advertisement
Gender Difference News
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Study Links Eating Disorders With Body Dysmorphia

People with eating disorders are 12 times more likely to be preoccupied with perceived flaws in their physical appearance than those without, according to new ...

Gender Harassment and Institutional Betrayal in High School Take Toll on Mental Health

High school students who endure gender harassment in schools that don't respond well enter college and adulthood with potential mental health ...

New Study Explores If Flirting Is Real and Shows It Can Work

Misunderstandings about flirting can potentially result in awkwardness or even accusations of sexual harassment. How can we figure out what other people mean when they smile at us? Is there a unique, ...

Sex Differences in Health and Disease

Researchers have reviewed current research into patterns of sex differences in gene expression across the genome, and highlights sampling biases in the human populations included in such ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:31am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Gender, Age Divide in New Bullying Study

Students' emotional resilience is linked to their chances of being victimized, with less resilient students more likely to suffer from harassment, new research shows. Researchers also found that ...

COVID-19 Anxiety Linked to Body Image Issues

A new study has found that anxiety and stress directly linked to COVID-19 could be causing a number of body image issues. The research, which involved 506 UK adults, found that worries linked to ...

How Is STEM Children's Programming Prioritizing Diversity?

The first large-scale analysis of characters featured in STEM-related educational programming revealed that of the characters appearing in STEM television programming for kids ages 3 to 6, Latinx and ...

Men Less Likely to See Food as National Security Issue Amid Pandemic, Study Finds

On average, men not only showed less empathy toward temporary agricultural laborers but also were less likely to see food supply and production as national security issues, according to a new ...

Discrimination Contributes to Poorer Heart Health for LGBTQ Adults

The majority of LGBTQ adults report experiencing discrimination from a health care professional. Compared to cisgender heterosexual adults, LGBTQ populations experience multi-level, psychological and ...

Women Are More Concerned About COVID-19 Than Men, Study Finds

A new study finds that women are more concerned about COVID-19 than men, a difference that transcends party lines. This female perspective towards the pandemic may be overlooked due to the ...

Same-Gender Couples Interact Better Than Heterosexual Couples, Study Finds

Same-gender couples have higher-quality interactions with one another than heterosexual couples in Southern California, a new study finds. The study also holds that couples with two men have the ...

Women More Likely to Embrace Behaviors Aimed at Preventing the Spread of COVID-19

Women are more likely than are men to follow guidelines outlined by medical experts to prevent the spread of COVID-19, new research ...

Personal Interactions Are Important Drivers of STEM Identity in Girls

Researchers found that nuanced interactions between teachers and campers at a coding camp for middle school girls as well as among the girls themselves impacted how girls viewed themselves as ...

When It Comes to Supporting Candidates, Ideology Trumps Race and Gender

Voters who express prejudice against minorities and women are still more likely to support candidates who most closely align with their ideologies, regardless of the race or sex of such candidates, ...

Women Less Likely to Receive Pay for College Internships

The odds of women receiving pay for a college internship are 34% lower than for men, according to new ...

Language May Undermine Women in Science and Tech

Researchers examined gender stereotypes baked into 25 languages to explore why fewer women enter science, technology, engineering and mathematics ...

Brain Cell Types Identified That May Push Males to Fight and Have Sex

Two groups of nerve cells may serve as ''on-off switches'' for male mating and aggression, suggests a new study in rodents. These neurons appear to send signals between two parts ...

Prospective Teachers Misperceive Black Children as Angry

New research finds that prospective teachers appear more likely to misperceive Black children as angry than white children, which may undermine the education of Black ...

Implicit Bias Against Women: Men More Likely Than Women to Be Seen as Brilliant

Men are more likely than are women to be seen as ''brilliant,'' finds a new study measuring global perceptions linked to gender. The work concludes that these stereotyped views ...

Achievement Isn't Why More Men Are Majoring in Physics, Engineering and Computer Science

Researchers have found that the reason there are more undergraduate men than women majoring in physics, engineering and computer science is not because men are higher achievers. On the contrary, the ...

Age Discrimination Laws Don't Protect Older Women as They Do Older Men

Older women in the workforce should be considered collectively as a unique demographic group that includes both gender and age if they're to receive adequate protection against workplace ...

Women Generate Lower Travel-Related Greenhouse Gas Emissions

Women use more diverse modes of travel and generate lower greenhouse gas emissions than men, despite men being more than twice as likely to travel by bike, a new study has ...

Women's Communication Shapes Division of Labor in Household

Partner communication is the most important factor linking the division of household labor to satisfaction in the relationship, according to researchers. But the way that the partners' ...

Media Stereotypes Confound Kids' Science Ambitions

White lab coats and dangerous experiments all epitomize the 'mad scientist' from many a Hollywood blockbuster but, even beyond the silver screen, the stereotype lives on, and according to ...

Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019