advertisement
Language Acquisition News
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Humans are born with a part of the brain that is prewired to be receptive to seeing words and letters, setting the stage at birth for people to learn how to read, a new study ...

Quality Over Quantity in Recovering Language After Stroke

New research has found that intensive therapy is not necessarily best when it comes to treating the loss of language and communication in early recovery after a ...

Brain Stimulation Reduces Dyslexia Deficits

Restoring normal patterns of rhythmic neural activity through non-invasive electrical stimulation of the brain alleviates sound-processing deficits and improves reading accuracy in adults with ...

Why Are There Differing Preferences for Suffixes and Prefixes Across Languages?

While speakers of English and other Western languages prefer using suffixes more than prefixes, a new study reveals that this preference is not as ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Cognitive Elements of Language Have Existed for 40 Million Years

Humans are not the only beings that can identify rules in complex language-like constructions -- monkeys and great apes can do so, too, a new study has shown. Researcher used a series of experiments ...

New Education 'Hubs' for Deaf Children Needed to Replace Social Spaces Lost When Specialist Schools Close

New dedicated hubs for deaf children are needed around the country to provide new social spaces, education and support, an expert has ...

Words Used to Describe Alcohol Intoxication May Give Clues to Drinking Habits

Research suggests the language young adults use to describe the effects they feel from drinking may give insight into their drinking ...

Authors' 'Invisible' Words Reveal Blueprint for Storytelling

The ''invisible'' words that shaped Dickens classics also lead audiences through Spielberg dramas. And according to new research, these small words can be found in a similar ...

Language May Undermine Women in Science and Tech

Researchers examined gender stereotypes baked into 25 languages to explore why fewer women enter science, technology, engineering and mathematics ...

Context Reduces Racial Bias in Hate Speech Detection Algorithms

When it comes to accurately flagging hate speech on social media, context matters, says a new study aimed at reducing errors that could amplify racial ...

Researchers Foresee Linguistic Issues During Space Travel

Interstellar space travelers arriving on another planet could face problems communicating with previous and subsequent arrivals, their spoken language having changed in isolation along the ...

Could Your Computer Please Be More Polite? Thank You

In a tense time when a pandemic rages, politicians wrangle for votes and protesters demand racial justice, a little politeness and courtesy go a long way. Now researchers have developed an automated ...

Why Some Words May Be More Memorable Than Others

Researchers have found that our brains may recall some common words, like 'pig,' 'tank,' and 'door,' much more often than others, including 'cat,' ...

Wearable-Tech Glove Translates Sign Language Into Speech in Real Time

Bioengineers have designed a glove-like device that can translate American Sign Language into English speech in real time though a smartphone app. The system includes a pair of gloves with thin, ...

Humans and Monkeys Show Similar Thinking Patterns

Humans and monkeys may not speak the same lingo, but our ways of thinking are a lot more similar than previously thought, according to new ...

Computational Model Decodes Speech by Predicting It

UNIGE scientists developed a neuro-computer model which helps explain how the brain identifies syllables in natural speech. The model uses the equivalent of neuronal oscillations produced by brain ...

The Human Brain Tracks Speech More Closely in Time Than Other Sounds

The way that speech processing differs from the processing of other sounds has long been a major open question in human neuroscience. Researchers have endeavored to answer this by investigating brain ...

Variability in Natural Speech Is Challenging for the Dyslexic Brain

A new study brings neural-level evidence that the continuous variation in natural speech makes the discrimination of phonemes challenging for adults suffering from developmental reading-deficit ...

Discovering How the Brain Works Through Computation

Researchers propose a new computational system to expand the understanding of the brain at an intermediate level, between neurons and cognitive phenomena such as language. They have developed a brain ...

The Brain Uses Minimum Effort to Look for Key Information in Text

The human brain avoids taking unnecessary effort. When a person is reading, she strives to gain as much information as possible by dedicating as little of her cognitive capacity as possible to the ...

How the Brain Controls Our Speech

Speaking requires both sides of the brain. Each hemisphere takes over a part of the complex task of forming sounds, modulating the voice and monitoring what has been said. However, the distribution ...

How Effective Are Language Learning Apps?

Researchers recently conducted a study focusing on Babbel, a popular subscription-based language learning app and e-learning platform, to see if it really worked at teaching a new ...

Early-Life Education Improves Memory in Old Age -- Especially for Women

Education appears to protect older adults, especially women, against memory loss, according to a new ...

Some Infants Can Identify Differences in Musical Tones at Six Months

Neuroscientists suggest the capacity to hear the highs and lows, also known as the major and minor notes in music, may come before you take a single lesson; you may actually be born with it. The ...

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019