advertisement
Memory News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Sport and Memory Go Hand in Hand

If sport is good for the body, it also seems to be good for the brain. By evaluating memory performance following a sport session, neuroscientists demonstrate that an intensive physical exercise ...

New Electronic Skin Can React to Pain Like Human Skin

New pain-sensing prototype mimics the body's near-instant feedback response and reacts to painful sensations with the same lighting speed that nerve signals travel to the brain. It's a significant ...

How 'Swapping Bodies' With a Friend Changes Our Sense of Self

A new study shows that, when pairs of friends swapped bodies in a perceptual illusion, their beliefs about their own personalities became more similar to their beliefs about their friends' ...

Why Babies Don't Always Remember What They Have Learned

If and how babies recall what they have learned depends on their mood: what they've learned when feeling calm is inaccessible when they're acitive and vice versa. This was shown in a study with 96 ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:32pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Exercise Improves Learning and Memory in Young Adults

Just a single exercise workout has positive effects on learning and memory in young adults, according to a recent review of published ...

Brain Remapping Dysfunction Causes Spatial Memory Impairment in Alzheimer's Disease

A research group elucidated the brain circuit mechanism that cause of spatial memory impairment in Alzheimer's disease. In the future, improving brain remapping function may reverse spatial ...

Adaptation in Single Neurons Provides Memory for Language Processing

To understand language, we have to remember the words that were uttered and combine them into an interpretation. How does the brain retain information long enough to accomplish this, despite the fact ...

Aging Memories May Not Be 'Worse', Just 'Different'

A study adds nuance to the idea that an aging memory is a poor one and finds a potential correlation between the way people process the boundaries of events and episodic ...

New Molecule Reverses Alzheimer's-Like Memory Decline

A drug candidate previously shown to slow aging in brain cells, successfully reversed memory loss in a mouse model of inherited Alzheimer's disease. The new research also revealed that the drug, ...

Can Sleep Protect Us from Forgetting Old Memories?

Researchers report that sleep may help people to learn continuously through their lifetime by encoding new memories and protecting old ...

Eye-Tracking Tech Helps Aged Care Assessment

Memory loss among older Australians is on the rise as the Baby Boomer generation enters retirement - but a new technique that investigates cognitive skills through eye-tracking technology may be used ...

Hydrogel Mimics Human Brain With Memorizing and Forgetting Ability

Researchers have found a soft and wet material that can memorize, retrieve, and forget information, much like the human ...

Remember the First Time You...? Mysterious Brain Structure Sheds Light on Addiction

Do you remember where you were when you first heard that two planes had crashed into New York's Twin Towers? Or where you had your first kiss? Our brains are wired to retain information that ...

Food Supplements May Improve Brain Health Among Young Children in Low Income Countries

Giving nutritional supplements to young children in low income countries for around 6 months could improve their brain (cognitive) health, finds a new ...

Brain Network Mechanism Causing Spatial Memory Impairment Revealed

Patients with Alzheimer's disease frequently suffer from spatial memory loss, such as no recognition of where they are, and forgetting where they put their belongings. They often show a ...

'Love Hormone' Oxytocin Could Be Used to Treat Cognitive Disorders Like Alzheimer's

Alzheimer's disease progressively degrades a person's memory and cognitive abilities, often resulting in dementia. Amid efforts to find novel treatments for this disease, a recent ...

A 'Feeling' for Dementia? New Findings on Subjectively Perceived Memory Problems

A research team concludes that personal perception can be an important indicator for the early detection of Alzheimer's disease. Scientists report that individuals with subjectively felt memory ...

Keeping Innocent People out of Jail Using the Science of Perception

People wrongfully accused of a crime often wait years -- if ever -- to be exonerated. Many of these wrongfully accused cases stem from unreliable eyewitness testimony. Now, scientists have identified ...

Why Are Memories Attached to Emotions So Strong?

Multiple neurons in the brain must fire in synchrony to create persistent memories tied to intense emotions, new research has ...

Couldn't Socially Distance? Blame Your Working Memory

A new study highlights the critical role that working memory capacity plays in social distancing compliance during the early stages of the COVID-19 ...

Older Adults Share Fewer Memories as They Age

Researchers used a smartphone app to 'eavesdrop' on older adult conversations. They found that the older a person is, the less likely they are to share memories of past ...

Why Some Words May Be More Memorable Than Others

Researchers have found that our brains may recall some common words, like 'pig,' 'tank,' and 'door,' much more often than others, including 'cat,' ...

New Study Examines Recursive Thinking

A multi-institutional research team found the cognitive ability to represent recursive sequences occurs in humans and non-human primates across age, education, culture and ...

'Where Are My Keys?' and Other Memory-Based Choices Probed in the Brain

Researchers visualize how memories are selectively retrieved in the ...

Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019