advertisement
Depression News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Major Depressive Episodes Far More Common Than Previously Believed

The number of adults in the United States who suffer from major depressive episodes at some point in their life is far higher than previously believed, a new study ...

Lithium in Drinking Water Linked With Lower Suicide Rates

Naturally occurring lithium in public drinking water may have an anti-suicidal effect - according to a new study. The study collated research from around the world and found that geographical areas ...

Apathy Not Depression Helps to Predict Dementia

Apathy offers an important early warning sign of dementia in individuals with cerebrovascular disease, but depression does not, new research ...

Therapy Delivered Electronically More Effective Than Face to Face

In this evidence review, researchers identified 17 randomized control trials comparing therapist-supported cognitive behavioural therapy delivered electronically to face to face cognitive behavioural ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

COVID-19 Increased Anxiety, Depression for Already Stressed College Students

College students were more anxious, depressed and sedentary during the initial outbreak of COVID-19 than they were during similar academic terms in other years, according to a multiyear study using ...

Unexpected Mental Illnesses Found in a Spectrum of a Rare Genetic Disorder

Researchers found an unexpected spectrum of mental illnesses in patients with a rare gene mutation. These patients had a ''double hit'' condition that combined features and ...

Brain Research Sheds Light on the Molecular Mechanisms of Depression

A new study reveals how symptoms indicating depression and anxiety are linked to brain function changes already in healthy ...

Depression Associated With Greater Risk of Cardiovascular Disease

A new study provides further evidence of the link between depressive symptoms and an increased risk of heart disease and early ...

Research Delves Into Causes of Nightmares That Shadow Female Survivors of Sexual Trauma

A new study attempts to shed light on triggers of post-trauma nightmare occurrences -- a topic that has received scant ...

Adult Stem Cell Study Shows Fish Oil May Help With Depression

A new study shows that patient-derived adult stem cells can be used to model major depressive disorder and test how a patient may respond to medication and that fish oil, when tested in the model, ...

Repetitive Negative Thinking Linked to Dementia Risk

Persistently engaging in negative thinking patterns may raise the risk of Alzheimer's disease, finds a new UCL-led study published in Alzheimer's & ...

Chronic Stress? Limiting Inflammatory Signaling to Specific Brain Circuits

Chronic stress is associated with the pathogenesis of psychological disorders such as depression. A study is the first to identify the role of a neuronal receptor that straddles the intersection ...

Survey Finds Large Increase in Psychological Distress Reported Among US Adults During the COVID-19 Pandemic

A new survey conducted during the COVID-19 pandemic found a more-than-threefold increase in the percentage of US adults who reported symptoms of psychological distress -- from 3.9 percent in 2018 to ...

Cognitive Behavior Therapy Tops Other Psychotherapies in Reducing Inflammation

A review of 56 randomized clinical trials finds that psychological and behavioral therapies may be effective non-drug treatments for reducing disease-causing inflammation in the ...

How Ketamine Combats Depression

The anaesthetic drug ketamine has been shown, in low doses, to have a rapid effect on difficult-to-treat depression. Researchers now report that they have identified a key target for the drug: ...

Impact of Children's Loneliness Today Could Manifest in Depression for Years to Come

A rapid review into the mental health impacts of loneliness on children and young people concludes that there could be a spike in demand for mental health services in the years to ...

Depression Viewed Differently When Thought to Be Biological

People who believe more strongly that depression is biologically caused also tend to think it is more severe and long lasting, compared to those who see less of a role for biological causes, a new ...

New Approach to Some Mental Disorders

Depression, anxiety and PTSD might not be disorders at all, according to biological anthropologists. In the paper, the researchers propose a new approach to mental illness that would be informed by ...

Coronavirus Infections May Lead to Delirium and Potentially PTSD

People taken ill by coronavirus infections may experience psychiatric problems while hospitalized and potentially after they recover, research ...

How Experiencing Traumatic Stress Leads to Aggression

Traumatic stress can cause aggression by strengthening two brain pathways involved in emotion, according to new research. Targeting those pathways via deep brain stimulation may stymie aggression ...

Personal Accounts of Childhood Maltreatment Matter More for Mental Health Than Records

Personal accounts of childhood maltreatment show a stronger association with psychiatric problems compared to legal proof that maltreatment occurred, according to a new ...

Is Video Game Addiction Real?

A recent six-year study, the longest study ever done on video game addiction, found that about 90% of gamers do not play in a way that is harmful or causes negative long-term consequences. A ...

Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation Is a Safe Treatment

Transcranial direct current stimulation, tDCS, is a promising treatment for conditions such as depression and addictive disorders. New evidence on the safety of transcranial direct current ...

'Loss of Pleasure' Found in Teen Sleep Study

Sleep patterns around the world have been disrupted as screen time increases and sleep routines change with COVID-19 self-isolation requirements. Negative mood is not unusual in adolescence, but lack ...

Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019