advertisement
Psychiatry News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Major Depressive Episodes Far More Common Than Previously Believed

The number of adults in the United States who suffer from major depressive episodes at some point in their life is far higher than previously believed, a new study ...

Lithium in Drinking Water Linked With Lower Suicide Rates

Naturally occurring lithium in public drinking water may have an anti-suicidal effect, according to a new study. The study collated research from around the world and found that geographical areas ...

Study Shows How Traumatic Experiences Can Leave Their Mark on a Person's Eyes

New research shows that a patient's pupils can reveal if they have suffered a traumatic experience in the past. The study examined how an ...

Probiotics Alone or Combined With Prebiotics May Help Ease Depression

Probiotics either taken by themselves or when combined with prebiotics, may help to ease depression, suggests a review of the available ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:32pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Study Pinpoints Five Most Likely Causes of Post-Traumatic Stress in Police Officers

A combination of genetic and emotional differences may lead to post-traumatic stress (PTS) in police officers, a new study finds. Based on biological studies of officers in major cities, the study ...

Study Highlights Mental Health Risks Facing Healthcare Workers During Pandemic

A new study finds healthcare workers in the United States are struggling with a suite of mental-health challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic. The study reports healthcare workers are at greater ...

Traditional PTSD Therapy Doesn't Trigger Drug Relapse

Researchers have now demonstrated that behavior therapy that exposes people to memories of their trauma doesn't cause relapses of opioid or other drug use, and that PTSD severity and emotional ...

Loss of a Co-Twin Linked to Heightened Psychiatric Risk

The death of a twin, especially earlier in life, can increase the risk of their surviving twin being diagnosed with a psychiatric disorder, finds a new ...

Auditory Hallucinations Rooted in Aberrant Brain Connectivity

A study reports that auditory hallucinations, a phenomenon in which people hear voices or other sounds, may arise through altered brain connectivity between sensory and cognitive processing ...

Unexpected Mental Illnesses Found in a Spectrum of a Rare Genetic Disorder

Researchers found an unexpected spectrum of mental illnesses in patients with a rare gene mutation. These patients had a ''double hit'' condition that combined features and ...

Cyberbullying Linked to Post Traumatic Stress for Victims and Perpetrators

Cyberbullying -- bullying online rather than face to face -- is linked to various types of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptoms, both for victims and perpetrators, suggests new ...

Poor Sleep Significantly Linked With Teenage Depression

Teenagers who experience very poor sleep may be more likely to experience poor mental health in later life, as depressed teens in study slept 30 minutes less per night than other ...

Brain Research Sheds Light on the Molecular Mechanisms of Depression

A new study reveals how symptoms indicating depression and anxiety are linked to brain function changes already in healthy ...

Scientists Propose Explanation for Baffling Form of Childhood OCD

Scientists may have found a cause for the sudden onset of obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) in some children, they report. Pediatric autoimmune neuropsychiatric disorders, or PANDAS, were first ...

Depression Associated With Greater Risk of Cardiovascular Disease

A new study provides further evidence of the link between depressive symptoms and an increased risk of heart disease and early ...

Research Delves Into Causes of Nightmares That Shadow Female Survivors of Sexual Trauma

A new study attempts to shed light on triggers of post-trauma nightmare occurrences -- a topic that has received scant ...

Adult Stem Cell Study Shows Fish Oil May Help With Depression

A new study shows that patient-derived adult stem cells can be used to model major depressive disorder and test how a patient may respond to medication and that fish oil, when tested in the model, ...

Cannabis Temporarily Relieves PTSD Symptoms, Study Suggests

People suffering from post-traumatic distress disorder report that cannabis reduces the severity of their symptoms by more than half, at least in the short term, according to a recent ...

Repetitive Negative Thinking Linked to Dementia Risk

Persistently engaging in negative thinking patterns may raise the risk of Alzheimer's disease, finds a new UCL-led study published in Alzheimer's & ...

Chronic Stress? Limiting Inflammatory Signaling to Specific Brain Circuits

Chronic stress is associated with the pathogenesis of psychological disorders such as depression. A study is the first to identify the role of a neuronal receptor that straddles the intersection ...

Cognitive Behavior Therapy Tops Other Psychotherapies in Reducing Inflammation

A review of 56 randomized clinical trials finds that psychological and behavioral therapies may be effective non-drug treatments for reducing disease-causing inflammation in the ...

Expression of Certain Genes May Affect Vulnerability to Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

A new study suggest that whether certain genes are expressed may play a role in susceptibility to post-traumatic stress disorder ...

New Approach to Some Mental Disorders

Depression, anxiety and PTSD might not be disorders at all, according to biological anthropologists. In the paper, the researchers propose a new approach to mental illness that would be informed by ...

Problems With Alcohol? 29 Gene Variants May Explain Why

A genome-wide analysis of more than 435,000 people has identified 29 genetic variants linked to problematic drinking, researchers ...

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019