advertisement
Autism News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Biological Roots for Teen Risk-Taking: Uneven Brain Growth

Why do some adolescents take more risks than others? Research suggests that two centers in the brain, one which makes adolescents want to take risks and the other which prevents them from acting on ...
Researchers have identified specific sub-populations of brain cells in the prefrontal cortex, a key part of the brain that ...

Autistic People's Nerve Cells Differ Before Birth

A new study now shows in human brain cells that autism, a neurodevelopmental condition, can now be traced back to prenatal development, even though the disorder is not diagnosed until at least 18 ...

AI-Enhanced Precision Medicine Identifies Novel Autism Subtype

A novel precision medicine approach enhanced by artificial intelligence has laid the groundwork for what could be the first biomedical screening and intervention tool for a subtype of autism, reports ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Misfiring Brain Cells May Cause Swallowing Woes in Children With Developmental Disorders

Misfiring brain cells that control key parts of the mouth and tongue may be creating swallowing difficulties in children with neurodevelopmental disorders, according to neuroscientists. Problems ...

Shedding Light on Split-Second Decision Making

A little understood region of the cerebellum plays a critical role in making split-second 'go -- no go' decisions, according to a new ...

Measuring Social Networks of Young Adults With Autism

While social isolation is a core challenge associated with autism, researchers have laid the groundwork to show how interpersonal relationships, and the resources they provide, could impact autistic ...

Autism-Cholesterol Link

A new study identifies a subtype of autism arising from a cluster of genes that regulate cholesterol metabolism and brain ...

Future Mental Health Care May Include Diagnosis Via Brain Scan and Computer Algorithm

Most of modern medicine has physical tests or objective techniques to define much of what ails us. Yet, there is currently no blood or genetic test, or impartial procedure that can definitively ...

Pregnant Mother's Immunity Tied to Behavioral, Emotional Challenges for Kids With Autism

Children with autism born to mothers who had immune conditions during their pregnancy are more likely to have behavioral and emotional problems, a new study has found. Offspring sex may also interact ...

Early Neural Activity Associated With Autism

Researchers have found evidence of signature brain activity in infants that predicted ASD symptoms later at 18 months ...

GI Symptoms Linked to Behavioral Problems in Children, Especially Those With Autism

A new study found that common gastrointestinal (GI) symptoms such as diarrhea, constipation and bloating are linked to troubling sleep problems, self-harm and physical complaints in preschool ...

Autism: How a Gene Alteration Modifies Social Behavior

A team of researchers has discovered a new connection between a genetic alteration and social difficulties related to autism: A mutation in the neuroligin-3 gene reduces the effect of the hormone ...

Study Reveals Greater Excitability in Social Brain Regions of Autistic Men Compared to Women

New findings suggest that autistic men, but not women, have enhanced neural excitability in their social brain regions, and this may impact their ability to navigate social ...

Humans and Flies Employ Very Similar Mechanisms for Brain Development and Function

A new study has shown that humans, mice and flies share the same fundamental genetic mechanisms that regulate the formation and function of brain areas involved in attention and movement ...

Cell Primary Cilia Lacking in Fragile X Syndrome

Researchers found fewer structures called primary cilia in the brains of mice born with Fragile X syndrome. This provides a clue into possibly treating neurodevelopmental ...

Calcium Channel Subunits Play a Major Role in Autism Spectrum Disorders

Neurobiologists have found new evidence that specific calcium channel subunits play a crucial role in the development of excitatory and inhibitory ...

Mapping the Brain's Sensory Gatekeeper

Researchers have mapped the thalamic reticular nucleus in unprecedented detail, revealing that the region contains two distinct subnetworks of neurons with different functions. The findings could ...

Learning the Wiring Diagram for Autism Spectrum Disorders

Researchers have identified brain circuitry that plays a key role in the dysfunctional social, repetitive, and inflexible behavioral differences that characterize autism spectrum disorders (ASD). The ...

Autism Researchers Map Brain Circuitry of Social Preference

A new study reveals how two key neural circuits dictate the choice between social approach and avoidance. The findings will enable researchers to evaluate social interventions in ...

Researcher Develops Method for Mapping Brain Cell Change, Development in Mice

Researchers have developed a new method for studying key moments in brain development. Researchers are studying how oxytocin receptor expression changes in normally developing mice and mouse models ...

Brain Structural Elements in Psychiatric Disorders

While researchers have previously identified brain structural signatures associated with individual neurological diseases using techniques such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), a team of ...

Science of Sound: Artificial Tones in Perception Experiments Could Be Missing the Mark, Research Finds

Researchers who study how the brain processes sound have discovered the common practice of using artificial tones in perception experiments could mean scientists are overlooking important and ...

Sensory Neurons Outside the Brain Drive Autistic Social Behaviors, Study Suggests

A new study lends further evidence that the social behaviors tied to autism spectrum disorders (ASD) emerge from abnormal function of sensory neurons outside the ...

Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019