advertisement
Dementia News
December 3, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have found new forms of tau protein that become abnormal in the very early stages of Alzheimer's disease before ...

Forest Fires, Cars, Power Plants Join List of Risk Factors for Alzheimer's Disease

A new study has found that among older Americans with cognitive impairment, the greater the air pollution in their neighborhood, the higher the ...

New Method Shows Great Potential for the Treatment of Alzheimer's Disease

In Alzheimer's disease, a protein (peptide) forms clumps in the brain and causes sufferers to lose their memory. A research group has now described a new treatment method that increases the body's ...

Bacterial Metabolism of Dietary Soy May Lower Risk Factor for Dementia

A metabolite produced following consumption of dietary soy may decrease a key risk factor for dementia - with the help of the right bacteria, according to a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:00pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

New Connection Between Alzheimer's Dementia and Dlgap2

A research team has discovered that Dlgap2, a gene that helps facilitate communication between neurons in the nervous system, is associated with the degree of memory loss in mice and risk for ...

A Genetic Link to Molecular Events That Precede Symptoms in Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers find a key mutation causing abnormal transport of BACE1, the enzyme responsible for processing the Alzheimer's disease-linked amyloid protein. Identification of this mutation, which ...

Diabetes Increases Neuritic Damage Around Amyloid Plaques in Alzheimer's Disease

New research explores the role of diabetes in the cellular and molecular changes underlying Alzheimer's disease ...

Retinas: New Potential Clues in Diagnosing, Treating Alzheimer's

A study has identified certain regions in the retina - the lining found in the back of the eye - that are more affected by Alzheimer's disease than other areas. The findings may help physicians ...

Weekly Physical Activity May Help Prevent Mild Cognitive Impairment Conversion to Dementia

Exercising more than once per week is associated with a lower risk of developing Alzheimer's disease in patients with mild cognitive ...

Detecting Alzheimer's Disease Before Symptoms Arise

Both of Andrew Kiselica's grandfathers developed dementia when he was in graduate ...

Scientists Make Breakthrough Discovery of New Therapeutic Targets for Alzheimer's

A team has identified several new potential molecular targets in endothelial cells and microglia for AD drug ...

Gut Hormone Blocks Brain Cell Formation and Is Linked to Parkinson's Dementia

A gut hormone, ghrelin, is a key regulator of new nerve cells in the adult brain, a research team has discovered. It could help pave the way for new drugs to treat dementia in patients with ...

Community Noise May Affect Dementia Risk

Results from a new study support emerging evidence suggesting that noise may influence individuals' risk of developing dementia later in ...

Phase 3 Clinical Trial to Treat Mild Alzheimer's Disease Using Deep Brain Stimulation

Medical researchers are enrolling individuals in an international phase 3 clinical trial to examine the safety and effectiveness of deep brain stimulation to treat Alzheimer's. The study uses ...

New Anti-AB Vaccine Could Help Halt Alzheimer's Progression, Preclinical Study Finds

A preclinical study by neuroscientists indicates that an antigen-presenting dendritic vaccine with a specific antibody response to oligomeric A-beta may be safer and offer clinical benefit in ...

One-Two Punch of Symptoms That Exacerbate Alzheimer's

A new Alzheimer's study found that impaired blood flow in the brain is correlated with the buildup of tau tangles, a hallmark indicator of cognitive decline.The work suggests that treatments ...

Could Loss of Interest Be Sign of Dementia Risk?

Older adults with severe apathy, or lack of interest in usual activities, may have a greater chance of developing dementia than people with few symptoms of apathy, according to a new ...

Rare Genetic Form of Dementia Discovered

A new, rare genetic form of dementia has been discovered by researchers. This discovery also sheds light on a new pathway that leads to protein build up in the brain -- which causes this newly ...

Identical Signs of Brain Damage in Sleep Apnea and Alzheimer's

New research shows damage in the brain starts in the same place and spreads in the same way in sleep apnea, as in Alzheimer's disease. The study is the first to find Alzheimer's-like ...

A Genetic Variant That Protects Against Alzheimer's Disease Promotes Immune Cell Functions

A new study has found that the PLCG2-P522R genetic variant, which protects against Alzheimer's disease, enhances several key functions of immune cells. The results obtained in the study ...

Fructose Made in the Brain Could Be a Mechanism Driving Alzheimer's Disease, Researchers Propose

New research proposes that Alzheimer's disease may be driven by the overactivation of fructose made in the brain. The study outlined the hypothesis that Alzheimer's is a modern disease ...

Diabetes: Metformin Treatment Linked to Slowed Cognitive Decline

A six-year study of older Australians with type 2 diabetes has uncovered a link between metformin use, slower cognitive decline and lower dementia ...

Amyloid Deposits Not Associated With Depression in the Elderly

Researchers have suspected that amyloid beta deposits might also underlie the cognitive decline seen in older people with depression, however a new study has found that abnormal amyloid beta deposits ...

Biomarker Indicating Neurodegeneration Identified in the Eye

A new study indicates a well-known biomarker that serves as a marker for earlier diagnosis of neurodegenerative diseases is now detectable in the eye. Neurofilament light chain, a protein previously ...

Monday, November 23, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020