advertisement
Infant and Preschool Learning News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Infant Sleep Problems Can Signal Mental Disorders in Adolescents

Specific sleep problems among babies and very young children can be linked to mental disorders in adolescents, a new study has ...

Playtime With Dad May Improve Children's Self-Control

Children whose fathers make time to play with them from a very young age may find it easier to control their behavior and emotions as they grow up, research ...

Role-Play Shows Which Expectant Dads Will Thrive as New Fathers

A five-minute role-play done with men before the birth of their first child predicted the quality of their parenting after the baby arrived, a new study ...

Intelligence Is Impacted If Born Small for Gestational Age

People born small for gestational age (SGA) have a lower IQ throughout development, however the differences in IQ to those born appropriate for gestational age (AGA) reduce by adulthood. The effects ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:48am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Troubling Connection Between Workplace Pregnancy Discrimination and Health of Mothers, Babies

Perceived pregnancy discrimination indirectly relates to increased levels of postpartum depressive symptoms for mothers and lower birth weights, lower gestational ages and increased numbers of doctor ...

School Absenteeism Has Surprising Consequences for Adults

Kids who miss a lot of school from kindergarten to eighth grade may suffer unexpected costs as young adults, a new study finds. Researchers found that those who were more regularly absent in these ...

Presence of Spouse Alters How Parents' Brains React to Children Stimuli

A study has revealed how the physical presence of spouses who are co-parenting can alter each other's brain ...

Where You Live May Influence Your Baby's Behavior

Infants from rural families tend to display negative emotions such as anger and frustration more frequently than their urban counterparts, according to a recent study. Babies born in big cities, on ...

At 8 Months, Babies Already Know Basic Grammar

Even before uttering their first words, babies master the grammar basics of their mother tongue, according to new ...

Preterm Babies Are More Likely to Be Diagnosed With Reactive Attachment Disorder

Premature birth, low birth weight, and neonatal intensive care are associated with the risk of being diagnosed with reactive attachment disorder (RAD). The disorder causes problems in emotional ...

Poor Sleep in Infancy Linked to Behavioral and Emotional Problems in Toddlers

Disrupted and poor quality sleep in the earliest months of a child's life can be an indicator of depression, anxiety and behavioral problems among toddlers, according to a new ...

Leaving Your Baby to 'Cry It Out' Has No Adverse Effects on Child Development, Study Suggests

Leaving an infant to 'cry it out' from birth up to 18 months does not appear to adversely affect their behavior development or attachment. Researchers also discovered that those left to cry ...

Persistent Sleep Difficulties in Infancy Linked to Heightened Risk of Childhood Anxieties

Persistent sleep difficulties during the first 12 months of life are linked to a heightened risk of developing childhood anxieties and emotional disorders, indicates ...

For Anxious Spouses, a Baby May Be a Rival

A new child can spark feelings of jealousy in a person who already fears being abandoned by his or her partner, research suggests. A new study found that partners who showed signs of relationship ...

Earliest Look at Newborns' Visual Cortex Reveals the Minds Babies Start With

Within hours of birth, a baby's gaze is drawn to faces. Now, brain scans of newborns reveal the neurobiology underlying this behavior, showing that as young as six days old a baby's brain ...

Babies from Bilingual Homes Switch Attention Faster

Babies born into bilingual homes change the focus of their attention more quickly and more frequently than babies in homes where only one language is spoken, according to new ...

A Smart Jumpsuit Provides Information on Infants' Movement and Development

A new innovation makes it possible, for the first time, to quantitatively assess children's spontaneous movement in the natural ...

Babies Mimic Songs, Study Finds

Researchers -- and parents -- have long known that babies learn to speak by mimicking the words they hear. But a new study shows that babies also might try to imitate the singing they hear in ...

Component of Human Breast Milk Enhances Cognitive Development in Babies

Investigators show that early exposure to a carbohydrate found in breast milk, called 2'FL, positively influences ...

New Study Provides Criteria for Good Infant Sleep for the First Time

According to a new study, sleep problems among infants are very common and normally improve by the time the child reaches the age of ...

Altruistic Babies? Infants Are Willing to Give Up Food, Help Others

New research finds that altruism may begin in infancy. In a study of nearly 100 19-month-olds, researchers found that children, even when hungry, gave a tasty snack to a stranger in ...

'Parentese' Helps Parents, Babies Make 'Conversation' and Boosts Language Development

A new study finds the value of using 'parentese,' an exaggerated speaking style that conveys total engagement with a ...

Early Life Experiences Biologically and Functionally Mature the Brain

Experiences early in life have an impact on the brain's biological and functional development, shows a new study by a team of ...

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ...

Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019