A new study has yielded an innovative method for bolstering memory processes in the brain during ...

Boys With Inattention-Hyperactivity Face Increased Risk for Traumatic Brain Injuries

Researchers show that boys exhibiting inattention-hyperactivity at age 10 have a higher risk for traumatic brain injuries (TBIs) in adolescence and adulthood. Treatments to reduce these behaviors may ...

Brain Inflammation in Veterans With Gulf War Illness

In a new discovery, researchers have detected widespread inflammation in the brains of veterans diagnosed with Gulf War ...

Focus on Context Diminishes Memory of Negative Events, Researchers Report

In a new study, researchers report they can manipulate how the brain encodes and retains emotional memories. The scientists found that focusing on the neutral details of a disturbing scene can weaken ...

Newspaper 'Hierarchy' of Injury Glamorizes War

British newspapers are routinely glamorizing combat by creating a moral separation between combat and non-combat injuries, according to new ...

New Study Highlights Prevalence of PTSD Among Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

A new study has revealed the prevalence of work-related post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) among obstetricians and ...

Cyberbullying Linked to Increased Depression and PTSD

Cyberbullying had the impact of amplifying symptoms of depression and post-traumatic stress disorder in young people who were inpatients at an adolescent psychiatric hospital, according to a new ...

Chemicals Between Us: Surprising Effects of Oxytocin on Cocaine Addiction

Researchers have discovered gender-based differences in response to therapeutic oxytocin treatment in cocaine-addicted individuals with a history of childhood trauma. Oxytocin has been shown ...

Monday, August 31, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019