advertisement
Infant and Preschool Learning News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Perfectionists May Be More Prone to Helicopter Parenting

The negative effects of over-parenting on children are well documented, but less is known about why certain people become helicopter parents. A new study suggests perfectionism is one ...

Why Babies Don't Always Remember What They Have Learned

If and how babies recall what they have learned depends on their mood: what they've learned when feeling calm is inaccessible when they're acitive and vice versa. This was shown in a study with 96 ...

Naming Guides How 12-Month-Old Infants Encode and Remember Objects

Even for infants just beginning to speak their first words, the way an object is named guides infants' encoding, representation and memory for that object, according to new research. Encoding objects ...

Toddlers Who Use Touchscreens Show Attention Differences

New research from the TABLET project recruited 12-month-old infants who had different levels of touchscreen ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Children Notice Race Several Years Before Adults Want to Talk About It

Adults in the United States believe children should be almost 5 years old before talking with them about race, even though some infants are aware of race and preschoolers may have already developed ...

Helicopter Parents Should Step Back and Watch, Study Recommends

Researchers conducted the world's first data-driven study of parenting classes based on the Respectful Approach intervention. The Respectful Approach, modeled on Resources for Infant Educators ...

Troubling Connection Between Workplace Pregnancy Discrimination and Health of Mothers, Babies

Perceived pregnancy discrimination indirectly relates to increased levels of postpartum depressive symptoms for mothers and lower birth weights, lower gestational ages and increased numbers of doctor ...

School Absenteeism Has Surprising Consequences for Adults

Kids who miss a lot of school from kindergarten to eighth grade may suffer unexpected costs as young adults, a new study finds. Researchers found that those who were more regularly absent in these ...

Intelligence Is Impacted If Born Small for Gestational Age

People born small for gestational age (SGA) have a lower IQ throughout development, however the differences in IQ to those born appropriate for gestational age (AGA) reduce by adulthood. The effects ...

Some Infants Can Identify Differences in Musical Tones at Six Months

Neuroscientists suggest the capacity to hear the highs and lows, also known as the major and minor notes in music, may come before you take a single lesson; you may actually be born with it. The ...

Babies Know When You Imitate Them -- And Like It

Six-month old infants recognize when adults imitate them, and perceive imitators as more friendly, according to a new study. The babies looked and smiled longer at an adult who imitated them, as ...

Presence of Spouse Alters How Parents' Brains React to Children Stimuli

A study has revealed how the physical presence of spouses who are co-parenting can alter each other's brain ...

Sleep Difficulties Linked to Altered Brain Development in Infants Who Later Develop Autism

New research finds that sleep problems in a baby's first 12 months may not only precede an autism diagnosis, but also may be associated with altered growth trajectory in a key part of the brain, ...

'Terrible Twos' Not Inevitable: With Engaged Parenting, Happy Babies Can Become Happy Toddlers

Parents should not feel pressured to make their young children undertake structured learning or achieve specific tasks, particularly during lockdown. A new study of children under the age of two has ...

Time on Screens Has Little Impact on Kids' Social Skills, Study Suggests

Despite the time spent with smartphones and social media, young people today are just as socially skilled as those from the previous generation, a new study ...

Young Children Find a Parent's Hug More Calming Than a Stranger's

For infants as young as four months, a hug from a parent makes all the difference. A study examined heart rate responses in infants less than one year old during a hug and found that children as ...

Babies Retain Even Detailed Events During a Nap

While sleeping the brain goes through previously experienced things, consolidates new memory contents and summarizes similar experiences into more general knowledge. This also applies to babies. ...

Spina Bifida Surgery Before Birth Restores Brain Structure

Surgery performed on a fetus in the womb to repair defects from spina bifida triggers the body's ability to restore normal brain structure, new research has ...

Mother/infant Skin-to-Skin Touch Boosts Baby's Brain Development and Function

New research shows that extended use of Kangaroo Care, a skin-to-skin, chest-to-chest method of caring for a baby, can positively benefit full-term infants and their mothers, with important ...

Where You Live May Influence Your Baby's Behavior

Infants from rural families tend to display negative emotions such as anger and frustration more frequently than their urban counterparts, according to a recent study. Babies born in big cities, on ...

At 8 Months, Babies Already Know Basic Grammar

Even before uttering their first words, babies master the grammar basics of their mother tongue, according to new ...

Preterm Babies Are More Likely to Be Diagnosed With Reactive Attachment Disorder

Premature birth, low birth weight, and neonatal intensive care are associated with the risk of being diagnosed with reactive attachment disorder (RAD). The disorder causes problems in emotional ...

Poor Sleep in Infancy Linked to Behavioral and Emotional Problems in Toddlers

Disrupted and poor quality sleep in the earliest months of a child's life can be an indicator of depression, anxiety and behavioral problems among toddlers, according to a new ...

Leaving Your Baby to 'Cry It Out' Has No Adverse Effects on Child Development, Study Suggests

Leaving an infant to 'cry it out' from birth up to 18 months does not appear to adversely affect their behavior development or attachment. Researchers also discovered that those left to cry ...

Thursday, August 27, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019