advertisement
Gender Difference News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Completing the Set: 'Coupon-Collection Behavior' Reduces Sex-Ratio Variation Among Families

A new analysis of sibling records from more than 300,000 individuals suggests that some parents continue to reproduce until they have children of ...

Laughter Acts as a Stress Buffer -- And Even Smiling Helps

People who laugh frequently in their everyday lives may be better equipped to deal with stressful events - although this does not seem to apply to the intensity of ...

Study Asks Who's Playing 'Hard-to-Get' and Who's Attracted by the Ploy

New research looks at the psychological underpinnings of making yourself seem more desirable by withholding obvious signs of romantic ...

Women's Communication Shapes Division of Labor in Household

Partner communication is the most important factor linking the division of household labor to satisfaction in the relationship, according to researchers. But the way that the partners' communication ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:01pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Language May Undermine Women in Science and Tech

Researchers examined gender stereotypes baked into 25 languages to explore why fewer women enter science, technology, engineering and mathematics ...

Brain Cell Types Identified That May Push Males to Fight and Have Sex

Two groups of nerve cells may serve as ''on-off switches'' for male mating and aggression, suggests a new study in rodents. These neurons appear to send signals between two parts ...

Prospective Teachers Misperceive Black Children as Angry

New research finds that prospective teachers appear more likely to misperceive Black children as angry than white children, which may undermine the education of Black ...

Implicit Bias Against Women: Men More Likely Than Women to Be Seen as Brilliant

Men are more likely than are women to be seen as ''brilliant,'' finds a new study measuring global perceptions linked to gender. The work concludes that these stereotyped views ...

Achievement Isn't Why More Men Are Majoring in Physics, Engineering and Computer Science

Researchers have found that the reason there are more undergraduate men than women majoring in physics, engineering and computer science is not because men are higher achievers. On the contrary, the ...

Age Discrimination Laws Don't Protect Older Women as They Do Older Men

Older women in the workforce should be considered collectively as a unique demographic group that includes both gender and age if they're to receive adequate protection against workplace ...

Media Stereotypes Confound Kids' Science Ambitions

White lab coats and dangerous experiments all epitomize the 'mad scientist' from many a Hollywood blockbuster but, even beyond the silver screen, the stereotype lives on, and according to ...

Women Are Told More White Lies in Evaluations Than Men

So-called "white lies" - telling a spouse you like their sub-par cooking, or praising a friend's unflattering haircut - serve a purpose. But they can cause problems in the workplace, ...

People Think Robots Are Pretty Incompetent and Not Funny, New Study Says

Detecting gender bias against robots was the original intent of a study that revealed two surprises: The gender bias didn't appear. In its place, people were predisposed to find robots mostly ...

Women's Heart Attack Symptoms Are Not All That Different

The top three heart attack symptoms in both women and men are chest pain, sweating, and shortness of breath, reports a new ...

Different Trigger Points for Seeking Healthcare May Explain Gender Divide

Men might not be more reluctant to see a doctor than women are, as is popularly believed, but may simply have different trigger points for seeking ...

Red-Flagging Misinformation Could Slow the Spread of Fake News on Social Media

A new study on the spread of disinformation reveals that pairing headlines with credibility alerts from fact checkers, the public, news media and even AI, can reduce peoples' intention to share. ...

Children Who Hold 'Benevolent' Sexist Views Are Also Likely to Possess 'Hostile' Ones

Children who hold seemingly positive, 'benevolent' views about women are also likely to hold negative ones, a team of psychology researchers has found. Their results also show differences ...

Gender-Based Violence in the COVID-19 Pandemic

Gender-based violence has been shown to increase during global emergencies. In a new paper, researchers report that according to early evidence it is the same for the COVID-19 ...

Disagreements Help Team Perception

Team disagreements might be the key to helping soldiers identify objects in battle, researchers ...

Men Pose More Risk to Other Road Users Than Women

Men pose more risk to other road users than women do and they are more likely to drive more dangerous vehicles, reveals the first study of its ...

Movement Toward Gender Equality Has Slowed in Some Areas, Stalled in Others

Women have made progress in earning college degrees as well as in pay and in occupations once largely dominated by men since 1970 -- but the pace of gains in many areas linked to professional ...

Video Game Experience, Gender May Improve VR Learning

Students who used immersive virtual reality (VR) did not learn significantly better than those who used two more traditional forms of learning, but they vastly preferred the VR to computer-simulated ...

Female Lifespan Is Longer in Wild Mammal Animals Than in Humans

Longer lives are not only for female humans: Mammalian female's average lifespan is 18.6% longer than that of males. In humans the female advantage is on average ...

More Men, More Problems? Not Necessarily

Men are more prone to competitive risk taking and violent behavior, so what happens when the number of men is greater than the number of women in a population? According to new research, the answers ...

Monday, August 3, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019