advertisement
K-12 Education News
August 9, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Music Training May Not Make Children Smarter After All

Music training does not have a positive impact on children's cognitive skills, such as memory, and academic achievement, such as maths, reading or writing, according to a study published in Memory & ...

Regular Physical Activity Seems to Enhance Cognition in Children Who Need It Most

Researchers re-analyzed data from three experiments that tested whether physical activity interventions lead to improved cognitive skills in ...

Classes Set by Ability Are Hitting Children's Self-Confidence

The way a vast amount of schools are setup, with classes grouping children based on their ability, is severely affecting pupil's ...

Brains of Girls and Boys Are Similar, Producing Equal Math Ability

New research comprehensively examined the brain development of young boys and girls. Their research shows no gender difference in brain function or math ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:01pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Research Explores the Link Between Wages, School and Cognitive Ability in South Africa

Using data sets that only became available in recent years, researchers at Binghamton University, State University of New York analyzed the wage impact of cognitive skills in South ...

Study: More Than Half of US Students Experience Summer Learning Losses Five Years in a Row

Following U.S. students across five summers between grades 1 and 6, a little more than half (52 percent) experienced learning losses in all five summers, according to a large national study. Students ...

Prospective Teachers Misperceive Black Children as Angry

New research finds that prospective teachers appear more likely to misperceive Black children as angry than white children, which may undermine the education of Black ...

Achievement Isn't Why More Men Are Majoring in Physics, Engineering and Computer Science

Researchers have found that the reason there are more undergraduate men than women majoring in physics, engineering and computer science is not because men are higher achievers. On the contrary, the ...

Using LEGO to Test Children's Ability to Visualize and Rotate 3D Shapes in Space

Researchers have developed a test that uses children's ability to assemble LEGO pieces to assess their spatial visualization ability. Spatial visualization is the ability to visualize 3D shapes ...

New Linguistic Findings on the Prevalence of 'LOL'

A new study involving a scientific analysis of the prevalence of 'LOL' in students' text messages demonstrates important potential applications for classroom ...

Surging Numbers of First-Generation Learners Being Left Behind in Global Education

'First-generation learners' -- a substantial number of pupils around the world who represent the first generation in their families to receive an education - are also significantly more ...

Parents With Degrees Give Their Children Significant Advantage in Math

Children of parents with a degree are almost a year of schooling ahead in math by the age 11 than peers whose parents have just GCSEs, a new study has ...

Teacher Evaluations Weed out Low-Performing Teachers in Urban Schools

New research finds that statewide K-12 teacher evaluation systems have proven to phase out lower performing teachers and retain more effective teachers for longer periods of time -- particularly in ...

'Low' Socioeconomic Status Is the Biggest Barrier to STEM Participation

A new study has found that socioeconomic status (SES) has the strongest impact on whether secondary school students study the STEM ...

UK Special School Pupils 'Treated Differently', Following Removal of Standardized Assessments

Following the recent withdrawal of standardized assessments, children with intellectual disabilities at special schools in the UK are again being treated differently to children at mainstream ...

High School GPAs Are Stronger Predictors of College Graduation Than ACT Scores

Students' high school grade point averages are five times stronger than their ACT scores at predicting college graduation, according to a new ...

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ...

A New Method for Boosting the Learning of Mathematics

How can mathematics learning in primary school be facilitated? Scientists have developed an intervention to promote the learning of math in school. Named ACE-ArithmEcole, the program is designed to ...

Genes and Family Are Biggest Predictor of Academic Success

Whether children will enjoy academic success can be now predicted at birth, a new study suggests. The study found that parents' socioeconomic status and children's inherited DNA differences ...

Smaller Class Sizes Not Always Better for Pupils, Multinational Study Shows

A new statistical analysis of data from a long-term study on the teaching of mathematics and science has found that smaller class sizes are not always associated with better pupil performance and ...

Students Do Better in School When They Can Understand, Manage Emotions

Students who are better able to understand and manage their emotions effectively, a skill known as emotional intelligence, do better at school than their less skilled peers, as measured by grades and ...

Skipping Breakfast Linked to Lower GCSE Grades

Students who rarely ate breakfast on school days achieved lower GCSE grades than those who ate breakfast frequently, according to a new ...

New Statistical Model Improves the Predictive Power of Standardized Test Scores

A study has validated a new statistical model that uses multiple standardized test scores over time to predict future academic performance. The dynamic measurement model accurately predicted academic ...

Schools Less Important Than Parents in Determining Higher Education Aspirations

A new study shows that the elementary school a child attends has almost no influence on their desire to progress to higher education -- as factors including parental aspirations, academic support ...

Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018