advertisement
Spintronics News
August 13, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

World's Widest Graphene Nanoribbon Promises the Next Generation of Miniaturized Electronics

Standard semiconductor technology is reaching its limit in miniaturization, but the demand for smaller electrical devices with higher performance ...
Researchers are exploring new ways of creating quantum-mechanical interactions between distant electrons. The research marks an important advance in ...

Cascade Sets the Stage for Superconductivity in Magic-Angle Twisted Bilayer Graphene

The researchers used scanning tunneling microscopy to observe what happens when they add additional electrons to magic-angle twisted bilayer ...

Graphene and 2D Materials Could Move Electronics Beyond 'Moore's Law'

New developments in spintronics could lead to graphene being used as a building block for next-generation ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Magnetic Memory States Go Exponential

Researchers showed that relatively simple structures can support exponential number of magnetic states -- much greater than previously thought -- and demonstrated switching between the states by ...

The Spin State Story: Observation of the Quantum Spin Liquid State in Novel Material

The quantum spin liquid (QSL) state is an exotic state of matter where the spin of electrons, which generally exhibits order at low temperatures, remains disordered. Now, scientists have developed a ...

New Breakthrough in 'Spintronics' Could Boost High Speed Data Technology

Scientists have made a pivotal breakthrough in the important, emerging field of spintronics -- which could lead to a new high speed energy efficient data ...

Researchers Control Elusive Spin Fluctuations in 2D Magnets

A team developed a new imaging technique that is fast and sensitive enough to observe elusive critical fluctuations in two-dimensional magnets. This real-time imaging allows researchers to control ...

Extensive Review of Spin-Gapless Semiconductors: Next-Generation Spintronics Candidates

Scientists have published an extensive review of spin-gapless semiconductors (SGSs), a new class of 'zero bandgap' materials which have fully spin polarised electrons and holes, and first ...

New Insights Into the Energy Levels in Quantum Dots

Researchers have gained new insights into the energy states of quantum dots. They are semiconductor nanostructures and promising building blocks for quantum communication. With their experiments, the ...

A Fresh Twist in Chiral Topology

Electrons in ''chiral crystals'', solid-state materials with definite ''handedness'', can behave in unexpected ways. An interdisciplinary team has realized now ...

Quantum Diamond Sensing

Researchers report a new quantum sensing technique that allows high-resolution nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy on small molecules in dilute solution in a 10 picoliter sample volume -- roughly ...

Manipulating Tiny Skyrmions With Small Electric Currents

A research group has managed to manipulate and track the movement of individual magnetic vortices called skyrmions, which have been touted as strong candidates to act as information carriers in ...

Acoustics Put a Fresh Spin on Electron Transitions

Electrons are very much at the mercy of magnetic fields, which scientists can manipulate to control the electrons and their angular momentum -- i.e. their ...

Ultra-Sensitive Device for Detecting Magnetic Fields

The new magnetic sensor is inexpensive to make, works on minimal power and is 20 times more sensitive than many traditional ...

New 'Whirling' State of Matter Discovered in an Element of the Periodic Table

The strongest permanent magnets today contain a mix of the elements neodymium and iron. However, neodymium on its own does not behave like any known magnet, confounding researchers for more than half ...

Scientists Use Pressure to Make Liquid Magnetism Breakthrough

Scientists have forced a solid magnetic metal into a spin liquid state, which may lead to insights into superconductivity and quantum ...

Highly Efficient Charge-to-Spin Interconversion in Graphene Heterostructures

Physicists described a route to design the energy-efficient generation, manipulation and detection of spin currents using nonmagnetic two-dimensional materials. The research team observed highly ...

Research Takes Electrons for a Spin in Moving Toward More Efficient, Higher Density Data Storage

Researchers have demonstrated a new mechanism involving electron motion in magnetic materials that points to new ways to potentially enhance data ...

Scientists Break the Link Between a Quantum Material's Spin and Orbital States

Until now, electron spins and orbitals were thought to go hand in hand in a class of materials that's the cornerstone of modern information technology; you couldn't quickly change one ...

Atomically Thin Magnets for Next Generation Spin and Quantum Electronics

In 2005, Science asked if it was possible to develop a magnetic semiconductor that could work at room temperature. Now, just fifteen years later, researchers have developed those materials in ...

Future Information Technologies: 3D Quantum Spin Liquid Revealed

Quantum spin liquids are candidates for potential use in future information technologies. So far, quantum spin liquids have usually only been found in one or two dimensional magnetic systems only. ...

Stresses and Flows in Ultra-Cold Superfluids

Scientists have developed a mathematical model of the flow of ultra-cold superfluids, showing how they deform when they encounter ...

Scientists Create New Recipe for Single-Atom Transistors

Researchers have developed a step-by-step recipe to produce single-atom ...

Sunday, July 12, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019