advertisement
Behavior News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Brain-NET, a Deep Learning Methodology, Accurately Predicts Surgeon Certification Scores Based on Neuroimaging Data

Researchers demonstrated how a deep learning framework they call 'Brain-NET' can accurately predict a person's level of expertise in terms of their ...

Autism: How a Gene Alteration Modifies Social Behavior

A team of researchers has discovered a new connection between a genetic alteration and social difficulties related to autism: A mutation in the neuroligin-3 gene reduces the effect of the hormone ...

Completing the Set: 'Coupon-Collection Behavior' Reduces Sex-Ratio Variation Among Families

A new analysis of sibling records from more than 300,000 individuals suggests that some parents continue to reproduce until they have children of ...

Non-Invasive Nerve Stimulation Boosts Learning of Foreign Language Sounds

New research by neuroscientists revealed that a simple, earbud-like device that imperceptibly stimulates the brain could significantly improve the wearer's ability to learn the sounds of a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Prenatal Depression Can Alter Child's Brain Connectivity, Affect Behavior

Altered brain connectivity may be one way prenatal depression influences child behavior, according to new ...

Novel Approach Reduces SCA1 Symptoms in Animal Model

Manipulating a novel mechanism that regulates ATXN1 levels reduced ATXN1 and improved some of the symptoms of neurodegenerative disease SCA1 in animal ...

Humans and Flies Employ Very Similar Mechanisms for Brain Development and Function

A new study has shown that humans, mice and flies share the same fundamental genetic mechanisms that regulate the formation and function of brain areas involved in attention and movement ...

Invisible Barriers Cut Down on Cheating

Both see-through and pretend partitions promoted honesty in taking tests, psychology experiments show, suggesting simple environmental cues can nudge children to do the right ...

Brain Cell Types Identified That May Push Males to Fight and Have Sex

Two groups of nerve cells may serve as ''on-off switches'' for male mating and aggression, suggests a new study in rodents. These neurons appear to send signals between two parts ...

Concussions Associated With Cognitive, Behavioral, and Emotional Consequences for Students

Concussions can have a compounding effect on children, leading to long-term cognitive, behavioral, and emotional health consequences, according to ...

The Most Important Task for a PTSD Service Dog for Veterans Is Disrupting Anxiety

Science has shown that service dogs can benefit some veterans with PTSD. But the exact role service dogs play in the day-to-day lives of veterans is less known. A recent study shows what trained ...

Antibiotics Disrupt Development of the 'Social Brain' in Mice

Antibiotic treatment in early life impedes brain signalling pathways that function in social behavior and pain regulation in mice, a new study has ...

Brain Network Mechanism Causing Spatial Memory Impairment Revealed

Patients with Alzheimer's disease frequently suffer from spatial memory loss, such as no recognition of where they are, and forgetting where they put their belongings. They often show a ...

Insight Into Toddlers' Awareness of Their Own Uncertainty

Toddlers may not be able to describe their feelings of uncertainty, but a new study provides evidence that toddlers may experience and deal with uncertainty in decision making in the same way as ...

'Love Hormone' Oxytocin Could Be Used to Treat Cognitive Disorders Like Alzheimer's

Alzheimer's disease progressively degrades a person's memory and cognitive abilities, often resulting in dementia. Amid efforts to find novel treatments for this disease, a recent ...

Music on the Brain

A new study looks at differences between the brains of Japanese classical musicians, Western classical musicians and nonmusicians. Researchers investigated specific kinds of neural behavior in ...

Predicting Your Personality from Your Smartphone Data

Everyone who uses a smartphone unavoidably generates masses of digital data that are accessible to others, and these data provide clues to the user's personality. Psychologists are now studying ...

Mundane Behavioral Decisions, Actions Can Be 'Misremembered' as Done

Mundane behaviors such as taking a daily medication can eventually create false memories of completing the ...

When Power Is Toxic: Dominance Reduces Influence in Groups

A new study finds that groups led by subordinate males outperform those led by dominant and aggressive ...

Neuronal Circuits in the Brain 'Sense' Our Inner State

How decisions are made and how behavior is controlled is one of the most important questions in neuroscience. The neurotransmitter dopamine plays a central role in all of this. Scientists looked into ...

Learning the Wiring Diagram for Autism Spectrum Disorders

Researchers have identified brain circuitry that plays a key role in the dysfunctional social, repetitive, and inflexible behavioral differences that characterize autism spectrum disorders (ASD). The ...

Researcher Develops Method for Mapping Brain Cell Change, Development in Mice

Researchers have developed a new method for studying key moments in brain development. Researchers are studying how oxytocin receptor expression changes in normally developing mice and mouse models ...

A Complex Gene Program Initiates Brain Changes in Response to Cocaine

Researchers used single-nucleus RNA sequencing to compare transcriptional responses to acute cocaine in 16 unique cell populations from the brain nucleus accumbens. The atlas is part of a major study ...

Kindness Researcher Challenges the Notion of Mean Teens

A researcher is hoping to flip the switch on the preconceived notion that teens are mean. He says teenagers often receive a negative reputation, sometimes showcased in mainstream media reports of ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020