advertisement
Illegal Drugs News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Cannabis Strength Soars Over Past Half Century

Largest study on how cannabis has changed over time finds increased strength putting consumers at greater risk of ...

Dopamine Surge Reveals How Even for Mice, 'There's No Place Like Home'

''There's no place like home,'' has its roots deep in the brain. Using fiber photometry, scientists are the first to show that home evokes a surge of dopamine in mice that mimics the response to a ...

Cannabis Reduces OCD Symptoms by Half in the Short-Term

People with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) report that the severity of symptoms was reduced by about half within four hours of smoking cannabis. After smoking cannabis, users with OCD reported ...

More Young Adults Are Abstaining from Alcohol

Fewer college-age Americans drink alcohol, compared to nearly 20 years ago, according to a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:01pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Sleep-Deprived Mice Find Cocaine More Rewarding

Sleep deprivation may pave the way to cocaine addiction. Too-little sleep can increase the rewarding properties of cocaine, according to new ...

Cannabis Use Appears to Encourage, Not Replace, Non-Medical Opioid Use

Contrary to some claims, people in the US may not be substituting cannabis for opioids, New research examined the direction and strength of association between cannabis and opioid use among adults ...

Pandemic Sets Off Future Wave of Worsening Mental Health Issues

Long after a COVID-19 vaccination is developed and years after the coronavirus death toll is tallied, the impact on mental health will linger, continuing to inflict damage if not addressed, according ...

Look Beyond Opioids to Solve National Substance Use Epidemic

A new study published reveals that three-quarters of participants in an inpatient addiction intervention program came into the hospital using more than one substance. The findings suggests that a ...

Rates of E-Cigarette and Marijuana Use Not Associated With Vaping-Related Lung Injuries, Study Finds

Higher rates of e-cigarette and marijuana use in U.S. states did not result in more e-cigarette or vaping-related lung injuries (known as EVALI), a new study from the Yale School of Public Health ...

Legal Marijuana May Be Slowing Reductions in Teen Marijuana Use

A longitudinal study of more than 230 teens and young adults in Washington state finds that teens may be more likely to use marijuana following legalization - with the proliferation of stores and ...

A Complex Gene Program Initiates Brain Changes in Response to Cocaine

Researchers used single-nucleus RNA sequencing to compare transcriptional responses to acute cocaine in 16 unique cell populations from the brain nucleus accumbens. The atlas is part of a major study ...

Motherhood Overrides the Brain's Decision-Making

Motherhood takes over the brain's decision-making regions to prioritize caring for offspring, according to new ...

Marijuana Concentrates Spike THC Levels but Don't Boost Impairment

A study of 121 regular users of legal market cannabis found that higher potency does not necessarily mean greater intoxication. It also found that while balance and memory are impaired immediately ...

Cannabis Temporarily Relieves PTSD Symptoms, Study Suggests

People suffering from post-traumatic distress disorder report that cannabis reduces the severity of their symptoms by more than half, at least in the short term, according to a recent ...

Some People Are Easily Addicted to Drugs, but Others Are Not

Researchers have discovered that dopamine D2 receptors (DRD2s) in cholinergic interneurons (ChINs) play a crucial role in cocaine ...

New Molecule Stops Drug Cravings in Mice, With Fewer Side Effects

Researchers have developed a synthetic molecule that selectively controls the physiological rewards of cocaine in mice. It also may represent a new class of small-molecule drugs that are more ...

Users of High-Potency Cannabis Four Times More Likely to Report Associated Problems

Users of high-potency cannabis are four times more likely to report associated problems, and twice as likely to report anxiety disorder, than users of lower-potency strains, according to new ...

Legal Cannabis Hemp Oil Effectively Treats Chronic Neuropathic Pain

Researchers examine the effectiveness of consuming hemp oil extracted from the whole cannabis plant using a chronic neuropathic pain animal model. Researchers showed that legal cannabis hemp oil ...

Minimum Legal Age for Cannabis Use Should Be 19, Study Suggests

The optimal minimum legal age for non-medical cannabis use is 19 years of age, according to a new ...

Researchers Develop Chemistry Needed to Create Marijuana Breathalyzer

Chemists report the key chemical discovery necessary for the creation of a small, electronic marijuana ...

Holistic Approach Best for Tackling Nonmedical Drug Use, Study Finds

Health practitioners are constantly developing new ways to help those with drug and alcohol addictions wean themselves from their substance of choice. Most such programs have limited success, ...

How Much Does It Cost California Cannabis Growers to Safety Test?

The high cost of testing cannabis in California leads to higher prices for the consumer, which could drive consumers to unlicensed markets. A new study finds the safety tests cost growers about 10 ...

New Study Could Lead to Therapeutic Interventions to Treat Cocaine Addiction

A new study explains how cocaine modifies functions in the brain revealing a potential target for therapies aimed at treating cocaine ...

Early Exposure to Cannabis Boosts Young Brains' Sensitivity to Cocaine, Rodent Study Finds

Cannabis use makes young brains more sensitive to the first exposure to cocaine, according to a new study on rodents. By monitoring the brains of both adolescent and adult rats after giving them ...

Monday, November 2, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019