advertisement
Learning Disorders News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

A Shorter IQ Test for Children With Special Needs

For decades, neuropsychologists have used the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children test as the gold-standard intelligence quotient (IQ) test to determine the intellectual abilities of children ...

Learning Difficulties Due to Poor Connectivity, Not Specific Brain Regions

Different learning difficulties do not correspond to specific regions of the brain, as previously thought, say researchers. Instead poor connectivity between 'hubs' within the brain is much more ...

Emphasizing Social Play in Kindergarten Improves Academics, Reduces Teacher Burnout

Emphasizing more play, hands-on learning, and students helping one another in kindergarten improves academic outcomes, self-control and attention ...

Kids Wore Video Cameras in Their Preschool Class, for Science

They may all be in the same classroom together, but each child in preschool may have a very different experience, a new study suggests. The researchers documented these different experiences using a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:19pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Mindfulness Improves Decision-Making, Attention in Children With Autism

School-based mindfulness programs show promise in teaching children with autism to better control impulses, according to new ...

Children With Autism Face Higher Risk of Eating Disorders, Study Finds

Children with autistic traits are more likely than their peers to develop an eating disorder, according to a new ...

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ...

Sleep Linked to Language Skills in Neurodevelopmental Disorders

New research has discovered that Down's syndrome, Fragile X syndrome and Williams syndrome are all linked to sleep disruption in very young children, and that sleep plays a crucial role in the ...

Speech-Disrupting Brain Disease Reflects Patients' Native Tongue

English and Italian speakers with dementia-related language impairment experience distinct kinds of speech and reading difficulties based on features of their native languages, according to new ...

Prenatal Exposure to Flame Retardants Linked to Reading Problems

A new study suggests that prenatal exposure to flame retardants may increase the risk of reading ...

One-Fourth of Children With Autism Are Undiagnosed

One-fourth of children under age 8 with autism spectrum disorder -- most of them black or Hispanic -- are not being diagnosed, which is critical for improving quality of ...

When It's Story Time, Animated Books Are Better for Learning

Researchers found that digital storybooks that animate upon a child's vocalization offer beneficial learning opportunities, especially for children with less developed attention ...

Artificial Intelligence Boosts MRI Detection of ADHD

Deep learning, a type of artificial intelligence, can boost the power of MRI in predicting attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to a new study. Researchers said the approach ...

Late Talkers Twice as Likely to Have Severe, Frequent Temper Tantrums

Toddler speech delays and temper tantrums have long been assumed to be linked. Now, for the first time, a new, large-scale study supports that assumption with ...

Young Moms More Likely to Have Kids With ADHD

Young mothers have a greater chance of having a child with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to new research. Exploring the genetic relationship between female reproductive ...

Treatment for Common Vision Disorder Does Not Improve Children's Reading Skills

Results from a clinical trial show that while vision therapy can successfully treat convergence insufficiency (CI) in children, it fails to improve their reading test ...

Early Reading in Spanish Helps Children Learn to Read English

Immigrant parents worry their children will struggle with reading and fret that as non-English speakers, they can't help. A new study shows that's simply not true. Reading to a young child ...

Finding Upends Theory About the Cerebellum's Role in Reading and Dyslexia

New brain imaging research debunks a controversial theory about dyslexia that can impact how it is sometimes treated. The cerebellum, a brain structure traditionally considered to be involved in ...

Screening Kindergarten Readiness

Researchers have found that a readiness test can predict kindergarteners' success in school after 18 ...

Anticipating Performance Can Hinder Memory

Anticipating your own performance at work or school may hinder your ability to remember what happened before your presentation, a study has ...

Sex-Based Differences in the Development of Brain Hubs Involved in Memory and Emotion

Researchers have uncovered sex-based differences in the development of the hippocampus and amygdala. These brain areas have been implicated in the biology of several mental disorders that impact ...

Cerebral Reperfusion of Reading Network Predicts Recovery of Reading Ability After Stroke

A team of New Jersey stroke researchers has linked recovery of reading and language competence with cerebral blood flow in the left reading network. Their findings may contribute to new approaches to ...

Learning to Read Boosts the Visual Brain

How does learning to read change our brain? Does reading take up brain space dedicated to seeing objects such as faces, tools or houses? In a functional brain imaging study, a research team compared ...

Children of Anxious Mothers Twice as Likely to Have Hyperactivity in Adolescence

A large study has shown that children of mothers who are anxious during pregnancy and in the first few years of the child's life have twice the risk of having hyperactivity symptoms at age ...

Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Monday, December 17, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Sunday, September 30, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018