advertisement
Learning Disorders News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Busy Pictures Hinder Reading Ability in Children

A new study shows extraneous images draw attention from text, reducing comprehension in beginning ...

Brain Stimulation Reduces Dyslexia Deficits

Restoring normal patterns of rhythmic neural activity through non-invasive electrical stimulation of the brain alleviates sound-processing deficits and improves reading accuracy in adults with ...

Heavy Electronic Media Use in Late Childhood Linked to Lower Academic Performance

A new study of 8- to 11-year olds reveals an association between heavy television use and poorer reading performance, as well as between heavy ...

Persistence of ADHD Into Adulthood Is an Important Predictor of Car Crash Risk

A new study reports that the risk of being involved in car crashes increases for those diagnosed with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:01pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Developing Neural Circuits Linked to Hunting Behavior

Researchers demonstrated the relationship between improvements in zebrafish's hunting skills and the development of sensory coding in a part of the brain which responds to visual ...

A Shorter IQ Test for Children With Special Needs

For decades, neuropsychologists have used the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children test as the gold-standard intelligence quotient (IQ) test to determine the intellectual abilities of children ...

Scientists Uncover New Genetic Mutations Linked to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Scientists have identified mutations in a gene called CNOT1 that affect brain development and impair memory and learning. The research also revealed that CNOT1 interacts with several known autism ...

Mindfulness Improves Decision-Making, Attention in Children With Autism

School-based mindfulness programs show promise in teaching children with autism to better control impulses, according to new ...

Using Brain Imaging to Demonstrate Weaker Neural Suppression for Those With Autism

A new study shows the differences in visual motion perception in autism spectrum disorder are accompanied by weaker neural suppression in the visual cortex of the ...

Autism Severity Can Change Substantially During Early Childhood

A new study found that around 30 percent of young children with autism have less severe autism symptoms at age 6 than they did at age 3, with some children losing their autism diagnoses entirely. It ...

Genomic Analysis in Samples of Neanderthals and Modern Humans Shows a Decrease in ADHD-Associated Genetic Variants

The frequency of genetic variants associated with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) has decreased progressively in the evolutionary human lineage from the Paleolithic to the present ...

Children's Temperament Traits Affect Their Motor Skills

A recent study among 3- to 7-year-old children showed that children's motor skills benefitted if a child was older and participated in organized sports. Additionally, the study provided ...

Children With Autism Face Higher Risk of Eating Disorders, Study Finds

Children with autistic traits are more likely than their peers to develop an eating disorder, according to a new ...

Visual-Spatial Learning Disorder Is More Common Than Thought, Finds Study

Researchers estimate non-verbal learning disorder may affect up to 3 million children in the United ...

Little Scientists: Children Prefer Storybooks That Explain Why and How Things Happen

Children have a never-ending curiosity about the world around them and frequently question how and why it works the way it does. Researchers have previously demonstrated that children are interested ...

Learning Difficulties Due to Poor Connectivity, Not Specific Brain Regions

Different learning difficulties do not correspond to specific regions of the brain, as previously thought, say researchers. Instead poor connectivity between 'hubs' within the brain is much ...

Vitamin D Deficiency During Pregnancy Connected to Elevated Risk of ADHD

The risk of ADHD was 34 percent higher in children whose mother had a vitamin D deficiency during pregnancy than in those children whose mother's vitamin D level was sufficient during the first ...

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ...

Sleep Linked to Language Skills in Neurodevelopmental Disorders

New research has discovered that Down's syndrome, Fragile X syndrome and Williams syndrome are all linked to sleep disruption in very young children, and that sleep plays a crucial role in the ...

Speech-Disrupting Brain Disease Reflects Patients' Native Tongue

English and Italian speakers with dementia-related language impairment experience distinct kinds of speech and reading difficulties based on features of their native languages, according to new ...

Prenatal Exposure to Flame Retardants Linked to Reading Problems

A new study suggests that prenatal exposure to flame retardants may increase the risk of reading ...

One-Fourth of Children With Autism Are Undiagnosed

One-fourth of children under age 8 with autism spectrum disorder -- most of them black or Hispanic -- are not being diagnosed, which is critical for improving quality of ...

When It's Story Time, Animated Books Are Better for Learning

Researchers found that digital storybooks that animate upon a child's vocalization offer beneficial learning opportunities, especially for children with less developed attention ...

Artificial Intelligence Boosts MRI Detection of ADHD

Deep learning, a type of artificial intelligence, can boost the power of MRI in predicting attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to a new study. Researchers said the approach ...

Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Monday, December 17, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018