advertisement
Intelligence News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Brain Benefits of Exercise Can Be Gained With a Single Protein

A little-studied liver protein may be responsible for the well-known benefits of exercise on the aging brain, according to a new study in mice. The findings could lead to new therapies to confer the ...

Desk-Based Jobs May Offer Protection Against Poor Cognition in Later Life

People who work in jobs that require less physical activity - typically office and desk-based jobs - are at a lower risk of subsequent poor cognition than those whose work is more physically active, ...

Auditory Hallucinations Rooted in Aberrant Brain Connectivity

A study reports that auditory hallucinations, a phenomenon in which people hear voices or other sounds, may arise through altered brain connectivity between sensory and cognitive processing ...

Light Drinking May Protect Brain Function

Light to moderate drinking may preserve brain function in older age, according to a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:19am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Older Adults Share Fewer Memories as They Age

Researchers used a smartphone app to 'eavesdrop' on older adult conversations. They found that the older a person is, the less likely they are to share memories of past ...

New Insights Into Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers looking at mouse models found impaired functional interactions between the hippocampus and the parietal cortex during the memory replay period, which may yield new insights into ...

Brainsourcing Automatically Identifies Human Preferences

Researchers have developed a technique, using artificial intelligence, to analyze opinions and draw conclusions using the brain activity of groups of people. This technique, which the researchers ...

A Fair Reward Ensures a Good Memory

By deciphering the neural dialogue between the brain's reward and memory networks, a new study demonstrates that the lasting positive effect of a reward on the ability of individuals to retain a ...

Working in the Sun: Heating of the Head May Markedly Affect Safety and Performance

Prolonged exposure of the head to strong sunlight significantly impairs cognitively dominated functions and coordination of complex motor tasks shows a new study. This may have important implications ...

Addressing the Safety of High Folate Levels in the Older Population and Implications for Fortification in Ireland

A new study challenges claims from some international scientific circles, that having high blood levels of folate (folic acid) increases the risk of poor cognition in older adults, especially in ...

Neurons Can Shift How They Process Information About Motion

New research indicates some neurons can shift to process information about movement depending on the brain's current frame of reference. The findings may have implications for developing future ...

Intelligence Is Impacted If Born Small for Gestational Age

People born small for gestational age (SGA) have a lower IQ throughout development, however the differences in IQ to those born appropriate for gestational age (AGA) reduce by adulthood. The effects ...

Discovering How the Brain Works Through Computation

Researchers propose a new computational system to expand the understanding of the brain at an intermediate level, between neurons and cognitive phenomena such as language. They have developed a brain ...

Clues to Aging Come to Light in Vivid Snapshots of Brain Cell Links

Striking images of some five billion brain cell connections have been created by scientists, mapping a lifetime's changes across the brain in minute ...

The Brain Uses Minimum Effort to Look for Key Information in Text

The human brain avoids taking unnecessary effort. When a person is reading, she strives to gain as much information as possible by dedicating as little of her cognitive capacity as possible to the ...

Baboon Model Could Aide in Alzheimer's Disease Interventions

Scientists recently published findings indicating the baboon could prove to be a relevant model to test therapeutics and interventions for neurodegenerative diseases, such as early stage ...

Different Hormone Therapies Affect Brain Function Differently

Sex hormones influence the structure and function of the brain, but little is known about the effect of hormone therapies (HT) on changes in the brain during menopause. A new study shows smaller ...

The Neurobiology of Social Distance

A new paper explores the wide-ranging, negative consequences that social isolation has on our psychological well-being and physical health, including decreased life ...

Repetitive Negative Thinking Linked to Dementia Risk

Persistently engaging in negative thinking patterns may raise the risk of Alzheimer's disease, finds a new UCL-led study published in Alzheimer's & ...

Memory Consolidation During REM Sleep

Researchers have found that activity in adult-born neurons (ABNs) in the hippocampus, which is a brain region associated with memory, are responsible for memory consolidation during REM sleep. ...

Early-Life Education Improves Memory in Old Age -- Especially for Women

Education appears to protect older adults, especially women, against memory loss, according to a new ...

Areas of Brain Where Recognition and Identification Occur

Using ''sub-millimeter'' brain implants, researchers have been able to determine which parts of the brain are linked to facial and scene ...

Chronic Stress? Limiting Inflammatory Signaling to Specific Brain Circuits

Chronic stress is associated with the pathogenesis of psychological disorders such as depression. A study is the first to identify the role of a neuronal receptor that straddles the intersection ...

Certain Personality Traits May Affect Risk of 'Pre-Dementia'

A study examined five personality traits -- neuroticism, extraversion, conscientiousness, agreeableness, and openness -- and their links to pre-dementia conditions called motoric cognitive risk (MCR) ...

Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020