advertisement
Illegal Drugs News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Study of Siblings Finds Moderate Cannabis Use Impacts Cognitive Functioning

A new study compares adolescent siblings to determine the impact of early and frequent use of marijuana on cognitive function. This study contrasts with previous studies by finding that moderate ...

Marijuana Use While Pregnant Boosts Risk of Children's Sleep Problems

As many as 7% of moms-to-be use marijuana while pregnant, and that number is rising fast as more use it to quell morning sickness. But new research suggests such use could have a lasting impact on ...

Marijuana Concentrates Spike THC Levels but Don't Boost Impairment

A study of 121 regular users of legal market cannabis found that higher potency does not necessarily mean greater intoxication. It also found that while balance and memory are impaired immediately ...

Teens Are Using a Highly Potent Form of Marijuana

Nearly one in four Arizona teens have used a highly potent form of marijuana known as marijuana concentrate, according to a new study. Among nearly 50,000 eighth, 10th, and 12th graders from the 2018 ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Look Beyond Opioids to Solve National Substance Use Epidemic

A new study published reveals that three-quarters of participants in an inpatient addiction intervention program came into the hospital using more than one substance. The findings suggests that a ...

Rates of E-Cigarette and Marijuana Use Not Associated With Vaping-Related Lung Injuries, Study Finds

Higher rates of e-cigarette and marijuana use in U.S. states did not result in more e-cigarette or vaping-related lung injuries (known as EVALI), a new study from the Yale School of Public Health ...

Legal Marijuana May Be Slowing Reductions in Teen Marijuana Use

A longitudinal study of more than 230 teens and young adults in Washington state finds that teens may be more likely to use marijuana following legalization - with the proliferation of stores and ...

A Complex Gene Program Initiates Brain Changes in Response to Cocaine

Researchers used single-nucleus RNA sequencing to compare transcriptional responses to acute cocaine in 16 unique cell populations from the brain nucleus accumbens. The atlas is part of a major study ...

Motherhood Overrides the Brain's Decision-Making

Motherhood takes over the brain's decision-making regions to prioritize caring for offspring, according to new ...

Some People Are Easily Addicted to Drugs, but Others Are Not

Researchers have discovered that dopamine D2 receptors (DRD2s) in cholinergic interneurons (ChINs) play a crucial role in cocaine ...

Users of High-Potency Cannabis Four Times More Likely to Report Associated Problems

Users of high-potency cannabis are four times more likely to report associated problems, and twice as likely to report anxiety disorder, than users of lower-potency strains, according to new ...

Researchers Develop Chemistry Needed to Create Marijuana Breathalyzer

Chemists report the key chemical discovery necessary for the creation of a small, electronic marijuana ...

Holistic Approach Best for Tackling Nonmedical Drug Use, Study Finds

Health practitioners are constantly developing new ways to help those with drug and alcohol addictions wean themselves from their substance of choice. Most such programs have limited success, ...

How Much Does It Cost California Cannabis Growers to Safety Test?

The high cost of testing cannabis in California leads to higher prices for the consumer, which could drive consumers to unlicensed markets. A new study finds the safety tests cost growers about 10 ...

New Study Could Lead to Therapeutic Interventions to Treat Cocaine Addiction

A new study explains how cocaine modifies functions in the brain revealing a potential target for therapies aimed at treating cocaine ...

Early Exposure to Cannabis Boosts Young Brains' Sensitivity to Cocaine, Rodent Study Finds

Cannabis use makes young brains more sensitive to the first exposure to cocaine, according to a new study on rodents. By monitoring the brains of both adolescent and adult rats after giving them ...

Frequent Cannabis Users Are Way Too High ... in Their Estimates of Cannabinoids

Researchers surveyed nearly 500 Hash Bash attendees, asking them to fill out a 24-item questionnaire. Participants were asked to fill in, in milligrams, the amounts they considered to be effective ...

Novel Role for Dopamine That Impacts Gene Expression Related to Cocaine Abuse

Scientists have discovered a new role for the brain chemical dopamine that is independent of classic neurotransmission. The new role appears to be critical to changes in gene expression related to ...

Whether Marijuana Helps With Pain Is Unclear

Medical marijuana users who say they have high levels of pain are more likely than those with low pain to say they use cannabis three or more times a day, a new study finds. However, daily marijuana ...

Marijuana May Impair Female Fertility

Female eggs exposed to THC, the psychoactive ingredient in marijuana, have an impaired ability to produce viable embryos, and are significantly less likely to result in a viable pregnancy, according ...

Saliva Test for Cannabis Could Someday Help Identify Impaired Drivers

Those who consume alcohol and drive are often subjected to roadside stops, breathalyzer tests and stiff penalties if their blood alcohol content exceeds certain limits. Currently, no such test exists ...

New Research Sheds Light on Potentially Negative Effects of Cannabis

Coughing fits, anxiety and paranoia are three of the most common adverse reactions to cannabis, according to a recent ...

Legal Marijuana Products Too Strong for Pain Relief

More than 90% of the legal marijuana products offered in medical dispensaries are much stronger than what clinical studies have shown that doctors recommend for chronic pain relief, according to a ...

Populations Most at Risk of Opiate Addiction

Researchers found that white males ages 30 to 39 were most at risk of fatal overdoses in Ohio. The study also identified 12 clusters in the state where overdose rates were ...

Friday, August 28, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019