advertisement
Child Psychology News
August 10, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Genes Related to Down Syndrome Abnormalities May Protect Against Solid Tumors

Scientists have discovered that a set of genes with decreased expression in individuals with Down syndrome may lead to clinical abnormalities in this ...

Completing the Set: 'Coupon-Collection Behavior' Reduces Sex-Ratio Variation Among Families

A new analysis of sibling records from more than 300,000 individuals suggests that some parents continue to reproduce until they have children of ...

To Bond With Nature, Kids Need Solitary Activities Outdoors

A new study found solitary activities like fishing, hunting or exploring outside are key to building strong bonds between children and ...

Understanding Why Some Children Enjoy TV More Than Others

New research shows that children's own temperament could be driving the amount of TV they watch. The research shows how the brain responses of 10-month-old babies watching a clip from Disney's ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Study Finds ATV-Related Head and Neck Injuries Among Youth Continue to Remain High

A new study analyzed data regarding ATV-related head and neck injuries treated in U.S. emergency departments from 1990 through 2014 involving patients younger than 18 years of ...

Childhood Connection to Nature Has Many Benefits but Is Not Universally Positive, Finds Review

A literature review finds that children are happier and more likely to protect the natural world when they have a greater connection to it, but this connection is complex and can also generate ...

Consumers Don't Fully Trust Smart Home Technologies

Smart home technologies are marketed to enhance your home and make life easier. However, consumers are not convinced that they can trust the privacy and security of these technologies, a new study ...

Lockdown Study Reports Surge in Health Anxieties

Coronavirus and the imposition of lockdown this year 'significantly raised' mental health challenges, particularly so for the most vulnerable groups, including those shielding, according to ...

Eye-Tracking Tech Helps Aged Care Assessment

Memory loss among older Australians is on the rise as the Baby Boomer generation enters retirement - but a new technique that investigates cognitive skills through eye-tracking technology may be used ...

Language May Undermine Women in Science and Tech

Researchers examined gender stereotypes baked into 25 languages to explore why fewer women enter science, technology, engineering and mathematics ...

Study Highlights Mental Health Risks Facing Healthcare Workers During Pandemic

A new study finds healthcare workers in the United States are struggling with a suite of mental-health challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic. The study reports healthcare workers are at greater ...

Helicopter Parents Should Step Back and Watch, Study Recommends

Researchers conducted the world's first data-driven study of parenting classes based on the Respectful Approach intervention. The Respectful Approach, modeled on Resources for Infant Educators ...

What Jigsaw Puzzles Tell Us About Child Development

New research shows that children only learn to do jigsaw puzzles once they have reached a certain stage of development. Three-year-olds use trial and error, but four-year-olds are able to use ...

Increased Attention to Sad Faces Predicts Depression Risk in Teenagers

Teenagers who tend to pay more attention to sad faces are more likely to develop depression, but specifically within the context of stress, according to new research from Binghamton University, State ...

'SoundWear' a Heads-Up Sound Augmentation Gadget Helps Expand Children's Play Experience

Researchers designed a wearable bracelet using sound augmentation to leverage play benefits by employing digital technology. The research team also investigated how sound influences children's ...

Invisible Barriers Cut Down on Cheating

Both see-through and pretend partitions promoted honesty in taking tests, psychology experiments show, suggesting simple environmental cues can nudge children to do the right ...

Lithium in Drinking Water Linked With Lower Suicide Rates

Naturally occurring lithium in public drinking water may have an anti-suicidal effect, according to a new study. The study collated research from around the world and found that geographical areas ...

Big Brains and Dexterous Hands

Primates with large brains can master more complex hand movements than those with smaller brains. However, fine motor skills such as using tools can take time to learn, and humans take the longest of ...

Health, Well-Being and Food Security of Families Deteriorating Under COVID-19 Stress

The ongoing disruptive changes from efforts to reduce the spread of COVID-19 are having a substantial negative impact on the physical and mental well-being of parents and their children across the ...

Teen Museum Educators Increase Engagement, Learning, in Tween Visitors

A new study finds that youth docents have an overall positive effect on visitors' experiences, learning and information retention at informal learning sites -- like museums. The positive effects ...

Food Supplements May Improve Brain Health Among Young Children in Low Income Countries

Giving nutritional supplements to young children in low income countries for around 6 months could improve their brain (cognitive) health, finds a new ...

Health and Happiness Depend on Each Other

New research adds to the growing body of evidence that happiness not only feels good, it is good for your physical health, ...

Older Adults Coped With Pandemic Best, Study Reveals

Adults aged 60 and up have fared better emotionally compared to younger adults (18-39) and middle-aged adults (40-59) amid the COVID-19 pandemic, according to new ...

Common Characteristics of Rare Pediatric Brain Tumors

In a new study, researchers found that pediatric acoustic neuroma patients had similar symptoms to those of adult patients; however, tumor size was typically larger in the pediatric patients at the ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020