advertisement
Addiction News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Marijuana Use While Pregnant Boosts Risk of Children's Sleep Problems

As many as 7% of moms-to-be use marijuana while pregnant, and that number is rising fast as more use it to quell morning sickness. But new research suggests such use could have a lasting impact on ...

Light Drinking May Protect Brain Function

Light to moderate drinking may preserve brain function in older age, according to a new ...

Simulated Sea Slug Gets Addicted to Drug

Scientists built a computer model of a simple brain network based on that of a sea slug, taught it how to get food, gave it an appetite and the ability to experience reward, added a dash of something ...

Even 'Low-Risk' Drinking Can Be Harmful

It's not just heavy drinking that's a problem -- even consuming alcohol within weekly low-risk drinking guidelines can result in hospitalization and death, according to a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:49pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A Complex Gene Program Initiates Brain Changes in Response to Cocaine

Researchers used single-nucleus RNA sequencing to compare transcriptional responses to acute cocaine in 16 unique cell populations from the brain nucleus accumbens. The atlas is part of a major study ...

Motherhood Overrides the Brain's Decision-Making

Motherhood takes over the brain's decision-making regions to prioritize caring for offspring, according to new ...

Early Marriage May Lead to Unsafe Drinking Behavior by Those With Higher Genetic Risk

Getting married early in life may increase the risk of problematic drinking behavior among people who are genetically predisposed to drink ...

Barriers to Addiction Care Fell Because of COVID-19; Now the Challenge Is Keeping Them Down

Telehealth interactions with substance use disorder specialists and support groups could open treatment and recovery to many, but key changes will be needed, experts ...

Some People Are Easily Addicted to Drugs, but Others Are Not

Researchers have discovered that dopamine D2 receptors (DRD2s) in cholinergic interneurons (ChINs) play a crucial role in cocaine ...

Adolescent Exposure to Anesthetics May Cause Alcohol Use Disorder, New Research Shows

Early exposure to anesthetics may make adolescents more susceptible to developing alcohol use disorder (AUD), according to new ...

Problems With Alcohol? 29 Gene Variants May Explain Why

A genome-wide analysis of more than 435,000 people has identified 29 genetic variants linked to problematic drinking, researchers ...

Heating Poppy Seeds, but Not Baking Them in Muffins, Reduces Opiate Levels

You might have heard the advice to avoid eating a poppy seed bagel or muffin before a drug screen, lest you test positive for opiates. This urban legend is rooted in truth because the tiny black ...

Personal Accounts of Childhood Maltreatment Matter More for Mental Health Than Records

Personal accounts of childhood maltreatment show a stronger association with psychiatric problems compared to legal proof that maltreatment occurred, according to a new ...

Regularly Attending Religious Services Associated With Lower Risk of Deaths of Despair, Study Finds

People who attended religious services at least once a week were significantly less likely to die from 'deaths of despair,' including deaths related to suicide, drug overdose, and alcohol ...

Researchers Develop Chemistry Needed to Create Marijuana Breathalyzer

Chemists report the key chemical discovery necessary for the creation of a small, electronic marijuana ...

Genetic Study Ties Higher Alcohol Consumption to Increased Stroke and PAD Risk

Using genetic analysis, researchers found higher alcohol consumption increased risks for stroke and peripheral artery disease (PAD). Studies using genetic analysis don't rely on observational ...

Plant Extract Combo May Relieve Hangover Symptoms

A plant extract combination of fruits, leaves, and roots may help to relieve hangover symptoms, reveals new ...

Potential Treatment for Chronic Pain

Researchers have developed a new way to treat chronic pain which has been tested in mice. With a compound designed and developed by the researchers themselves, they can achieve complete pain ...

Gut Microbes Influence How Rat Brains React to Opioids

Antibiotic treatment -- which depletes gut microbes -- drastically changes the parts of a rat's brain that are activated during opioid addiction and ...

Holistic Approach Best for Tackling Nonmedical Drug Use, Study Finds

Health practitioners are constantly developing new ways to help those with drug and alcohol addictions wean themselves from their substance of choice. Most such programs have limited success, ...

New Study Could Lead to Therapeutic Interventions to Treat Cocaine Addiction

A new study explains how cocaine modifies functions in the brain revealing a potential target for therapies aimed at treating cocaine ...

Heavy Cost of Excessive Drinking on People's Decision Making

A new study highlights how hangover inhibits individuals' 'core executive functions' with knock-on impacts for those currently working from ...

Early Exposure to Cannabis Boosts Young Brains' Sensitivity to Cocaine, Rodent Study Finds

Cannabis use makes young brains more sensitive to the first exposure to cocaine, according to a new study on rodents. By monitoring the brains of both adolescent and adult rats after giving them ...

A Key Brain Region for Controlling Binge Drinking Has Been Found

A team of researchers has found that turning off a stress signaling system in a single specific brain area can reduce harmful binge drinking. This finding brings researchers one step closer to ...

Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Sunday, December 8, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019