advertisement
Nutrition Research News
August 14, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Adding a Meter Between Meals Boosts Vegetarian Appeal

Researchers have identified the optimal dish positions to help ''nudge'' diners into picking more planet-friendly meals in ...

New Type of Taste Cell Discovered in Taste Buds

Our mouths may be home to a newly discovered set of multi-tasking taste cells that -- unlike most known taste cells, which detect individual tastes -- are capable of detecting sour, sweet, bitter and ...

TV-Watching Snackers Beware: You Won't Notice You're Full If Your Attention Is Elsewhere

Eating while doing something perceptually-demanding makes it more difficult to notice when you feel full, shows new ...

Vitamin D Twice a Day May Keep Vertigo Away

Taking vitamin D and calcium twice a day may reduce your chances of getting vertigo again, according to a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Nutrition Labelling Is Improving Nation's Diet

Households eat more healthily when retailers display clear nutritional information on own-brand food products, say ...

Experts Urge Evaluation of Diet at Routine Check-Ups

Unhealthy dietary patterns are a leading cause of heart disease and stroke as well as other chronic diseases. Clinician-delivered diet counseling can improve diet behaviors and heart disease risk ...

Food Supplements May Improve Brain Health Among Young Children in Low Income Countries

Giving nutritional supplements to young children in low income countries for around 6 months could improve their brain (cognitive) health, finds a new ...

Sweet Coolers a Gateway to Increased Alcohol Consumption

Sweetened alcoholic beverages can promote harmful alcohol consumption among teens, new University of Guelph research ...

Addressing the Safety of High Folate Levels in the Older Population and Implications for Fortification in Ireland

A new study challenges claims from some international scientific circles, that having high blood levels of folate (folic acid) increases the risk of poor cognition in older adults, especially in ...

Vegetarians Tend to Be Slimmer and Less Extroverted Than Meat Eaters, Study Finds

The less animal products someone consumes, the lower his body mass index on average and the less he tends to be extroverted. A connection with depressive moods as other studies had found could not be ...

Engaging in Family Meals Starts With Healthy Family Communication

Engaging in family meals may be a matter of improving communication and support at home. A new study connects less family discouragement and better family communication with a higher likelihood to ...

COVID-19 Lockdowns Worsen Childhood Obesity, Study Finds

Lockdowns implemented across the world due to the COVID-19 pandemic have negatively impacted diet, sleep and physical activity among children with obesity, according to new ...

Children May Not Always Grow out of Being Picky Eaters

By age four, children could be established picky eaters, a new study suggests. And the more parents try to control and restrict children's diets, the more finicky they may become, according to ...

Scientists Identify Gene Linked to Thinness That May Help Resist Weight Gain

Researchers used a genetic database of more than 47,000 people in Estonia to identify a gene linked to thinness that may play a role in resisting weight gain in metabolically healthy thin people. ...

Inspiring Stories from Women Like Themselves Helped These Moms Improve Their Diet

When researchers asked prospective study participants who they would like to see in videos promoting healthy lifestyle behaviors, the answer was unequivocal: They wanted to see themselves -- that is, ...

Obesity Not Related to How Close You Live to Fast Food or Gyms

A new study has shown no correlation between obesity and how close you live to fast food restaurants or gyms. Studies from other countries have previously indicated that these factors may be ...

Binge Drinkers Beware, Drunkorexia Is Calling

Mojito, appletini or a simple glass of fizz -- they may take the edge off a busy day, but if you find yourself bingeing on more than a few, you could be putting your physical and mental health at ...

Our Ability to Focus May Falter After Eating One Meal High in Saturated Fat

Fatty food may feel like a friend during these troubled times, but new research suggests that eating just one meal high in saturated fat can hinder our ability to concentrate -- not great news for ...

Healthy Eating Behaviors in Childhood May Reduce the Risk of Adult Obesity and Heart Disease

Encouraging children to make their own decisions about food, within a structured environment focused on healthy food choices, has been linked to better childhood nutrition and healthier lifelong ...

Revealing Links Between Education and a Good Diet

Educational status appears to have positive influence on a healthy diet, particularly in low income countries, according to new research examining European nutritional ...

Certain Foods Common in Diets of US Adults With Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Foods, such as French fries, cheese, cookies, soda, and sports and energy drinks, are commonly found in the diets of United States adults with inflammatory bowel disease, according to a new ...

Genetic Study Ties Higher Alcohol Consumption to Increased Stroke and PAD Risk

Using genetic analysis, researchers found higher alcohol consumption increased risks for stroke and peripheral artery disease (PAD). Studies using genetic analysis don't rely on observational ...

Brain Insulin Sensitivity Determines Body Weight and Fat Distribution

Just where fat is deposited in the body and to what degree a person may benefit from a lifestyle intervention depends on how sensitive the brain is to insulin. If the person's brain responds ...

Biologists Investigate Why the Sweet Taste of Sugary Foods Diminishes When They're Cool

Have you ever noticed how a bite of warm cherry pie fills your mouth with sweetness, but that same slice right out of the refrigerator isn't nearly as tempting? Scientists know this phenomenon ...

Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, January 3, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019