advertisement
Educational Psychology News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Animals Who Try to Sound 'Bigger' Are Good at Learning Sounds

Some animals fake their body size by sounding 'bigger' than they actually are. Researchers studied 164 different mammals and found that animals who lower their voice to sound bigger are often skilled ...

Playtime With Dad May Improve Children's Self-Control

Children whose fathers make time to play with them from a very young age may find it easier to control their behavior and emotions as they grow up, research ...

A Shorter IQ Test for Children With Special Needs

For decades, neuropsychologists have used the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children test as the gold-standard intelligence quotient (IQ) test to determine the intellectual abilities of children ...

Faulty Brain Processing of New Information Underlies Psychotic Delusions

Problems in how the brain recognizes and processes novel information lie at the root of psychosis, researchers have found. Their discovery that defective brain signals in patients with psychosis ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:19pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Study: More Than Half of US Students Experience Summer Learning Losses Five Years in a Row

Following U.S. students across five summers between grades 1 and 6, a little more than half (52 percent) experienced learning losses in all five summers, according to a large national study. Students ...

Prospective Teachers Misperceive Black Children as Angry

New research finds that prospective teachers appear more likely to misperceive Black children as angry than white children, which may undermine the education of Black ...

School Absenteeism Has Surprising Consequences for Adults

Kids who miss a lot of school from kindergarten to eighth grade may suffer unexpected costs as young adults, a new study finds. Researchers found that those who were more regularly absent in these ...

Older Adults Share Fewer Memories as They Age

Researchers used a smartphone app to 'eavesdrop' on older adult conversations. They found that the older a person is, the less likely they are to share memories of past ...

Using LEGO to Test Children's Ability to Visualize and Rotate 3D Shapes in Space

Researchers have developed a test that uses children's ability to assemble LEGO pieces to assess their spatial visualization ability. Spatial visualization is the ability to visualize 3D shapes ...

How Effective Are Language Learning Apps?

Researchers recently conducted a study focusing on Babbel, a popular subscription-based language learning app and e-learning platform, to see if it really worked at teaching a new ...

For University Classrooms, Are Telepresence Robots the Next Best Thing to Being There?

Telepresence robots help university students learning remotely to feel more a part of the class, new research ...

Early-Life Education Improves Memory in Old Age -- Especially for Women

Education appears to protect older adults, especially women, against memory loss, according to a new ...

Adult Neurogenesis Essential for Sleep-Induced Memory Consolidation in Mice

Adult neurogenesis, in which new neurons are generated within the hippocampus in the fully developed adult brain, occurs in mice -- but how new neurons are functionally integrated into existing brain ...

Mindfulness Improves Decision-Making, Attention in Children With Autism

School-based mindfulness programs show promise in teaching children with autism to better control impulses, according to new ...

Previously Claimed Memory Boosting Font 'Sans Forgetica' Does Not Actually Boost Memory

It was previously claimed that the font Sans Forgetica could enhance people's memory for information, however researchers have found after carrying out numerous experiments that the font does ...

New Linguistic Findings on the Prevalence of 'LOL'

A new study involving a scientific analysis of the prevalence of 'LOL' in students' text messages demonstrates important potential applications for classroom ...

Surging Numbers of First-Generation Learners Being Left Behind in Global Education

'First-generation learners' -- a substantial number of pupils around the world who represent the first generation in their families to receive an education - are also significantly more ...

Parents With Degrees Give Their Children Significant Advantage in Math

Children of parents with a degree are almost a year of schooling ahead in math by the age 11 than peers whose parents have just GCSEs, a new study has ...

How Does the Brain Link Events to Form a Memory? Study Reveals Unexpected Mental Processes

The brain has a powerful ability to remember and connect events separated in time. And now, in a new study in mice, scientists have shed light on how the brain can form such enduring ...

Lipid Metabolism Controls Brain Development

A lipid metabolism enzyme controls brain stem cell activity and lifelong brain development. If the enzyme does not work correctly, it causes learning and memory deficits in humans and mice, as ...

'Terrible Twos' Not Inevitable: With Engaged Parenting, Happy Babies Can Become Happy Toddlers

Parents should not feel pressured to make their young children undertake structured learning or achieve specific tasks, particularly during lockdown. A new study of children under the age of two has ...

How Synaptic Changes Translate to Behavior Changes

Learning changes behavior by altering many connections between brain cells in a variety of ways all at the same time, according to a study of sea slugs. The findings offer insight into how human ...

Exercise Boosts Motor Skill Learning Via Changes in Brain's Transmitters

Comparing the brains of mice that exercised with those that did not, researchers found that specific neurotransmitters switched following sustained exercise, leading to improved learning for ...

Children Who Have Difficult Relationships With Their Moms Are Clingy Towards Teachers

Children who experience 'dependent' or clingy relationships with their preschool teachers tend to also have difficulties in their relationships with their mothers finds researchers. They ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019