advertisement
Behavior News
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Nudges Fail More Often Than Is Reported

New research has shown that despite the widespread use of behavioral interventions across society, failed interventions are surprisingly ...

Study Helps Explain Why Motivation to Learn Declines With Age

Neuroscientists have identified a brain circuit critical for learning to make decisions that require evaluating the cost or reward of an action. They showed this circuit is negatively affected by ...
Humans are born with a part of the brain that is prewired to be receptive to seeing words and letters, setting the stage at birth for people to learn how to read, a new study ...

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Reduces Insomnia Symptoms Among Young Drinkers

More than half of young adults at risk for alcohol-related harm report symptoms of insomnia. Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is one of the first-line treatments for insomnia, but it's never been ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Judges' Decisions in Sport Focus More on Vigor Than Skill

Researchers analyzed almost 550 men's and women's mixed martial arts contests, using data collated for the Ultimate Fighting Championship, and found the rate at which competitors fight is ...

Single Brain Region Links Depression and Anxiety, Heart Disease, and Treatment Sensitivity

Over-activity in a single brain region called the subgenual anterior cingulate cortex (sgACC) underlies several key symptoms of mood and anxiety disorders, but an antidepressant only successfully ...

Multiple Sclerosis as the Flip Side of Immune Fitness

About half of the people with multiple sclerosis have the HLA-DR15 gene variant. A study has now shown how this genetic predisposition contributes to the development of the autoimmune disease ...

Could Excessive Sugar Intake Contribute to Aggressive Behaviors, ADHD, Bipolar Disorder?

New research suggests that conditions such as attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome (ADHD), bipolar disorder, and even aggressive behaviors may be linked with sugar intake, and that it may have an ...

Personality Traits Affect Shelter at Home Compliance

A worldwide survey conducted during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic found that people with certain common personality traits were less likely to shelter at home when government policies were ...

Effectiveness of Fitness-Boosting Strategies May Be Linked to Personality Traits

In a randomized clinical trial, the effectiveness of different strategies for boosting physical activity varied according to participants' demographic, psychological, and behavioral ...

Stay in Touch With Your Emotions to Reduce Pandemic-Induced Stress

The coronavirus has ushered in a lot of stress. Psychologists say people can reduce stress by identifying their emotions and taking mindful action to address them. The findings come from a national ...

Teen Brain Differences Linked to Increased Waist Circumference

Differences in the microstructure of the nucleus accumbens (NAcc), a region in the brain that plays an important role in processing food and other reward stimuli, predict increases in indicators of ...

Media Trust Correlated With COVID-19 Prevention Behaviors, Study Finds

A new study finds that whether someone takes proper precautions to fight COVID-19 may be linked to whether they trust right- or left-leaning media ...

Telehealth Trains Parents to Improve Behavior Skills of Children With Autism

Training parents of children with autism spectrum disorder virtually about early behavioral intervention is an accessible and effective approach during the coronavirus pandemic or in other instances ...

Hunger Encourages Risk-Taking

An insufficient food supply causes animals to engage in higher-risk behavior: the willingness to take risks rises by an average of 26 per cent in animals that have experienced hunger earlier in their ...

Survey Finds American Support for Human-Animal Chimera Research

In September 2015, the US National Institutes of Health placed a funding moratorium on research that involves introducing human pluripotent stem cells into animal embryos. To assess attitudes on ...

Why Writing by Hand Makes Kids Smarter

New brain research shows that writing by hand helps children learn more and remember better. At the same time, schools are going more and more digital, and a European survey shows that Norwegian ...

Social Media Use Linked With Depression, Secondary Trauma During COVID-19

Can't stop checking social media for the latest COVID-19 health information? You might want to take a break, according to researchers who discovered that excessive use of social media for ...

Pandemic Sets Off Future Wave of Worsening Mental Health Issues

Long after a COVID-19 vaccination is developed and years after the coronavirus death toll is tallied, the impact on mental health will linger, continuing to inflict damage if not addressed, according ...

Evolutionary and Heritable Axes Shape Our Brain

Every region has its place in the brain. However, it has been unclear why brain regions are located where they are. Now, scientists have defined two main axes along which brain regions are ...

Low Level Alcohol Use During Pregnancy Can Impact Child's Brain Development

A new study finds any alcohol use during pregnancy, even low levels, is associated with subtle, yet significant behavioural and psychological effects in children including anxiety, depression and ...

Primate Brain Size Does Not Predict Their Intelligence

A research team has systematically investigated the cognitive abilities of lemurs, which have relatively small brains compared to other primates. Conducting systematic tests with identical methods ...

Prenatal Cannabis Exposure Associated With Adverse Outcomes During Middle Childhood

Research shows prenatal cannabis exposure may impact child behavior later in ...

Meditation for Mind-Control

Scientists have discovered that mindful meditation can help subjects learn and improve the ability to mind-control brain computer interfaces ...

Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020