advertisement
Dementia News
September 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Biomarker Indicating Neurodegeneration Identified in the Eye

A new study indicates a well-known biomarker that serves as a marker for earlier diagnosis of neurodegenerative diseases is now detectable in the eye. Neurofilament light chain, a protein previously ...

Concussion Discovery Reveals Dire, Unknown Effect of Even Mild Brain Injuries

Even mild concussions cause severe and long-lasting impairments in the brain's ability to clean itself, and this may seed it for Alzheimer's, ...

Vitamin B1 Deficiency a Key Factor in the Development of Alcohol-Related Dementia

A research group has now developed a hypothesis whereby iron deposits in the brain -- resulting from alcohol-induced vitamin B1 deficiency -- can be ...

Common Class of Drugs Linked to Increased Risk of Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers report that a class of drugs used for a broad array of conditions, from allergies and colds to hypertension and urinary incontinence, may be associated with an increased risk of cognitive ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Older People With Early, Asymptomatic Alzheimer's at Risk of Falls

Older people without cognitive problems who experience a fall may have undetected neurodegeneration in their brains that puts them at high risk of developing Alzheimer's dementia, according to a ...

Lifestyle Improvements May Lessen Cognitive Decline

Results from a new study suggest that lifestyle changes may help to improve cognition in older adults experiencing cognitive decline that precedes ...

Lumpy Proteins Stiffen Blood Vessels of the Brain

Deposits of a protein called 'Medin', which manifest in virtually all older adults, reduce the elasticity of blood vessels during aging and hence may be a risk factor for vascular ...

Brain Remapping Dysfunction Causes Spatial Memory Impairment in Alzheimer's Disease

A research group elucidated the brain circuit mechanism that cause of spatial memory impairment in Alzheimer's disease. In the future, improving brain remapping function may reverse spatial ...

Schooling Is Critical for Cognitive Health Throughout Life

New research suggests that education provides little to no protection against the onset of cognitive declines later in life. It can, however, boost the cognitive skills people develop earlier in ...

People Who Feel Dizzy When They Stand Up May Have Higher Risk of Dementia

Some people who feel dizzy or lightheaded when they stand up may have an increased risk of developing dementia years later, according to a new study. The condition, called orthostatic hypotension, ...

Education May Be Protective for People With Gene for Familial Early Onset Alzheimer's

Even for people who carry the gene for early onset Alzheimer's disease, more years of education may slow the development of beta-amyloid plaques in the brain that are associated with the ...

New Study Shows How Infrared Lasers Destroy Harmful Protein Aggregates in Alzheimer's

The agglomeration of proteins into structures called amyloid plaques is a common feature of many neurodegenerative diseases, including Alzheimer's. Now, scientists reveal, through experiments ...

Eye-Tracking Tech Helps Aged Care Assessment

Memory loss among older Australians is on the rise as the Baby Boomer generation enters retirement - but a new technique that investigates cognitive skills through eye-tracking technology may be used ...

Memory Loss Reversed or Abated in Those With Cognitive Decline

Researchers sought to determine whether a comprehensive and personalized program, designed to mitigate risk factors of Alzheimer's disease could improve cognitive and metabolic function in ...

Forty Percent of Dementia Cases Could Be Prevented or Delayed by Targeting 12 Risk Factors Throughout Life

Forty percent of dementia cases could be prevented or delayed by targeting 12 risk factors throughout life, experts ...

Alzheimer's Risk Factors May Be Measurable in Adolescents and Young Adults

Risk factors for Alzheimer's dementia may be apparent as early as our teens and ...

A new blood test demonstrated remarkable promise in discriminating between persons with and without Alzheimer's disease and in persons at known genetic risk may be able to detect the disease as ...

How Renegade Protein Interrupts Brain Cell Function in Alzheimer's Disease

Dozens of molecules may tangle up with rogue bundles of tau, a protein that normally gives nerve fibers structure, to cause brain cell damage that contributes to neurodegenerative diseases, a new ...

Further Evidence World Trade Center Responders Are at Risk for Dementia

New studies indicate that World Trade Center (WTC) first responders are at risk for developing ...

Flu, Pneumonia Vaccinations Tied to Lower Risk of Alzheimer's Dementia

Flu (influenza) and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease, according to new ...

What Happens Around an Alzheimer Plaque?

A research team used pioneering technologies to study in detail what happens in brain cells in the direct vicinity of plaques. Their findings show how different cell types in the brain work together ...

Brain Network Mechanism Causing Spatial Memory Impairment Revealed

Patients with Alzheimer's disease frequently suffer from spatial memory loss, such as no recognition of where they are, and forgetting where they put their belongings. They often show a ...

Genes and Cardiovascular Health Both Affect Dementia Risk

A new study finds that genes and cardiovascular health can both raise or lower risk of ...

'Love Hormone' Oxytocin Could Be Used to Treat Cognitive Disorders Like Alzheimer's

Alzheimer's disease progressively degrades a person's memory and cognitive abilities, often resulting in dementia. Amid efforts to find novel treatments for this disease, a recent ...

Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019